If I Lie

 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
1109 0
If I Lie
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
August 28, 2012
ISBN
144245413X
Buy This Book
      
A dramatic and powerful novel that explores the gray space between truth and perception.
Cheater. Traitor. Slut.

Quinn’s done the unthinkable: she kissed a guy who is not Carey, her boyfriend. And she got caught. Shunned by everyone she knows, Quinn loses her friends, her reputation, and her identity. Because Carey’s not just any guy—he’s a Marine who’s serving overseas, and beloved by everyone in their small, military town.

But Quinn didn’t cheat. She could clear her name, but that would mean revealing secrets she’s vowed to keep—secrets that aren’t hers to share. So she stays silent, and waits for Carey to come home.

Then Carey goes MIA, and Quinn must decide how far she’ll go to protect her boyfriend…and her promise.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Review: If I Lie
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Originally posted on http://musingsofabookowl.blogspot.com.

I've been waiting for this book to come out forever. So, when it finally came out today, I dragged my mom to the book store to get it (along with a few others that came out today). It wasn't even out on the floor yet; they had to go get it out of the back. It was worth the hour drive though. (It really is a tragedy the nearest Barnes and Noble is an hour away. I guess it's for the better seeing as I would just spend even more there.)


Plot: I loved the plot of this book; it's really original and stands out from a lot of the new contemporary YA. I guess it is pretty typical to be keeping a secret for a friend, but I absolutely loved the twist that Carey's MIA. I was a little confused about the secret and what he asked her to do at first, but once she comes out with it to the reader, it's easier to follow.

If you guys read my review of What I Didn't Say, you know that one of my best friends plans on joining the army, so I instantly connect with any book that has a character planning on enlisting. I loved that it was a military town. It's not a very common topic among today's YAs.

I saw the plot line with here mom coming from a mile away. I mean, no literary parent just walks out on their kid, then never returns during the story line, right guys? I didn't really care for this part of the book, and I was mentally maiming Quinn for how this one ends.

The story line with her dad is pretty cool, though. It's sweet, but again, I saw it coming.

Seeing that coming, didn't really take away from the book any, though.

Characters: Sophie Quinn. Her whole name situation is a little confusing at first, being introduced in the blurb as Quinn and all, but once it's explained, you get to focus on how great of a character she really is. She's spent all of her senior year being tormented for something she didn't do, or rather what it looks like she did. They don't know the truth, no one but Quinn does. I give her props for taking all the crap for Carey.

Carey was an interesting character all in himself. Whereas I thought we would have to guess what the secret was, Quinn comes out and tells us frankly. I spent most of the book not understanding why Quinn was lying for him after what he did to her. But, slowly as the flashbacks got deeper, I began to sympathize for Carey.

George. I loved him, okay? He'd sass Quinn and Quinn would sass him right back. I love that there was an old character without it being with just an awkward distant grandmother. George and Quinn honestly got along. The photography was a nice quirk the two of them shared.

Blake I felt sorry for from the beginning. He spends most of the book not understanding what Quinn's doing to him, and thinks she's just messing with him. I think they're so sweet together despite that one rocky night. I'm not going to comment any more on their relationship because I don't want to spoil it for any one.

Her mother. This part reminded me a bit of Between: how Liz's dad's cheating with Josie's mom was a metaphor for what was going on in her love life. It's pretty much the same thing with her mother leaving her father for his brother. Quinn "cheated" on Carey with Blake, his best friend (a.k.a. Brother).

Her dad. I honestly had a soft spot for her dad the whole book. I knew that deep down he still loved his daughter, but he just wasn't showing it. I really did love his part of the story because it wasn't rushed. It took it's time like rebuilding a relationship should be like.

I could kind of understand where Jaime was coming from since Carey had saved her, and let's be honest, which of us doesn't want a hunky hero? But because she's the closest thing this book has to an antagonist, I didn't like her. Her character depth is great. She doesn't just want Carey because he's Carey; they have a past. She's was sort of like the stereotypical ex-girlfriend, except she wasn't stereotypical and she isn't an ex-girlfriend.

If there's one character I hated in this book, it's Angel. She just dropped Quinn for Jaime (whom they hated). She was a little stereotypical.

Cover: Let's be honest here. It's not amazing. The white border looks even more awkward in person. There were so many ways to go with the cover, it being a military themed book, but I think this picture is a little awkward. There we go, that's what this cover is. Awkward.

Overall: I loved this book; I really did. This book can get pretty emotional at times. I was close to tears at one or two points. I highly recommend reading.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."