The Ward

 
0.0
 
2.8 (2)
1475 1
The Ward
Age Range
13+
Release Date
April 30, 2013
ISBN
006209534X
Buy This Book
      
Sixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.

However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.

Jordana Frankel’s ambitious debut novel and the first in a two-book series, The Ward is arresting, cinematic, and thrilling—perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld or Ann Aguirre.

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.8
Plot 
 
2.0  (2)
Characters 
 
3.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Interesting plot, need more answers
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
The Ward was one that I was very excited for this year, I mean New York City all under water, and a disease that is wiping people out, sounds good to me.

The main character Ren is an interesting protagonist. There is a lot to her, for one she is the only girl racer, which isn’t easy and she deals with a lot of crap for it. But Ren seems to have some pretty tough skin. Sometimes I found myself wanting to shake her for being selfish and such a dare devil, but as the story progressed I began to understand why and she did grow on me. I guess in a world where most people are only out for themselves, you tend to be this way. One thing that stood out the most for me with Ren is her loyalty to Aven. It was quite commendable and Ren does turn out to be a pretty good heroine. Aven is Ren’s sister, was a sweetheart all the way around, but she is sick with Blight, and might not have long to live. Her personality was wonderful, so full of heart and love for Ren.

There are a few secondary characters that were a large part of the story. Callum and Derek. Derek is Ren’s long time crush. At first I wasn’t real sure what to make of him, he is a little older than Ren but he does seem to care for her. There turned out to be more to him than I expected, but he is a pretty good guy. Callum on the other hand, was one mystery that I would love to unravel. What was his real motive with Ren and Aven? Was he really our to help her? He was intellingent and trying so hard to work toward a cure, so I found him to be intriguing and I hope that we get to learn more about him. Now on to the romance, Ren and Derek seemed to have some chemistry, but was a little on the lacking side, but that’s not to say that what we go get to see wasn’t sweet.

This world is one that I wished would have been explained more about, why the flood happened in the first place, and why if there is all this water everywhere, why is their water supply so low? I’m sure a lot of those questions will be answered in due time. The concept was great, with the mobile racing, they mystery of the water and Ren’s determination to save Aven, all made for a fun and exciting read. There was plenty of action once the story got going, maybe not the edge of your seat kinda action, but action that keeps you wanting to know more. Of course there villains, people who were trusted to good, don’t always turn out to be that. Personal agenda’s seem get in the way.

Overall, The Ward was enjoyable, I am curious to see what happens with Ren and Aven and how all of this ends for them. Will they find a cure, will they save her? I think this is a great book, with a fantastic plot and the sequel will be one that I will certainly be picking up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Good premise but didn't blow me away.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
What I liked:
Ren's strength: She knew how to work hard, she made courageous moves.
Her loyalty to her "sister" Aven. Ren met her when they were in the orphanage, she was Ren's first friend, and Ren worked so hard to find her after they were seperated. Aven is sick and Ren does the races, and she is a mole because she works for medicine.
The spark between Ren and Derek. It was very subtle and it didn't overpower the story at all. It was an almost there thing.

What I didn't like:
The lack of world building. For me, I just didn't understand this washed out world. What caused it, how it is different, and more about the disease. We find out a little more as the story goes on, but I was very confused a lot in the beginning.
The language wasn't well defined and I didn't know where the words were coming from. Seemed out of context.
The amount of technical description, especially of the mobile racers. It completely was over my head.
The descriptions of the action didn't sit right with me. I didn't know what was going on.

Bottom Line: Good premise but didn't blow me away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling author...
Music for Tigers
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shipped halfway around the world to spend the summer...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. ...
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lira and Reyker have lost everything. Including each other....
Sword of the Seven Sins
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eva Marteinn never wanted to be a killer. Raised...
Things That Should Stay Buried
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Some destinies are written in the stars. Others must...
How It All Blew Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda goes to Italy...
Horrid
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of You Must Not Miss comes...
Tsalix Silverthorn and the Scepter of Destiny
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The latest phenomenal work from New York Times Bestselling author...
The Adventures of Bubba Jones (#4): Time Traveling Through Grand Canyon National Park
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth book of this award-winning national park series,...
The Companion
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The other orphans say Margot is lucky. Lucky to...
Sanctuary
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's 2032, and in this near-future America, all citizens...
Teen Titans: Beast Boy
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Author Kami Garcia (Beautiful Creatures) and artist Gabriel Picolo,...
The Magic Misfits: The Fourth Suit (The Magic Misfits, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Misfits must work together to fend off mysterious attacks...
Duck and Penguin Do Not Like Sleepovers
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious bedtime romp tackles the thrills and anxieties of...
Furia
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The...

Latest Member Reviews

Breathless
 
4.0
"BREATHLESS is a book about change, secrets, and the aftermath. Claudine (Claude) is about to graduate high school, and she..."
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
"SKYHUNTER is an enthralling and lush YA fantasy. Lu really paints the story with her words, and this new novel..."
The Library of Lost Things
 
5.0
"I wasn't sure what to expect with The Library of Lost Things, but I know I didn't anticipate a book..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra, a teenager from the 2160s, is put into cryogenic stasis fulling expecting to wake up on another planet one..."
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
"KINGDOM OF ICE AND BONE picks up where the first book left off. Lira and Reyker are separated and each..."
How It All Blew Up
 
5.0
"HOW IT ALL BLEW UP is an absolutely riveting coming-out story. Amir Azadi is an Iranian American who has always..."
Music for Tigers
 
3.7
"A vividly descriptive Middle-Grade work with an ecological focus--enriched by elements of music, friendship, and atypical neurology. When her..."
The Shadow Mission (The Athena Protocol, #2)
 
4.3
"THE SHADOW MISSION is an even better sequel to THE ATHENA PROTOCOL with lots of action and spy-related danger. In..."
Horrid
 
4.3
"HORRID is an intensely creepy story that follows Jane and her mother, Ruth. Jane's father has just died and after..."
Color Outside the Lines
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: The stories vary in genre, time period, and the makeup of the couples, but many of them..."
I'll Be the One (I'll Be the One #1)
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Haneul "Skye" Shin is talented, fat, and contrary to the max. Her mom tells Skye she..."
Legendborn (Legendborn, #1)
 
5.0
"LEGENDBORN is absolutely thrilling YA fantasy that captivated me from the start. Bree gained early entrance into UNC-Chapel Hill and..."