A Trick of the Light

Featured
 
3.0
 
4.7 (2)
2190 3
A Trick of the Light
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 18, 2013
ISBN
006213308X
Buy This Book
      
Mike Welles had everything under control. He was a good student, an outfielder on the baseball team, a good son, a loyal friend. But that was before. Now things are rough at home, and they’re getting confusing at school. He’s losing his sense of direction, and he feels like a mess.

Then there’s a voice in his head. A friend, trying to help him regain control. More than that: The voice can guide him to be better and stronger than he was before, to rid his life of everything holding him back. To figure out who he is again. If only Mike will listen.

Writing with devastating power and precision, acclaimed author Lois Metzger gives us the story of one young man’s battle with his own shadows—a spare, stark, and vital tale of the way in which the things we build to protect ourselves can threaten to destroy us.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Powerful Contemporary Told in A Unique Voice
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
A Trick of the Light by Lois Metzger is a powerful read that sheds light on an important issue - girls aren't the only one to suffer from eating disorders. A Trick of the Light follows Mike's struggle with an eating disorder.

Told in a powerful voice, A Trick of the Light is narrated by anorexia itself - it was a very different and intriguing to read. A Trick of the Light is a rapid read, with a writing style that keeps you turning the pages at a lightning fast speed.

The characters were very well rounded - Amber and Mike were such complex characters. They have an atypical start to their friendship and bond over their mutual weightloss and anorexia.

I loved that Lois Metzger chose to tell this story - I think it is such a crucial topic - so often boys are overlooked when it comes to issues such as these. A Trick of the Light is raw and real - it is a book teens in particular will connect with.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Great
(Updated: November 19, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Great to find YA with a boy protagonist. Writing from Mike's two internal points of view was very interesting. I loved how the anorexic Mike battled to take control of Mike's soul. Mike's constant denial of his problem and the relentless provocation of anorexic Mike was thrilling. And Mike's reliance on Amber really worked well. A unique and powerful plot which tells the story of an illness that's not often associated with teenage boys.

Mark Lichtenfeld---Author of LINE CHANGE.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Wonderful and Insightful Read
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
A trick of the Light is the narrative-style story of Mike Welles's unspoken pain and struggle to have a "strong body, strong mind, strong enough to master the chaos." Mike has been on control of everything until things at home start changing. He starts hanging out with Amber, who he shares a common friend Anna (commonly known/short for anorexia). Anna will speak to him on his mind to get some control of his life by changing his eating habits. Later on, by going to the hospital he will learn to finally shut that voice.
This books with an interesting and creepy narrator bring hope to people struggling with a eating disorder. It's wonderfully and beautifully written. The characters are all important to help Mike bring light to his life. The story is told in a whisper kind of way that makes it more heart-wrenching. Mike's story as a anorexic bring a lot of insight of what it's happening with eating disorder in males, which are happening more commonly now. I absolutely love this books, yeah it's a very deep and intense subject, but it leaves you with hope. A fantastic and unique read. A trick of the Light touched and entered my heart and will not let me go. A book that everyone must read. 5 starts
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...

Latest Member Reviews

Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."