Crimson Frost (Mythos Academy #4)

 
0.0
 
3.5 (2)
1466 1
Crimson Frost (Mythos Academy #4)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
December 24, 2012
ISBN
0758281463
Buy This Book
      
For a moment, a face flashed before my eyes — the most hideous face I’d ever seen. No matter how hard I tried to forget what had happened, I saw him everywhere I went. It was Loki — the evil god that I’d helped set free against my will.

I should have known that my first official date with Logan Quinn was destined to end in disaster. If we’d gotten into a swordfight, or been ambushed by Reapers, I’d have been more prepared. But getting arrested mid-sip at the local coffee hangout? I didn’t see that one coming. I’ve been accused of purposely helping the Reapers free Loki from his prison — and the person leading the charge against me is Linus Quinn, Logan’s dad. The worst part is that pretty much everyone at Mythos Academy thinks I’m guilty. If I’m going to get out of this mess alive, I’ll have to do it myself …

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot 
 
3.5  (2)
Characters 
 
3.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
3.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Emotion
(Updated: June 19, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
---THE RUN DOWN ---
In the last book Gwen was tricked into freeing the evil mastermind, Loki. Now? Gwen is arrested for freeing Loki. To them (as in the people that arrested her) she is a Reaper and fully intended to free him. NOT ONLY THAT but she is blamed for the deaths at the museums! She is blamed for everything SHE TRIED TO STOP!
So what will happen if she's found guilty?
Well, she'll be sentenced to death...

---MY THOUGHTS ---
You probably don't know this but...
I'm a coward.
If I were in Gwen's situation, I would just sit in a corner and accept death.
BECAUSE I'M A COWARD.
But do you think Gwen did that?
Did she sit in that corner?
HECK NO!!
She frexing stood up and tried to get people to know the frexing truth!

Let me just say that this book put me through such an emotional roller coaster ride.
There were moments when I was close to tears, moments where I wanted to stab someone with a breadstick, and moments where I felt like dancing around my living room with happiness.
And I like it when a book makes me feel emotion!

So, yes, I liked this book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
New twist to a familiar story
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
As much as I love this series, I have to say I was a little disappointed with Crimson Frost. Maybe it's just me, but this series is dragging on. I really thought this would be the final book, and I was sad when I started... BUT, now I'm ready for a finale.


I know some stories can't be told in 3 or 4 books (um, Harry Potter?), but many of them can. Honestly. Yes, I love the mythology embedded in the Mythos Academy series, but it's getting stale. I felt like most of the action in the newest addition to the series was much of the same. A few new villains and twists added in, but otherwise more of the same.


Now, with that being said it doesn't mean that I didn't enjoy this book. I did. I think Gwen and her grandma are awesome, and Logan totally makes my heart beat faster. The other characters that I have enjoyed in the past really didn't have much of a role in this book. That was a little disappointing. Daphne and her beau were absent for the majority of the book. Bummer. A few new characters were introduced, so that might make the next book more interesting. I intrigued by the hodge-podge team of Reaper fighting whiz kids that has been put together. I hope Midnight Frost brings them all together in some way.


I think it's worth noting that the setting is what makes this series so much fun (in my opinion). Sure, we have yet another supernatural themed story taking place in a uppity boarding school. That cliche is still being used. However, this time the students are "whiz kids" with hidden talents and ties to mythology. You have gypsies like Gwen, Spartan warriors, Valkyries, and a few other mythological creatures popping up. I especially like how the various myth cultures are represented. In Crimson Frost, we meet a creature from Egyptian mythology and Apate. Loki is still lurking in the shadows and trying to take over the world. That hasn't changed.


What will Midnight Frost have instore for us? Who knows. Hopefully a conclusion to this series, because I really don't know how many more twists and turns can be added to the plot before it seems like we're reading the same story again. I'm already starting to feel that way. Thankfully, though, there was one heck of a surprise at the end that will make the next book very interesting. Jennifer Estep seems to have a way with those hook endings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...

Latest Member Reviews

Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."