Erasing Time

Featured
 
4.0
 
5.0 (2)
1934 1
Erasing Time
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 28, 2012
ISBN
0062123920
Buy This Book
      
In this high-action and romantic futuristic adventure, there is no escape from the future for two contemporary girls pulled out of their own time.

When twins Sheridan and Taylor wake up 400 years in the future, they find a changed world: domed cities, no animals, and a language that’s so different, it barely sounds like English. And the worst news: They can’t go back home.

The twenty-fifth-century government transported the girls to their city hoping to find a famous scientist to help perfect a devastating new weapon. The moblike Dakine fights against the government, and somehow Taylor and Sheridan find themselves in the middle. The only way to elude them all is to trust Echo, a guy with secrets of his own. The trio must put their faith in the unknown to make a harrowing escape into the wilds beyond the city.

Full of adrenaline-injected chases and heartbreaking confessions, Erasing Time explores the strength of the bonds between twins, the risks and rewards of trust, and the hard road to finding the courage to fight for what you believe in

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Entertaining!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Loved:

The world building in this book is simply flawless. From the evolved language to the setting to the customs of a society 400 years in the future, every single second felt absolutely believable to me. I really appreciated that the author put so much thought into her world. It was also fun to see the people in the future fail to understand all the strange slang and idioms we use freely now. The dystopian-ness of the setting also felt natural and authentic, and though we get just a hint of what's outside the city's walls, I hope future books explore that further!

I also enjoyed the plot. There were lulls here and there, but overall, this book kept me thoroughly interested and moved along at a pretty fast pace. There are secrets, misunderstandings, danger, betrayal, and sacrifice--pretty awesome ingredients for a compelling plot.

What Left Me Wanting More:

The romance just didn't do it for me until the very end of the book. It felt super rushed, very uneven, and I just didn't feel that insta-love connection the characters seemed to feel. I also felt that the information about secrets and background and clues was delivered unevenly. Sometimes a bombshell would be rushed and sort of glossed over, and sometimes it felt like we were treading endlessly in the "I can't tell you anything so just trust me even though we just met" cycle, and that got a bit tedious at times.

Verdict:

Erasing Time is a compelling story set in a fascinating future world. Readers who love adventure over romance, or who don't mind waiting a long time for pieces to fall into place, will really enjoy this. I know I'm looking forward to reading the sequel!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters 
 
5.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Erasing Time
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
You know how when a book is good, like really good, you completely stop the rest of your life for it?
Like instead of grocery shopping or looking for a job, you just sit on the swing outside and read. And the weather is wonderful and you could be relaxing in the pool, but you’d rather sit beside the pool and dive into a book like your life depends on it.
Yeah, this is totally that book.
I completely forgot the environment around me and was thrown into Erasing Time. It took some time to get the feel for the book. Third person POV always distracts me! Ugh, I don’t know what my problem with it is, but I don’t enjoy reading it.
However, once the action and adventure started, I was hooked. Line and sinker.
There are constant twists and happenings. Once I would decide that this was that, I was immediately proved wrong.
Surprises. Everywhere.
Shocking surprises that made me grin, laugh, and cry all at the same time!

So yeah, this turned out to be way better than I expected. Great character development, great sci-fi adventures. Dystopian is becoming my new favorite craving.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Awesome.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
You know how when a book is good, like really good, you completely stop the rest of your life for it?
Like instead of grocery shopping or looking for a job, you just sit on the swing outside and read. And the weather is wonderful and you could be relaxing in the pool, but you’d rather sit beside the pool and dive into a book like your life depends on it.
Yeah, this is totally that book.
I completely forgot the environment around me and was thrown into Erasing Time. It took some time to get the feel for the book. Third person POV always distracts me! Ugh, I don’t know what my problem with it is, but I don’t enjoy reading it.
However, once the action and adventure started, I was hooked. Line and sinker.
There are constant twists and happenings. Once I would decide that this was that, I was immediately proved wrong.
Surprises. Everywhere.
Shocking surprises that made me grin, laugh, and cry all at the same time!

So yeah, this turned out to be way better than I expected. Great character development, great sci-fi adventures. Dystopian is becoming my new favorite craving.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."