The Edge of Nowhere

Featured
 
4.3 (2)
 
3.3 (1)
2010 0
The Edge of Nowhere
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 04, 2012
ISBN
978-0670012961
Buy This Book
      

Whidbey Island may be only a ferry ride from Seattle, but it's a world apart. When Becca King arrives there, she doesn't suspect the island will become her home for the next four years. Put at risk by her ability to hear "whispers"--the thoughts of others--Becca is on the run from her stepfather, whose criminal activities she has discovered. Stranded and alone, Becca is soon befriended by Derric, a Ugandan orphan adopted by a local family; Seth, a kindhearted musician and high school dropout; Debbie, a recovering alcoholic who takes her in; and Diana, with whom Becca shares a mysterious psychic connection.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

An engaging plot and excellent tension make this perfect for mystery lovers
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
The Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George follows young Becca King, a girl who can hear thoughts of others as she hides from her murderous stepfather on Whidbey Island. The mind reading paranormal element is interesting, and the author does a wonderful job of mixing teen angst and uncertainty alongside such a power. Becca is a well-rounded protagonist whose voice and actions, shown through third person narration, fits her age and situation perfectly. She is still growing into herself while she faces dangerous situations none would envy. Her gradual attempts in learning to trust people are endearing and will clearly lead to further character development as this series continues.

Surrounding Becca are extremely well done secondary characters. Though Derric doesn’t receive as much dialogue as other characters, he is nicely set up with an ideal amount of intrigue. Seth, Hayley, and Jenn all are distinctive and complex in their own right, and the mysteries behind each of their secrets will keep readers turning the pages well into the night. Seth’s grandfather, Ralph, offers several chances for a smile or two during the heat of the mysteries.

What shines in this novel is the plot. Twists, turns, and jaw-dropping surprises frequent the chapters. The mystery behind the island accident leaves most questions answered, while other mysteries are left in suspense for more books. The tension throughout the story is gripping and engaging, something mystery and suspense fans will greatly appreciate.

As much as I enjoyed the characters and plot, some areas of the writing feel weak. The dialogue comes across as a bit awkward and stiff at times, though the shifts in character focuses are handled well. The writing in the beginning doesn’t seem to match the flow of the second half, but the plot is definitely engaging enough to keep the reader invested.

Fans of Lauren Oliver’s Vanishing Girls and James Patterson’s Confessions of a Murder Suspect series will find an exciting and engaging plot with complex characters in The Edge of Nowhere. The minor paranormal elements offer a refreshing twist for readers who like their suspense and mystery with a little something extra.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oh my WOW.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Um. Wow. I literally cannot believe how good this book turned out to be. It was completely unexpected. At 448 pages, I definitely did not think it would take me ONE DAY to finish, but I could not stop. Even though I was exhausted and sick all weekend, I took every opportunity I could to get this story in my head and find out what happens. The characters are gripping--and honestly, the main character, Becca, is probably the least exciting of all, even though she herself is quite an incredible character. Her circumstances have landed her on Whidbey Island, a remote island off the coast of Washington state. Her paranormal abilities to hear bits and pieces of the thoughts of others have given her a difficult fate. Plus, she finds herself alone and on her own on this island at the tender age of fourteen. But the wisdom that has come to her through learning to deal with her gift has made her a special, kind, and thoughtful person, well beyond her years. She's real.

So are all the people she befriends in her search for help on Whidbey. Each one of them is wrapped up together in the way only small-town folk can be. Each person has a tragic or secret or tangled history that Becca must unravel in order to continue to protect herself and her friends. This book actually reminded me of a middle-grade book I read just a few months ago--The Secret Tree--because it had so many profound things to teach about people and life through discovering the answers to people's hidden thoughts. Because of that, it ends up being a story you just cannot shake off and cannot forget. These people's stories and struggles are powerful and well-worth exploring, even if they're fictional. Learning about them will help any teenager (or adult!)learn about what it means to misjudge others and what to do when you've done so. Though my review does not do it justice, this book has been added to my list of MUST READS.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
The Edge of Nowhere
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
This book was meant to be a mystery book, and I assumed that the main character might make an effort to actually solve the mystery, instead she hid away in a motel and a run-down bar. Becca to me didn't seem a very strong protagonist, she didn't try to do anything, most of the time she relied on the other characters, like Seth, and often dragged them into the mess that she created.

