The Edge of Nowhere

Featured
 
4.3 (2)
 
3.3 (1)
2241 0
The Edge of Nowhere
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 04, 2012
ISBN
978-0670012961
Buy This Book
      

Whidbey Island may be only a ferry ride from Seattle, but it's a world apart. When Becca King arrives there, she doesn't suspect the island will become her home for the next four years. Put at risk by her ability to hear "whispers"--the thoughts of others--Becca is on the run from her stepfather, whose criminal activities she has discovered. Stranded and alone, Becca is soon befriended by Derric, a Ugandan orphan adopted by a local family; Seth, a kindhearted musician and high school dropout; Debbie, a recovering alcoholic who takes her in; and Diana, with whom Becca shares a mysterious psychic connection.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

An engaging plot and excellent tension make this perfect for mystery lovers
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
The Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George follows young Becca King, a girl who can hear thoughts of others as she hides from her murderous stepfather on Whidbey Island. The mind reading paranormal element is interesting, and the author does a wonderful job of mixing teen angst and uncertainty alongside such a power. Becca is a well-rounded protagonist whose voice and actions, shown through third person narration, fits her age and situation perfectly. She is still growing into herself while she faces dangerous situations none would envy. Her gradual attempts in learning to trust people are endearing and will clearly lead to further character development as this series continues.

Surrounding Becca are extremely well done secondary characters. Though Derric doesn’t receive as much dialogue as other characters, he is nicely set up with an ideal amount of intrigue. Seth, Hayley, and Jenn all are distinctive and complex in their own right, and the mysteries behind each of their secrets will keep readers turning the pages well into the night. Seth’s grandfather, Ralph, offers several chances for a smile or two during the heat of the mysteries.

What shines in this novel is the plot. Twists, turns, and jaw-dropping surprises frequent the chapters. The mystery behind the island accident leaves most questions answered, while other mysteries are left in suspense for more books. The tension throughout the story is gripping and engaging, something mystery and suspense fans will greatly appreciate.

As much as I enjoyed the characters and plot, some areas of the writing feel weak. The dialogue comes across as a bit awkward and stiff at times, though the shifts in character focuses are handled well. The writing in the beginning doesn’t seem to match the flow of the second half, but the plot is definitely engaging enough to keep the reader invested.

Fans of Lauren Oliver’s Vanishing Girls and James Patterson’s Confessions of a Murder Suspect series will find an exciting and engaging plot with complex characters in The Edge of Nowhere. The minor paranormal elements offer a refreshing twist for readers who like their suspense and mystery with a little something extra.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oh my WOW.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Um. Wow. I literally cannot believe how good this book turned out to be. It was completely unexpected. At 448 pages, I definitely did not think it would take me ONE DAY to finish, but I could not stop. Even though I was exhausted and sick all weekend, I took every opportunity I could to get this story in my head and find out what happens. The characters are gripping--and honestly, the main character, Becca, is probably the least exciting of all, even though she herself is quite an incredible character. Her circumstances have landed her on Whidbey Island, a remote island off the coast of Washington state. Her paranormal abilities to hear bits and pieces of the thoughts of others have given her a difficult fate. Plus, she finds herself alone and on her own on this island at the tender age of fourteen. But the wisdom that has come to her through learning to deal with her gift has made her a special, kind, and thoughtful person, well beyond her years. She's real.

So are all the people she befriends in her search for help on Whidbey. Each one of them is wrapped up together in the way only small-town folk can be. Each person has a tragic or secret or tangled history that Becca must unravel in order to continue to protect herself and her friends. This book actually reminded me of a middle-grade book I read just a few months ago--The Secret Tree--because it had so many profound things to teach about people and life through discovering the answers to people's hidden thoughts. Because of that, it ends up being a story you just cannot shake off and cannot forget. These people's stories and struggles are powerful and well-worth exploring, even if they're fictional. Learning about them will help any teenager (or adult!)learn about what it means to misjudge others and what to do when you've done so. Though my review does not do it justice, this book has been added to my list of MUST READS.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
The Edge of Nowhere
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
This book was meant to be a mystery book, and I assumed that the main character might make an effort to actually solve the mystery, instead she hid away in a motel and a run-down bar. Becca to me didn't seem a very strong protagonist, she didn't try to do anything, most of the time she relied on the other characters, like Seth, and often dragged them into the mess that she created.

I liked the mystery that revolved around Derric's accident, but the truth was kinda a let-down. It was exciting when Becca found Derric, but the plot got dragged out to much, and was buried under other problems. I liked the idea of Rejoice, that was sweet, but Derric did the classic 'blame yourself' thing, and it didn't work that well.

I think Becca over reacted to a lot of things, and sometimes took things to seriously. Running away from the Sheriff is often not best solution, especially if she did nothing wrong involving Derric. I know that she was worried about her father, but running away draws way to much attention to herself than telling the police what had happened. She also didn't do things for herself, and dragged others into her mess, like Seth.

The ending was a big let down. Derric is older than Becca, who was 14, and it just went to fast, especially since it was the end of the book. So much was left unsolved, and we didn't get to know some things that I really wanted to know, like what happened to Hayley's father, and why Diana didn't have whispers. To much things weren't explained, and that saddened me greatly.
Good Points
-I liked the mystery with Derric, it got me thinking.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...

Latest Member Reviews

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
We Are All His Creatures: Tales of P. T. Barnum, the Greatest Showman
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
Ink in the Blood (Ink in the Blood Duology #1)
 
4.3
"INK IN THE BLOOD is an engaging and atmospheric YA fantasy. Celia Sand was delighted when she was chosen to..."
What I Want You to See
 
4.0
"WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE is an interesting book that discusses homelessness, choices and their intersection with privilege, as..."
The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School
 
4.7
"'The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School' by Kristin Mahoney is an endearing look at an often hard time..."
 
4.0
"The insatiable oasis will hunt down the thieves of this book and tear them apart, limb by limb, devouring their..."
All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1)
 
5.0
"ALL THE STARS AND TEETH is an imaginative and lush YA fantasy that transports the reader to a fascinating new..."
Wardens of Eternity
 
3.0
"WARDENS OF ETERNITY follows Ziva, a young woman who was abandoned as a toddler, became a ward of the state,..."
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
 
4.3
"THE HAND ON THE WALL is a thrilling conclusion to the TRULY DEVIOUS series. Here, the students are at Ellingham,..."