All the Broken Pieces

Featured
 
4.7
 
5.0 (1)
2408 1
All the Broken Pieces
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
December 11, 2012
ISBN
9781620611296
Buy This Book
      
What if your life wasn’t your own?

Liv comes out of a coma with no memory of her past and two distinct, warring voices inside her head. Nothing, not even her reflection, seems familiar. As she stumbles through her junior year, the voices get louder, insisting she please the popular group while simultaneously despising them. But when Liv starts hanging around with Spencer, whose own mysterious past also has him on the fringe, life feels complete for the first time in, well, as long as she can remember.

Liv knows the details of the car accident that put her in the coma, but as the voices invade her dreams, and her dreams start feeling like memories, she and Spencer seek out answers. Yet the deeper they dig, the less things make sense. Can Liv rebuild the pieces of her broken past, when it means questioning not just who she is, but what she is?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Original, Entertaining and Unique.
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Thank you Entangled Teen for this ARC. This is such a unique concept that's equal parts creepy, cool and romantic. There's also kissing which I'm a HUGE fan of! Liv appears to suffer from multiple personalities and one might jump to conclusions that's she's either schizophrenic or riding the crazy train, but she's not. Even though she has no memory of her life before her accident, she does have really vivid dreams she can't explain and the answers she gets from her parents are shady at best. When she starts a new school, she longs to find a place to fit in, but that's almost always easier said than done. The voices aren't much help as they argue about whether she should hang with the popular crowd or be friends with everyone.

Spencer is the one person she can be herself with, even if she isn't exactly sure "who" that self is. When we first meet him, he's a giant angrypants but the more he and Liv hang out, the more he lets his guard down. *clutches Spencer* He's as broken as Liv is, but in different ways and my heart melted into a big puddle of swoon as they worked through her list of "firsts", slowly rebuilding each other along the way.

The "creepy" element comes into play as you try to figure out what the heck happened to Liv and when everything is revealed, it's a total "WHOA!" moment. The ending was both unexpected and bittersweet and had me crying ALL THE TEARS! :)

One of the things I enjoyed about this read is that there's nothing to cringe about. It has it's heart melting kisses but no sexy parts and the language is mild. (one s-word, I think.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Connected with main character, and loved the premise and how it was executed.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
I really connected with Liv and I was so intrigued by the plot of All the Broken Pieces. Cindi Madsen pulled it off beautifully.
I lives the characters as well as Olivia's voice. Spencer was an enigma and hot, just how I like my literary boys to be. Tough guys with tenderness. I really appreciated how he took everything in stride and believed the impossible with Liv.
I felt like I was always on the verge of figuring out exactly what was going on with Liv and why she couldn't remember anything but why she was having these strange dreams or flashes of other people and the warring voices in her head. By the end, I had figured out a few of the pieces of the puzzle correctly but it was still a spectacular ending and there were still a few things that I hadn't figured out as well as how they all fit together.
I was surprised at the emotions i felt reading this. Liv really had a beautiful voice, and I got right inside her head. The constant confusion and heartache she felt really came off the page. As well as trying to figure out who was really on her side, if everything was a lie, what to think of her parents, her fear that they or she did something terrible and she just can't remember. The romantic tension with Spencer was also well written. I never quite knew what to think of him, but I loved their playful teasing and banter and the glances of tenderness and how he really cares for others and is in pain with some of the things he keeps hidden about his past.
The rest of the secondary characters were superb as well. Kiera was a great addition to this story and i loved her bubbles and friendliness. Sabrina was also written well and I was wondering what was brewing there. I do think that there was a bit of rushed and unbelievable resolution with their relationship but i can forgive it because of how everything else resolved.
I flew through this book and loved every minute of it.
Bottom line: Connected with main character, and loved the premise and how it was executed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."