Winter White (Belles #2)

Featured
 
0.0
 
4.3 (3)
2406 0
Winter White (Belles #2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
October 09, 2012
ISBN
0316091162
Buy This Book
      
Isabelle Scott and Mirabelle Monroe are still reeling from the revelation that they share more than just the roof over their heads. The media has pounced on their story and the girls are caught up in a flurry of talk-show appearances and newspaper interviews. They've put on a happy public face, but someone is leaking their true feelings to the press, and while it seems like the world is watching their every move, at least they have each other.

But with cotillion season right around the corner, Izzie and Mira have barely had time to process their newfound sisterhood. Mira has dreamed of making her debut in a gorgeous white gown forever-now, if only she could find an escort. Izzie, meanwhile, is still struggling to find her place in Emerald Cove and it's seeming ever more impossible with EC mean-girls, young and old, doing their best to keep her down. As cotillion preparations heat up, though, there are dance steps to learn, manners to perfect... and secret initiations to complete? As if sophomore year wasn't hard enough!

It's time for the gowns to go on and the gloves to come off.

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (3)
Characters 
 
4.3  (3)
Writing Style 
 
4.7  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Wow!
(Updated: August 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
After learning that she and Mirabelle are a lot closer that cousins, Isabelle Scott has to face that "uncle" Bill is so not her uncle anymore. With Cotillion around the corner, there are initiations that mirror your common sorority, along with dinners and banquets and lessons that makes Izzie feel like an outsider more than ever. Izzie and Mira bond over this experience, and begin to act like true sisters that are extremely mad at their father. Savannah Ingram is as mean as ever, although there is a surprise twist that had me wondering.... And I also think that Savannah is on the cover as well, although I thought the model could make a pretty good Izzie. Mira and Izzie are also having boy problems... Izzie with Brayden and Mira with Kellen. Izzie needs Brayden to start to stand up for her around his mother, and to face the fact that she won't wait around for ever while he is at dinners with the Ingram family and being Savannah's dance partner at practices for cotillion and maybe date for cotillion. Mirabelle just needs Kellen to notice her as girlfriend material and to ask her to cotillion, even though he said it is not his style. Amidst all this drama and deceit, Izzie and Mira's election is looking grim... It seems as someone seems to know things that no one else could possibly know... Like Mira's painting about her family, and Izzie and Mira's joking that they wished they were adopted, and circulation that Izzie is not really senator Monroe's daughter... Also, grams seems to call Izzie as someone called Zoe... The cliff hanger at the end explains who she is and had me buying the next book, the grass is always greener at 2 am!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
One of best sequels I have read all year!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The secrets are out... or are they???

Who would have thought that Izzie and Mira would finally have something in common - and not only with what has been revealed, but also sharing the same feelings towards the same person. The media is all over it, but the girls know how to handle themselves in front of the cameras. Or at least, they thought they did.

In Winter White, Izzie and Mira are trying to get along. They are trying to lead as normal a life that they can in Emerald Cover and get ready for their cotillion. Mira has dreamed of cotillion since as long as she can remember. And is so excited to be able to share everything, even the initiations, alongside Izzie. Izzie has no intentions in doing cotillion, but seeing how much this means to Mira and her aunt, she decides to go along with it. And soon discovers that their is more to cotillion than just a pretty white dress.

In between the drama, twists and turns, Izzie and Mira are learning from one another, becoming friends and also discovering themselves. And there is never a dull moment in Emerald Cover - new characters to add some extra spice to the story-line, I could not put this book down.
Jen Calonita's writing is so spot on and captivating. Everyone is so relatable and enticing - I cannot wait to see what they'll be doing next.
AND, Winter White has one of the best cliff-hangers I have read in a long time! Seriously! I don't like being left like this, but it was one that was totally unexpected and exciting - it is going to be another wonderful installment to this series! I cannot wait to read THE GRASS IS ALWAYS GREENER!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Hobbitsies Reviews: Entertaining and engaging series
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I loved Winter White by Jen Calonita! There’s something about this series that is so addicting and engaging and even though it seems like it might be shallow, there’s a lot of issues that are really relatable to teenagers today, except they’re presented in a fun and entertaining way.

There are lot of deep family issues in Winter White. No one is happy and there’s a lot of tension and depression on all parts of the family and it was interesting to see that dynamic explored. I think a lot of teens sometimes feel like they don’t belong in their family, so even though maybe not all of their dad’s are running for office, but it was still relatable in the over all theme.

The storyline in Winter White was just as engaging as the storyline in Belles. I loved the debutante storyline and I had a lot of fun reading about the tasks that were assigned to the debutantes. I was just completely sucked in from the beginning.

I think sometimes longer contemporaries can drag a little, but the pages of Winter White just flew right by me.

There’s a lot of relationship drama in Winter White. Some of it really made me want to shake the book in frustration, haha! But, you know, it happens and I was pleased with the ending of Winter White.

If you read Belles and enjoyed it, definitely pick up Winter White by Jen Calonita. And if you haven’t read the series, I seriously recommend picking up Belles! This is such a fun and engaging series and I can’t wait to read more!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."