A Fractured Light (A Beautiful Dark #2)

Featured
 
0.0
 
3.9 (3)
1935 0
A Fractured Light (A Beautiful Dark #2)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
September 25, 2012
ISBN
0061990671
Buy This Book
      
When she wakes up in unfamiliar surroundings, Skye knows something terrible has happened to her. It's not until she hears Asher, the dark, rebellious angel she fell in love with, that the memories come flooding back. She tries to put the past behind her, but she knows she'll be forever haunted by the ruthless betrayal that almost took her life.

Skye returns home, but with the knowledge of who she really is, nothing can ever be the same. As she tests the limits of her newfound powers, Skye discovers that she's capable of far more than anyone could have imagined. Both the Order and the Rebellion want her for their side as war between the factions looms. She can't forget the terrifying truth she now knows about the Order, but something holds her back from embracing the Rebellion.

A Fractured Light picks up right after A Beautiful Dark's shocking cliffhanger ending and is perfect for fans of Lauren Kate's Fallen and Becca Fitzpatrick's Hush, Hush saga.

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.9
Plot 
 
3.7  (3)
Characters 
 
4.0  (3)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Good second book.
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
3.5
This picks up right after the other ended, and while it has only been a short time, I had already forgotten some details, but it gets you right back to speed.
There is a lot of tension in this one as Skye comes back home, with her aunt because she suddenly disappeared, at Devin because he tried to kill her, with herself at all of the guardians around and the fact that she is still out of control more than she wants to be.
But Skye is getting more control, becoming more confident even through the confusion and tension with others. I admired her for that.
Her relationship with Asher is still fun to read about. We get to see a slightly darker and deeper side of him in this one that I totally appreciated. And then his lighter, joking side also came back out and that kept things from getting too bogged down and completely serious.
For the most part this one it is mostly character development and build up of the tension.
Luckily I got the next one from Harper to review so keep your eyes peel over next few days for it.

Bottom Line: Good second book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Hobbitsies Reviews: Very much a middle book
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
A Fractured Light by Jocelyn Davies didn’t quite live up to my expectations after reading A Beautiful Dark. Granted, A Beautiful Dark totally wowed me and I loved it, even though I was expecting to hate it. But it took me by surprise! I was hoping to get the same feelings from A Fractured Light. And whew, especially after that ending!

But unfortunately, A Fractured Light was just very much a middle book for me. We learned a lot of stuff about the Rebellion and the Guardians and more about what Skye is, exactly, but I felt like it all could have been more condensed.

The love triangle thing, which I actually really enjoyed in A Beautiful Dark, grated on me a bit in A Fractured Light. I’m not a fan of the mushy stuff, which is totally my own thing, so all the stuff with Asher and Skye was just kind of meh to me.

But the action! I thought the pace definitely picked up mid-way through A Fractured Light which helped to keep me on my toes and reminded me exactly why I love this series. The ending is just as legit as A Beautiful Dark and there’s so many twists. I loved A Fractured Light from the halfway point, but at the beginning, I was a bit meh.

I don’t know. Maybe it was my mood, but I just didn’t love A Fractured Light by Jocelyn Davies as much as I did A Beautiful Dark. I’m still really excited to read the third book in the series – the storyline is still super interesting to me, despite my constant iffiness of angel stories, but I just think I have second book blues or something.

I will say, if you loved A Beautiful Dark like I did, you should definitely read A Fractured Light because I have a feeling the conclusion will be epic.

Review originally posted on my blog http://hobbitsies.net/2012/09/a-fractured-light-by-jocelyn-davies/
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
It's time to choose!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Skye returns to her life, after almost being killed by Devin, only to find it more difficult than when she had left it. Cassie, knows Skye is lying to her about where she’s been. Ian, is trying to distant himself from her. Her Aunt is being strict and Guardians have taken over her school. Add that to the fact that her would be killer is also still at her school. The Guardians are waiting for retaliation and the Rebels are waiting for Skye to grow stronger before they attack. In a world of upheaval Skye clings to the only safe place in her life, Asher. As she becomes stronger and excepts her powers she begins to wonder if she can choose her dark power over her light. Both are who she are. Her light power shows her visions of Devin and she can’t help but wonder if she’s on the right path. Stuck between both of her natures, Skye will make a choice that will change everything.
This story was amazing!
Skye grows into a stronger person and pieces of the past come to light that change everything. I can’t wait for the next book!!!!
Good Points
All the awesome things Skye can do with her powers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."