The Crimson Crown (Seven Realms #4)

Featured
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
2021 0
The Crimson Crown (Seven Realms #4)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 23, 2012
ISBN
1423144333
Buy This Book
      
A thousand years ago, two young lovers were betrayed—Alger Waterlow to his death, and Hanalea, Queen of the Fells, to a life without love.

Now, once again, the Queendom of the Fells seems likely to shatter apart. For young queen Raisa ana’Marianna, maintaining peace even within her own castle walls is nearly impossible; tension between wizards and Clan has reached a fevered pitch. With surrounding kingdoms seeking to prey on the Fells’ inner turmoil, Raisa’s best hope is to unite her people against a common enemy. But that enemy might be the person with whom she's falling in love.

Through a complicated web of lies and unholy alliances, former streetlord Han Alister has become a member of the Wizard Council of the Fells. Navigating the cut-throat world of blue blood politics has never been more dangerous, and Han seems to inspire hostility among Clan and wizards alike. His only ally is the queen, and despite the perils involved, Han finds it impossible to ignore his feelings for Raisa. Before long, Han finds himself in possession of a secret believed to be lost to history, a discovery powerful enough to unite the people of the Fells. But will the secret die with him before he can use it?

A simple, devastating truth concealed by a thousand-year-old lie at last comes to light in this stunning conclusion to the Seven Realms series.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Wonderful conclusion novel
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
All good things must come to an end. And, overall, The Crimson Crown was a satisfying conclusion to a wonderful series. Well. The last 300 pages were excellent. I literally had to force myself to read the first 300 (more on that later). Overall, I find that the Seven Realms series is the best YA fantasy series I’ve read—of course, I can’t think of too many other high fantasy series I’ve read, so there is that. In any case, this book was very good, and I’m pleased with how things turned out.

As I mentioned, I wasn’t a big fan of the first half of The Crimson Crown. It had nothing to do with the quality of the story or bad writing or poor characterization. It was just, after nearly 2000 pages where the characters did nothing but talk about doing stuff and plan action that never happened…well, I started to find it tedious. Novels about political intrigue are my favorite, but it seemed that Chima’s characters were all talk and no action. It seems like Raisa and Han were going to talk their problems away, which would be redundant and unrealistic. Thankfully, things started happening in the last 300 pages, and except for the chapter were a minor villain gave a stupid villain monologue, I really enjoyed watching the varying plot threads come together.

Well. There’s not much I can say in this review, I don’t feel like. If you’ve read the previous books, I don’t want to spoil things. If you haven’t read the previous books, I still don’t want to spoil things. Basically, the big plot for this book hinges on the fact that there are a lot of characters telling other characters conflicting stories. So signals get crossed, and then when war finally happens, they have to get their act together and work as a team. And, basically, that’s what happens.

In The Crimson Crown, characters acted consistently with who they were before. If you liked Han and Raisa and Company in The Demon King, that’s who you’ll be getting here. I still found their personalities, while very well-rounded and engaging, to rely heavily on common tropes, and my big problem is still Raisa. Beautiful young queen, loved and adored, kickass fighter, skilled tactician, unparalleled diplomat, has several love interests, etc. Not really the kind of character I usually spring for, even though I liked Raisa a lot.

So, yeah. I liked The Crimson Crown. It’s probably the best out of the whole series, since stuff actually happened toward the end. I was happy with the way everything turned out in the end, momentary cheesiness aside. I’m glad I read the Seven Realms series, and I’d be willing to read more of Cinda Williams Chima’s novels in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."