The Pact

 
0.0
 
4.2 (6)
2415 0
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
ISBN
0688170528
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

6 reviews

 
(2)
 
(3)
 
(1)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
View most helpful
Thought Provoking Love Story
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Rachel

Jodi Picoult has written an amazing book once again.  In her thought provoking book, The Pact, about love and death, we are taken into the past and present with different people's perspectives to make the readers understand the book and empathize. 


The Hartes and Golds are neighbors that have been close friends for a long time.  Seventeen year old, Emily Gold, and Chris Harte have known eachother since they were born.  Throughout the book we are shown the development of their relationship from best friends to boyfriend and girlfriend.  When Emily is found dead, Chris is found as a primary suspect. The reader is shown the life of Chris, with excellent description of his experience with law and his intense trial.  When the Golds and Hartes find out about this death Jodi Picoult shows us the effects of death on family and friends.  Friendship's end and relationships are tested.


The Pact is a must read book that everybody will love.  

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Not so great
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by BookNerd.


This book took quite a few pages to get into, and the recurring characters in Picoults books get old and uninteresting. The too-good-to-be-true lawyer taking on the most difficult case around, and bonding with the victim in ways hes never bonded before is an age old story. The adults story was predictable. The teens story is a common plot in books and movies with the whole knowing the one person you belong with since birth. This book only got interesting towards the end when Chris Harte relates what really happened to the side of the story his lawyer, Jordan, was telling the jury. I would recommend this book to someone who has read Picoults previous books and has a soft spot for her recurring characters.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Twists and Turns Everyway You Look
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Holly

Emily and Chris have been together for a long time and best friends for even longer. So why would one night, both of their parents (next door neighbors) get phone calls to come to the hospital. Where, one child is dead and the other is in shock. Why would the two decided on a sucide pact that would tear all the friendships apart? This book is riviting and keeps you guess and wondering what happened. I laughed and cried throughout the book, espically when she describes Chris and Emily's beautiful relationship and how it got to where it is. Did they really even had a sucide pact? I read this book in one sitting. I had to keep turning the pages to see what would happen. And, I'm sure you will do the same.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Awesome
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Alexis

I thought this book was great. At first I didn't like the flashbacks, but that was how you learned about the people. I read this book because my friend reccommended it to me and I would read it over and over again. I think that this is one of the best written books I have ever read. I would reccommend this to anyone who liked the Twilight books. They don't have vampires but they are really good. I was so happy at the end of the book when the jury read the verdict, you wouldnt believe. This is a must read!!!!!HAVE FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
The Romeo and Juliet of Today
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Mindy

This book is a must read for both teens and their parents. Remember, how it felt to be absolutely over-the top in-love? Well, this book explores the dark side of this all-consuming passion within a relationship and how it can turn to obsession.

Picoult does a fantastic job at explaining without condoning suicide. That suicide is FINAL and never an answer!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Absorbing
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
0.0
Writing Style 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by eve

This book just grabs your attention and is very heart breaking. Foremost it is about love and the sacrifices involved in it. There are many questions raised and it is very wonderful to see just how strong this love is between these two characters.

The flashbacks are great and although the book feels too long at times it is possible to get through it without much strain.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."