A Fractured Light (A Beautiful Dark #2)

Featured
 
0.0
 
3.9 (3)
1958 0
A Fractured Light (A Beautiful Dark #2)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
September 25, 2012
ISBN
0061990671
Buy This Book
      
When she wakes up in unfamiliar surroundings, Skye knows something terrible has happened to her. It's not until she hears Asher, the dark, rebellious angel she fell in love with, that the memories come flooding back. She tries to put the past behind her, but she knows she'll be forever haunted by the ruthless betrayal that almost took her life.

Skye returns home, but with the knowledge of who she really is, nothing can ever be the same. As she tests the limits of her newfound powers, Skye discovers that she's capable of far more than anyone could have imagined. Both the Order and the Rebellion want her for their side as war between the factions looms. She can't forget the terrifying truth she now knows about the Order, but something holds her back from embracing the Rebellion.

A Fractured Light picks up right after A Beautiful Dark's shocking cliffhanger ending and is perfect for fans of Lauren Kate's Fallen and Becca Fitzpatrick's Hush, Hush saga.

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.9
Plot 
 
3.7  (3)
Characters 
 
4.0  (3)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Good second book.
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
3.5
This picks up right after the other ended, and while it has only been a short time, I had already forgotten some details, but it gets you right back to speed.
There is a lot of tension in this one as Skye comes back home, with her aunt because she suddenly disappeared, at Devin because he tried to kill her, with herself at all of the guardians around and the fact that she is still out of control more than she wants to be.
But Skye is getting more control, becoming more confident even through the confusion and tension with others. I admired her for that.
Her relationship with Asher is still fun to read about. We get to see a slightly darker and deeper side of him in this one that I totally appreciated. And then his lighter, joking side also came back out and that kept things from getting too bogged down and completely serious.
For the most part this one it is mostly character development and build up of the tension.
Luckily I got the next one from Harper to review so keep your eyes peel over next few days for it.

Bottom Line: Good second book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Hobbitsies Reviews: Very much a middle book
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
A Fractured Light by Jocelyn Davies didn’t quite live up to my expectations after reading A Beautiful Dark. Granted, A Beautiful Dark totally wowed me and I loved it, even though I was expecting to hate it. But it took me by surprise! I was hoping to get the same feelings from A Fractured Light. And whew, especially after that ending!

But unfortunately, A Fractured Light was just very much a middle book for me. We learned a lot of stuff about the Rebellion and the Guardians and more about what Skye is, exactly, but I felt like it all could have been more condensed.

The love triangle thing, which I actually really enjoyed in A Beautiful Dark, grated on me a bit in A Fractured Light. I’m not a fan of the mushy stuff, which is totally my own thing, so all the stuff with Asher and Skye was just kind of meh to me.

But the action! I thought the pace definitely picked up mid-way through A Fractured Light which helped to keep me on my toes and reminded me exactly why I love this series. The ending is just as legit as A Beautiful Dark and there’s so many twists. I loved A Fractured Light from the halfway point, but at the beginning, I was a bit meh.

I don’t know. Maybe it was my mood, but I just didn’t love A Fractured Light by Jocelyn Davies as much as I did A Beautiful Dark. I’m still really excited to read the third book in the series – the storyline is still super interesting to me, despite my constant iffiness of angel stories, but I just think I have second book blues or something.

I will say, if you loved A Beautiful Dark like I did, you should definitely read A Fractured Light because I have a feeling the conclusion will be epic.

