The Edge of Nowhere

Featured
 
4.3 (2)
 
3.3 (1)
2991 0
The Edge of Nowhere
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 04, 2012
ISBN
978-0670012961
Buy This Book
      

Whidbey Island may be only a ferry ride from Seattle, but it's a world apart. When Becca King arrives there, she doesn't suspect the island will become her home for the next four years. Put at risk by her ability to hear "whispers"--the thoughts of others--Becca is on the run from her stepfather, whose criminal activities she has discovered. Stranded and alone, Becca is soon befriended by Derric, a Ugandan orphan adopted by a local family; Seth, a kindhearted musician and high school dropout; Debbie, a recovering alcoholic who takes her in; and Diana, with whom Becca shares a mysterious psychic connection.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

An engaging plot and excellent tension make this perfect for mystery lovers
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
The Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George follows young Becca King, a girl who can hear thoughts of others as she hides from her murderous stepfather on Whidbey Island. The mind reading paranormal element is interesting, and the author does a wonderful job of mixing teen angst and uncertainty alongside such a power. Becca is a well-rounded protagonist whose voice and actions, shown through third person narration, fits her age and situation perfectly. She is still growing into herself while she faces dangerous situations none would envy. Her gradual attempts in learning to trust people are endearing and will clearly lead to further character development as this series continues.

Surrounding Becca are extremely well done secondary characters. Though Derric doesn’t receive as much dialogue as other characters, he is nicely set up with an ideal amount of intrigue. Seth, Hayley, and Jenn all are distinctive and complex in their own right, and the mysteries behind each of their secrets will keep readers turning the pages well into the night. Seth’s grandfather, Ralph, offers several chances for a smile or two during the heat of the mysteries.

What shines in this novel is the plot. Twists, turns, and jaw-dropping surprises frequent the chapters. The mystery behind the island accident leaves most questions answered, while other mysteries are left in suspense for more books. The tension throughout the story is gripping and engaging, something mystery and suspense fans will greatly appreciate.

As much as I enjoyed the characters and plot, some areas of the writing feel weak. The dialogue comes across as a bit awkward and stiff at times, though the shifts in character focuses are handled well. The writing in the beginning doesn’t seem to match the flow of the second half, but the plot is definitely engaging enough to keep the reader invested.

Fans of Lauren Oliver’s Vanishing Girls and James Patterson’s Confessions of a Murder Suspect series will find an exciting and engaging plot with complex characters in The Edge of Nowhere. The minor paranormal elements offer a refreshing twist for readers who like their suspense and mystery with a little something extra.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oh my WOW.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Um. Wow. I literally cannot believe how good this book turned out to be. It was completely unexpected. At 448 pages, I definitely did not think it would take me ONE DAY to finish, but I could not stop. Even though I was exhausted and sick all weekend, I took every opportunity I could to get this story in my head and find out what happens. The characters are gripping--and honestly, the main character, Becca, is probably the least exciting of all, even though she herself is quite an incredible character. Her circumstances have landed her on Whidbey Island, a remote island off the coast of Washington state. Her paranormal abilities to hear bits and pieces of the thoughts of others have given her a difficult fate. Plus, she finds herself alone and on her own on this island at the tender age of fourteen. But the wisdom that has come to her through learning to deal with her gift has made her a special, kind, and thoughtful person, well beyond her years. She's real.

So are all the people she befriends in her search for help on Whidbey. Each one of them is wrapped up together in the way only small-town folk can be. Each person has a tragic or secret or tangled history that Becca must unravel in order to continue to protect herself and her friends. This book actually reminded me of a middle-grade book I read just a few months ago--The Secret Tree--because it had so many profound things to teach about people and life through discovering the answers to people's hidden thoughts. Because of that, it ends up being a story you just cannot shake off and cannot forget. These people's stories and struggles are powerful and well-worth exploring, even if they're fictional. Learning about them will help any teenager (or adult!)learn about what it means to misjudge others and what to do when you've done so. Though my review does not do it justice, this book has been added to my list of MUST READS.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
The Edge of Nowhere
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
This book was meant to be a mystery book, and I assumed that the main character might make an effort to actually solve the mystery, instead she hid away in a motel and a run-down bar. Becca to me didn't seem a very strong protagonist, she didn't try to do anything, most of the time she relied on the other characters, like Seth, and often dragged them into the mess that she created.

I liked the mystery that revolved around Derric's accident, but the truth was kinda a let-down. It was exciting when Becca found Derric, but the plot got dragged out to much, and was buried under other problems. I liked the idea of Rejoice, that was sweet, but Derric did the classic 'blame yourself' thing, and it didn't work that well.

I think Becca over reacted to a lot of things, and sometimes took things to seriously. Running away from the Sheriff is often not best solution, especially if she did nothing wrong involving Derric. I know that she was worried about her father, but running away draws way to much attention to herself than telling the police what had happened. She also didn't do things for herself, and dragged others into her mess, like Seth.

The ending was a big let down. Derric is older than Becca, who was 14, and it just went to fast, especially since it was the end of the book. So much was left unsolved, and we didn't get to know some things that I really wanted to know, like what happened to Hayley's father, and why Diana didn't have whispers. To much things weren't explained, and that saddened me greatly.
Good Points
-I liked the mystery with Derric, it got me thinking.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her job is to keep their secrets safe. ...
City of the Plague God
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents CITY OF THE PLAGUE GOD,...
The Shadow War
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and thrilling...
The Valley and the Flood
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose Colter is almost home, but she can't go back...
Don't Tell A Soul
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stay up all night with this modern day Rebecca! Perfect...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
58 Farm End: a twisted romantic crime thriller series (Book...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beatrice Walker thought she lived in a normal world—that is...
Crying is Like the Rain: A Story of Mindfulness and Feelings
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A gentle metaphor for understanding and processing anxiety and sadness....
The Brass Queen
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She knows a liar when she sees one. ...
The Final Chance
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Friends no matter what. At least that's what Beth Ann...
Wylder and the Almost Rockstar
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How much trouble does it take to forget the boy...
Wylder and the Secret Rockstar
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How much trouble does it take to forget your summer...
Nubia: Real One
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you be a hero...if society doesn't see you as...
Mary: The Adventures of Mary Shelley's Great-Great-Great-Great-Great-Granddaughter
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Angsty teenager Mary Shelley is not interested in carrying on...
Cursed: The Girl Who Shook the Earth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
I’m just another girl who survived foster care. Nothing special....
The Obsession
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A classic sort of love story...except somebody might wind up...

Latest Member Reviews

The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."
The Raven and the Dove
 
4.0
"An intriguing tale of forbidden love as two young lovers fight to stay together. Well written and entertaining. ..."
The Devil's Apprentice
 
4.5
"This was actually a pretty interesting story. At first I really wasn't sure how it was going to go so..."
Heart Sister
 
4.8
"The story: When Emmitt’s twin sister Minnie dies in a tragic accident, it cripples not only him..."
Mastery of Earth (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 3)
 
5.0
"Oh the feels this book gave me. Davi's officially back but still not really? His memories are all over the..."
Glass Princess
 
5.0
"This second entry was good, well technically fifth. I am really glad that the story picked up right after the..."
Depths: A Tale of the Little Mermaid
 
3.8
"Set in a Greek/Roman era, where not only one but three worlds are colliding, Arianna is a human girl who..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Rebel Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows main characters Harper and Mitchell as they have to find a..."