A Trick of the Light

Featured
 
3.0
 
4.7 (2)
2263 3
A Trick of the Light
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 18, 2013
ISBN
006213308X
Buy This Book
      
Mike Welles had everything under control. He was a good student, an outfielder on the baseball team, a good son, a loyal friend. But that was before. Now things are rough at home, and they’re getting confusing at school. He’s losing his sense of direction, and he feels like a mess.

Then there’s a voice in his head. A friend, trying to help him regain control. More than that: The voice can guide him to be better and stronger than he was before, to rid his life of everything holding him back. To figure out who he is again. If only Mike will listen.

Writing with devastating power and precision, acclaimed author Lois Metzger gives us the story of one young man’s battle with his own shadows—a spare, stark, and vital tale of the way in which the things we build to protect ourselves can threaten to destroy us.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Powerful Contemporary Told in A Unique Voice
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
A Trick of the Light by Lois Metzger is a powerful read that sheds light on an important issue - girls aren't the only one to suffer from eating disorders. A Trick of the Light follows Mike's struggle with an eating disorder.

Told in a powerful voice, A Trick of the Light is narrated by anorexia itself - it was a very different and intriguing to read. A Trick of the Light is a rapid read, with a writing style that keeps you turning the pages at a lightning fast speed.

The characters were very well rounded - Amber and Mike were such complex characters. They have an atypical start to their friendship and bond over their mutual weightloss and anorexia.

I loved that Lois Metzger chose to tell this story - I think it is such a crucial topic - so often boys are overlooked when it comes to issues such as these. A Trick of the Light is raw and real - it is a book teens in particular will connect with.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Great
(Updated: November 19, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Great to find YA with a boy protagonist. Writing from Mike's two internal points of view was very interesting. I loved how the anorexic Mike battled to take control of Mike's soul. Mike's constant denial of his problem and the relentless provocation of anorexic Mike was thrilling. And Mike's reliance on Amber really worked well. A unique and powerful plot which tells the story of an illness that's not often associated with teenage boys.

Mark Lichtenfeld---Author of LINE CHANGE.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Wonderful and Insightful Read
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
A trick of the Light is the narrative-style story of Mike Welles's unspoken pain and struggle to have a "strong body, strong mind, strong enough to master the chaos." Mike has been on control of everything until things at home start changing. He starts hanging out with Amber, who he shares a common friend Anna (commonly known/short for anorexia). Anna will speak to him on his mind to get some control of his life by changing his eating habits. Later on, by going to the hospital he will learn to finally shut that voice.
This books with an interesting and creepy narrator bring hope to people struggling with a eating disorder. It's wonderfully and beautifully written. The characters are all important to help Mike bring light to his life. The story is told in a whisper kind of way that makes it more heart-wrenching. Mike's story as a anorexic bring a lot of insight of what it's happening with eating disorder in males, which are happening more commonly now. I absolutely love this books, yeah it's a very deep and intense subject, but it leaves you with hope. A fantastic and unique read. A trick of the Light touched and entered my heart and will not let me go. A book that everyone must read. 5 starts
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...

Latest Member Reviews

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."