Son (The Giver Quartet #4)

Featured
 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2084 1
Son (The Giver Quartet #4)
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 02, 2012
ISBN
9780547887203
Buy This Book
      

They called her Water Claire. When she washed up on their shore, no one knew that she came from a society where emotions and colors didn’t exist. That she had become a Vessel at age thirteen. That she had carried a Product at age fourteen. That it had been stolen from her body. Claire had a son. But what became of him she never knew. What was his name? Was he even alive?  She was supposed to forget him, but that was impossible. Now Claire will stop at nothing to find her child, even if it means making an unimaginable sacrifice.

Son thrusts readers once again into the chilling world of the Newbery Medal winning book, The Giver, as well as Gathering Blue and Messenger where a new hero emerges. In this thrilling series finale, the startling and long-awaited conclusion to Lois Lowry’s epic tale culminates in a final clash between good and evil.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Completing the cycle
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
This is the book that everyone has been waiting for! Given the physical state of the first three books in my library, perhaps I need to splurge on a new set with the redesigned covers.
Good Points
Lowry's writing is always beautiful, intriguing, and hard to put down. English teachers everywhere will be glad of this final book in the Giver cycle. I saw a very interesting interview with Lowry about what she was trying to accomplish with this last book, and how she hoped to tie up all the loose ends and make sense of all of the characters. I think she managed to do this very well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Very Satisfying Conclusion to An Amazing Series
(Updated: September 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Before dystopias became hot, there was the book THE GIVER. I still remember how much I loved this story with it's powerful, haunting message. A true classic. I read all the other books that followed and fell in love with the writing.

The next book, SON, is no exception.

Beautifully written, this story follows Claire, who is a birthmother and has a 'product'. Only she has issues with her pregnancy and is sent to a fishery as she can no longer be of use. Claire isn't like the others in her society. She still feels and longs to know what happened to her son. She finds him and what happens next is sure to pull on your heartstrings.

I love this series so much. Haunting images of a future intertwined with a mysterious and evil Trademaster who seems to pull the strings of people. The relationships aren't clear cut but rather complicated. In the beginning we see Claire as a twelve year old receiving her calling as a birthmother. Then we follow her through her struggles, trials, and even a bittersweet relationship with Einar, a crippled villager, who had his own run in with the mysterious Trademaster. We also see what happened to characters in previous novels such as Kira and Jonas. Lowry is able to weave in all her previous story lines into a very satisfying conclusion.


Claire's encounter with the Trademaster comes at a cost. I couldn't help but think what would someone give up in order to have their heart's desire? The Trademaster reminded me of Ray Bradbury's SOMETHING WICKED CAME THIS WAY with promises made at a cost.

SON is sure to become a classic. A very satisfying conclusion to an amazing series.
Good Points
1. Beautifully written conclusion to THE GIVER series
2. Love how author is able to tie in all the other books
3. Satisfying conclusion
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."