Winter White (Belles #2)

Featured
 
0.0
 
4.3 (3)
2481 0
Winter White (Belles #2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
October 09, 2012
ISBN
0316091162
Buy This Book
      
Isabelle Scott and Mirabelle Monroe are still reeling from the revelation that they share more than just the roof over their heads. The media has pounced on their story and the girls are caught up in a flurry of talk-show appearances and newspaper interviews. They've put on a happy public face, but someone is leaking their true feelings to the press, and while it seems like the world is watching their every move, at least they have each other.

But with cotillion season right around the corner, Izzie and Mira have barely had time to process their newfound sisterhood. Mira has dreamed of making her debut in a gorgeous white gown forever-now, if only she could find an escort. Izzie, meanwhile, is still struggling to find her place in Emerald Cove and it's seeming ever more impossible with EC mean-girls, young and old, doing their best to keep her down. As cotillion preparations heat up, though, there are dance steps to learn, manners to perfect... and secret initiations to complete? As if sophomore year wasn't hard enough!

It's time for the gowns to go on and the gloves to come off.

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (3)
Characters 
 
4.3  (3)
Writing Style 
 
4.7  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Wow!
(Updated: August 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
After learning that she and Mirabelle are a lot closer that cousins, Isabelle Scott has to face that "uncle" Bill is so not her uncle anymore. With Cotillion around the corner, there are initiations that mirror your common sorority, along with dinners and banquets and lessons that makes Izzie feel like an outsider more than ever. Izzie and Mira bond over this experience, and begin to act like true sisters that are extremely mad at their father. Savannah Ingram is as mean as ever, although there is a surprise twist that had me wondering.... And I also think that Savannah is on the cover as well, although I thought the model could make a pretty good Izzie. Mira and Izzie are also having boy problems... Izzie with Brayden and Mira with Kellen. Izzie needs Brayden to start to stand up for her around his mother, and to face the fact that she won't wait around for ever while he is at dinners with the Ingram family and being Savannah's dance partner at practices for cotillion and maybe date for cotillion. Mirabelle just needs Kellen to notice her as girlfriend material and to ask her to cotillion, even though he said it is not his style. Amidst all this drama and deceit, Izzie and Mira's election is looking grim... It seems as someone seems to know things that no one else could possibly know... Like Mira's painting about her family, and Izzie and Mira's joking that they wished they were adopted, and circulation that Izzie is not really senator Monroe's daughter... Also, grams seems to call Izzie as someone called Zoe... The cliff hanger at the end explains who she is and had me buying the next book, the grass is always greener at 2 am!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
One of best sequels I have read all year!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The secrets are out... or are they???

Who would have thought that Izzie and Mira would finally have something in common - and not only with what has been revealed, but also sharing the same feelings towards the same person. The media is all over it, but the girls know how to handle themselves in front of the cameras. Or at least, they thought they did.

In Winter White, Izzie and Mira are trying to get along. They are trying to lead as normal a life that they can in Emerald Cover and get ready for their cotillion. Mira has dreamed of cotillion since as long as she can remember. And is so excited to be able to share everything, even the initiations, alongside Izzie. Izzie has no intentions in doing cotillion, but seeing how much this means to Mira and her aunt, she decides to go along with it. And soon discovers that their is more to cotillion than just a pretty white dress.

In between the drama, twists and turns, Izzie and Mira are learning from one another, becoming friends and also discovering themselves. And there is never a dull moment in Emerald Cover - new characters to add some extra spice to the story-line, I could not put this book down.
Jen Calonita's writing is so spot on and captivating. Everyone is so relatable and enticing - I cannot wait to see what they'll be doing next.
AND, Winter White has one of the best cliff-hangers I have read in a long time! Seriously! I don't like being left like this, but it was one that was totally unexpected and exciting - it is going to be another wonderful installment to this series! I cannot wait to read THE GRASS IS ALWAYS GREENER!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Hobbitsies Reviews: Entertaining and engaging series
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I loved Winter White by Jen Calonita! There’s something about this series that is so addicting and engaging and even though it seems like it might be shallow, there’s a lot of issues that are really relatable to teenagers today, except they’re presented in a fun and entertaining way.

There are lot of deep family issues in Winter White. No one is happy and there’s a lot of tension and depression on all parts of the family and it was interesting to see that dynamic explored. I think a lot of teens sometimes feel like they don’t belong in their family, so even though maybe not all of their dad’s are running for office, but it was still relatable in the over all theme.

The storyline in Winter White was just as engaging as the storyline in Belles. I loved the debutante storyline and I had a lot of fun reading about the tasks that were assigned to the debutantes. I was just completely sucked in from the beginning.

I think sometimes longer contemporaries can drag a little, but the pages of Winter White just flew right by me.

There’s a lot of relationship drama in Winter White. Some of it really made me want to shake the book in frustration, haha! But, you know, it happens and I was pleased with the ending of Winter White.

If you read Belles and enjoyed it, definitely pick up Winter White by Jen Calonita. And if you haven’t read the series, I seriously recommend picking up Belles! This is such a fun and engaging series and I can’t wait to read more!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
"What worked: I loved this engaging, heart-felt story with one strong Chicanx protagonist. Think I'M NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.3
"ALL OUR HIDDEN GIFTS was a riveting and darkly captivating YA fantasy/thriller/horror read. Maeve is a teen girl and not..."
The Lost Girls
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Outsiders
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
For the Wolf (The Wilderwood, #1)
 
4.7
"FOR THE WOLF is a captivating fantasy read that sweeps the reader away to the Wilderwood. Redarys (Red) is the..."
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
"Simone's Haitian immigrant parents are very strict; she and her sister Anne have to go to an all girls school..."
Chasing Lucky
 
4.3
"Josie Saint-Martin and her mother have lived an itinerant lifestyle ever since they left the small Rhode Island seaside town..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
"Curse of the Specter Queen by Jenny Elder Moke is Indiana Jones meets The Mummy (1999) and encompasses everything I..."
The Heartbreak Bakery
 
4.7
"Seventeen-year-old agender Syd loves baking, but when her brownies set off a string of breakups-including her own-she comes up with..."