I liked the mystery that revolved around Derric's accident, but the truth was kinda a let-down. It was exciting when Becca found Derric, but the plot got dragged out to much, and was buried under other problems. I liked the idea of Rejoice, that was sweet, but Derric did the classic 'blame yourself' thing, and it didn't work that well.

I think Becca over reacted to a lot of things, and sometimes took things to seriously. Running away from the Sheriff is often not best solution, especially if she did nothing wrong involving Derric. I know that she was worried about her father, but running away draws way to much attention to herself than telling the police what had happened. She also didn't do things for herself, and dragged others into her mess, like Seth.

The ending was a big let down. Derric is older than Becca, who was 14, and it just went to fast, especially since it was the end of the book. So much was left unsolved, and we didn't get to know some things that I really wanted to know, like what happened to Hayley's father, and why Diana didn't have whispers. To much things weren't explained, and that saddened me greatly.
Good Points
-I liked the mystery with Derric, it got me thinking.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Esme’s life changes when she discovers dinosaur bones on...
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join these happy pumpkins in a cheerful rhyming countdown, in...
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Set on the shores of Lake Superior, Wreck follows high...
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Benji and Red couldn't be more different. They aren't friends....
Wintercake
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This cozy, gently humorous, and irresistible holiday tale from Newbery...
Roar Like a Dandelion
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Ruth Krauss, the celebrated children’s book author of The...
The Bear and the Star
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
In this universal celebration of community and love, Bear gathers...
I Do Not Like That Name
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This funny picture book about friendship, family, identity, and why...

Latest Member Reviews

Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."
Reverie
 
5.0
"REVERIE is a captivating and unique YA fantasy without adequate comparisons. The book follows Kane, a teenage boy who was..."
Coral
 
3.0
"CORAL is not a fairytale retelling of THE LITTLE MERMAID- while it may have been inspired by some of the..."
You Are The Everything
 
4.0
"YOU ARE THE EVERYTHING is an intriguing stream-of-consciousness style read that follows Elyse Schmidt, a 16/17 year old girl who..."
The Last Hope
 
4.7
"I honestly don’t know where to begin! The Last Hope by Krista & Becca Ritchie picks up thirty days after..."
 
4.0
"Most books about a school shooting would start with the horrific event at the center of story, but EVERY MOMENT..."
The Bone Houses
 
5.0
"THE BONE HOUSES is a beautifully crafted and full engrossing YA fantasy with some horror aspects. Aderyn (Ryn) is a..."
The Silence Between Us
 
4.7
"THE SILENCE BETWEEN US is an #ownvoices story about Maya, a senior in high school who has just moved with..."
Beasts of the Frozen Sun
 
4.7
"BEASTS OF THE FROZEN SUN features lush world-building, compelling characters, and a captivating plot that make it an engrossing read...."
Snow & Rose
 
5.0
"NOTE: Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own."
Where I End and You Begin
 
4.0
"All Ezra wants to do is ask his crush Imogen to the prom. But when he and his friend Holden..."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
"When Edie moves back to Mansfield to life with her aunt, uncle, and two cousins, she is reunited with her..."
The Beholder
 
4.0
"When Selah's proposal to her childhood crush is rejected, she is sent away on a boat to meet possible suitors...."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
5.0
"THE BURNING SHADOW is a fantastic and thrilling continuation of the spin-off Origin series. Just like the original series, there..."
Gods of Jade and Shadow
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Casiopea feels trapped in her rich grandfather’s home in southern Mexico. She wants to leave their small town and..."
 
3.0
"THE HIVE by Barry Lyga and Morgan Baden is a YA sci-fi novel set in the near future. In this..."
Remember Me
 
3.7
"REMEMBER ME is an engaging mystery/thriller that goes back and forth through time. We follow Lea in the past when..."