Natural Born Angel (Immortal City #2)

FeaturedHot
 
4.0
 
3.0 (1)
5521 1
Natural Born Angel (Immortal City #2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 23, 2013
ISBN
1595145133
Buy This Book
      

Life turned upside down for Maddy Montgomery when she found out she was half-Angel and was catapulted into the scene of flashbulbs, paparazzi, and the fervent adulation that comes with being in the celebrity Angel world. She's trying to juggle her ordinary life—high school, family, friends—with the intense demands of being in the public eye as heartthrob Angel Jackson Godspeed's girlfriend.

And now Maddy must face the most difficult choice of her life. She's been offered the chance to become a Guardian. This means entering into dangerous and high stakes training, with no guarantee that she can succeed. But more than that, it would mean leaving her mortal life behind—forever—and allying with the Angels at a time when their relationship with humans is heading for war. . . .

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Great sequel!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I couldn't wait to read this book especially after having loved (and fangirled over) Immortal City!

What I loved: The writing, multiple POV's that weave together seamlessly and the fantastic world-building. At times, I felt like I was reading a movie and I would love to see this entire story play out on the big screen. I still enjoyed Maddy and Jackson even if their decisions irritated me some. Detective Sylvester is becoming another favorite of mine and his need to atone for past mistakes is admirable.

What left me wanting: This book made me mad. *glares* I felt like Maddy lost some of her edge by allowing other people to influence her and Jackson wallowed a bit too much. I understand they're both dealing with situations that were outside their realm of comfort and normalcy but there were times I had trouble recognizing the Maddy and Jacks I fell in love with in Book 1. *pouts*

I'm not a fan of love triangles and I don't think every story needs one in order for the romance to be successful. I mean, don't Maddy and Jacks already have enough working against them? Why Scott? WHY?! *cries* We meet Tom, the pilot whose full of hot human bada**ery but something about him just didn't sit well with me. Maybe it's because I don't trust him or maybe it's because I was Angelstruck by Jackson Godspeed in the first book. Who knows. *shrugs* Either way, Maddy appears to have a tough choice on her hands and this ending, for which I was not prepared for AT ALL, won't make it any easier.

I scoured the interwebs in search of something, anything that would tell me if there will be a final book in this series but came up empty handed. I'm convinced there has to be because there are too many unanswered questions.

Final verdict: Action-packed, heart-wrenching sequel that will leave you anxious to know how it all ends. (And what I really mean is, who Maddy chooses.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
...
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
I'm between a 2 and a 3 rating...
Why? Probably high expectations first off because I loved the first book but also because it seemed like the author Scott Speer lost all his passion. I wouldn't be surprised if he was forced to write this sequel or at least forced to change it enough that it no longer interested him. I felt like the book was telling me a story, not showing, the dialogue seemed forced. Maddy became such a different person (without a gradual, believable change) that I felt completely disconnected from her. Also super predictable. And Sylvester's detective work seemed forced also, as if the side story was added just so it would match the first book. The ending also leaves you hanging and not in a good way. If you want fans to read the next book, why not write it well instead of trying to leave it as such a cliffhanger?

Loved Loved Loved the first book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."