Review originally posted on my blog http://hobbitsies.net/2012/09/a-fractured-light-by-jocelyn-davies/
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
It's time to choose!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Skye returns to her life, after almost being killed by Devin, only to find it more difficult than when she had left it. Cassie, knows Skye is lying to her about where she’s been. Ian, is trying to distant himself from her. Her Aunt is being strict and Guardians have taken over her school. Add that to the fact that her would be killer is also still at her school. The Guardians are waiting for retaliation and the Rebels are waiting for Skye to grow stronger before they attack. In a world of upheaval Skye clings to the only safe place in her life, Asher. As she becomes stronger and excepts her powers she begins to wonder if she can choose her dark power over her light. Both are who she are. Her light power shows her visions of Devin and she can’t help but wonder if she’s on the right path. Stuck between both of her natures, Skye will make a choice that will change everything.
This story was amazing!
Skye grows into a stronger person and pieces of the past come to light that change everything. I can’t wait for the next book!!!!
Good Points
All the awesome things Skye can do with her powers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When the earth was new, words had the power to...
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Elephant is always ready and willing to share her prized...
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dictionary as narrator? YES! ...
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Morrigan battles a new evil as a strange, frightening illness...
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* From New York...
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns...
Warriors of Wing and Flame (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Warriors of Wing and Flame, the spellbinding sequel...
Corona Daze: Eva's time at home during Covid-19
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Angel's artwork is an inspirational blend of photographic images and...
Fae's Prisoner (Crimes of the Fae)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Griffin O’Shea is a traitor. It’s what those outside...
The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Elva has a secret. She has visions and...
Swamp Thing: Twin Branches
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
#1 New York Times bestselling author Maggie Stiefvater (the...
Launch (Rise of the Anointed #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the biblical stories, Samson had great strength. The prophet...
How to Catch a Yeti
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling team...
Along Came a Fox
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect story to encourage children to treat others as...
Rosa's Big Pizza Experiment (Rosa's Workshop)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow Rosa and her friends as they prepare pizzas! Each...

Latest Member Reviews

Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
"GOBLIN KING is a much faster-paced and action-packed YA fantasy sequel. Janneke has taken the mantle of the stag, though..."
Swamp Thing: Twin Branches
 
4.3
"SWAMP THING: TWIN BRANCHES is a graphic novel about finding yourself, remembering history, and forging your own path forward. Alec..."
The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
"BROKEN WISH is a beautifully composed fairytale. The book begins with the story of Mathilda and Agnes, neighbors who have..."
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
"THE GILDED WOLVES is a fantastic YA fantasy. Although given a year in the 1800s and a historical setting, the..."
The Silvered Serpents (The Gilded Wolves, #2)
 
4.3
"That ending!!! THE SILVERED SERPENTS is an engaging YA historical fantasy that picks up after the first book ended, and..."
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
"Ashley Poston has crafted a new fairy tale for the ages! Among the Beasts and Briars may very well be..."
Warriors of Wing and Flame (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #2)
 
4.0
"WARRIORS OF WING AND FLAME is an intriguing conclusion to a YA fantasy duology about sisterhood. This book picks up..."
Sisters of Shadow and Light (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #1)
 
3.7
"SISTERS OF SHADOW AND LIGHT is an intriguing YA fantasy that focuses on the love between sisters. Zuhra has lived..."
Foreshadow: Stories to Celebrate the Magic of Reading and Writing YA
 
5.0
"FORESHADOW is a fantastic collection of short stories with a focus on discussion and writing. Each story is undeniably well-composed..."
A Cloud of Outrageous Blue
 
4.3
"A CLOUD OF OUTRAGEOUS BLUE is a historical fiction read that takes the reader to 1348-1349. Edyth grew up with..."
Slingshot
 
4.7
"SLINGSHOT by Mercedes Helnwein is a firecracker of a debut. This YA contemporary is set inside a shoddy boarding school..."
Raybearer (Raybearer, #1)
 
5.0
"RAYBEARER is a lush and imaginative YA fantasy that had me captivated from the start. The book follows Tarisai, who..."
A Golden Fury
 
4.0
"When I started A Golden Fury by Samantha Cohoe, I’m not sure what I was expecting. A historical fantasy? A..."
Beyond the Ruby Veil (The Walls in the Ruby Sky, #1)
 
4.3
"BEYOND THE RUBY VEIL is a very dark YA fantasy that features a ruthless anti-heroine and a mysterious other world...."
Lightbringer (Empirium, #3)
 
5.0
"LIGHTBRINGER is a truly epic finale to the Empirium trilogy. Rielle and Eliana are mother and daughter, separated by thousands..."
Dating Makes Perfect
 
4.3
" The story: Just like her sisters before her, Winnie isn’t allowed to date in high school. With..."
A Golden Fury
 
3.3
"A GOLDEN FURY is a YA historical fantasy that entrenches the reader in the life of Thea. Thea is a..."
Miss Meteor
 
5.0
"Meteor, New Mexico is the site where a meteor crashed years ago. It's also the site of the Miss Meteor..."
In the Study with the Wrench
 
3.0
"After the death of the headmaster and the storm in the first book, Blackbrook Academy is barely functioning. Half the..."
Five Total Strangers
 
5.0
"FIVE TOTAL STRANGERS is a thrilling ride that kept me guessing. Mira is on her way to her mother's house..."