The Dark Light

Featured
 
5.0
 
4.3 (1)
3190 1
The Dark Light
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 28, 2012
ISBN
978-1442434554
Buy This Book
      
Mia is torn between two guys—and two worlds—in this epic, romantic fantasy.
Mysterious lights have flickered above Crownsville for as long as Mia can remember. And as far as she’s concerned, that’s about the only interesting thing to happen in her small town.

That is, until Sol arrives. Mia’s not one to fall for just any guy, but she can’t get Sol—or the brilliant tattoo on his back—out of her mind.

Then Mia’s brother goes missing, and Mia’s convinced that Sol knows more than he’s sharing. But getting closer to Sol means reevaluating everything Mia once believed to be true. Because Sol’s not who Mia thought he was—and neither is she.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

An Epic Debut
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The Dark Light by Sara Walsh is one of those all around awesome type of books. I loved every page - it was enticing, lovely, and completely fresh and new.

Sara Walsh's world was fascinating. I was utterly captivated and loved finding out all the pieces of the puzzle alongside Mia. The Dark Light of a wonderful blend of fantasies and I loved it.

The plot was SO GOOD! I loved that there was romance, but it was more downplayed. It was an aspect of the story but it wasn't completely front and center. I could never guess what was going to happen next.

The characters were wonderful. I loved Willie - she absolutely cracked me up. Mia was such a fantastic main character - she was very real and so easy to relate to. I loved Sol and how mysterious he was. Delane was a complete hoot.

I simply cannot wait to see more from Sara Walsh in the future! The Dark Light was an absolute winner for me - I am already counting down until I get another book from her! Sara Walsh is a rising star in YA and I cannot see wait to see where she goes next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Don't Let That Cover Deceive You!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
THE RUN-DOWN
In Crownsville, and the surrounding towns, boys around the age of ten are disappearing. When Mia's brother becomes one of them she'll do whatever she can to get him back. All she knows is that her brother disappeared in a strange flash of light and that the new student at school, Sol, knows more than he says. With the help of Sol, she'll try to find her brother and discover that everything is not as it seems...

MY OPINION
This book took me completely by surprise.
Based on both the cover and the synopsis, I was expecting a generic paranormal read.
The cover is the usual paranormal cover.
And in the synopsis we have both a hint of a love triangle and a hot new guy that the main character yearns for, both of these scream "generic paranormal read".

Let's make this clear:
1. This is not a paranormal read
This is more of a fantasy read than a paranormal read. It not only has a fantasy feel to it, but it's nothing like your usual fantasy novel. Meaning: this is not your generic book.
2. There is no love triangle
I have no idea who wrote that into the synopsis, but they're completely off the mark.
"Mia is torn between two guys and two worlds in this epic, romantic fantasy."
Mia is not torn between two guys, she likes only one guy. There is a brief "relationship" at the beginning of the book, but that relationship does not carry on into the story and is, in fact, never mentioned again.

Now that we got that out the way, I can say that I very much enjoyed this book. It definitely exceeded my expectations. I went into this book fully expecting the usual paranormal read. Since I have been disliking paranormal reads lately, I thought that this was to be added to the pile. The switch in genre expectations (from paranormal to fantasy) was not the only surprise. The entire storyline was unexpected!

I know, I know, I'm being extremely vague in this review, but the truth is, I can only say so much without giving away the plot. The surprise in the plot was one of the things I loved most about this book. I do not want to give the surprise away. I loved being surprised, I want you to be surprised too.

IN CONCLUSION
This was a very unexpected read. I loved the fantasy elements, the imagination in it, and the surprise that came with it.
I definitely recommend this book and am looking forward to what Sara Walsh will write next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… ...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The...
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Being a part of the resistance group La Voz...
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
12-year-old Julia keeps a diary about her life growing...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more...
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Violet Choudhury may be part of the popular clique...
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this electrifying YA sequel to Beware the Night,...
Something New
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cassie Briggs never thought she’d be married at age sixteen—especially...
Crave
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
My whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy....
I Love You, Daddy (Peter Rabbit)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable rhyming Peter Rabbit book that celebrates dads everywhere....
Morning, Sunshine!
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
As we all wake up, the outside world bustles with...

Latest Member Reviews

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
"Now that Mena and the other girls have escaped Innovations Academy, they find their past hasn't left them. Mena vows..."
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
"THE LUCKY ONES is quite an emotional ride. The book follows May and Zach in alternating first person points-of-view. May..."
 
4.0
"GIRL, SERPENT, THORN is a YA fairytale retelling by Melissa Bashardoust. The story follows Soraya, a princess who is cursed..."
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
"MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT is a book that reminds readers of all the possibilities and freedom of summer vacation. We..."
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
"SWORD IN THE STARS is a satisfying conclusion to a delightful YA fantasy retelling of King Arthur in space! Picking..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
4.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION by Kiersten White is the first book in a YA retelling of the classic Arthurian legend. Guinevere,..."
Crave
 
4.3
"CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents..."
Golden Arm
 
5.0
"Lazarus Weathers lives in the Jet City trailer park in Seattle with his mother and half brother, Antonio. He has..."
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
"EMBER QUEEN is a great conclusion to the Ash Princess trilogy. Picking up right where book 2 left off, Theo..."
Kissing Lessons
 
5.0
"'Kissing Lessons' by Sophie Jordan is a well-written, entertaining story about a variety of main characters, including Hayden Vargas, Nolan..."
Lady Smoke (Ash Princess, #2)
 
5.0
"LADY SMOKE is every bit as addictive as the first in this engrossing trilogy. Picking up where the first book..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
4.0
"The Queen's Assassin is a fantasy romance geared toward the younger YA reader. It is told from the first person..."
Ash Princess (Ash Princess, #1)
 
5.0
"ASH PRINCESS is an engaging YA fantasy that takes us to the conquered land of Astrea. Theodosia's mother, the Fire..."
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
"At age twelve, Julia starts writing in a diary. She writes about what she witnesses in her town of Juarez,..."
Sting
 
3.3
"STING is an intriguing YA dystopian retelling of THE COUNT OF MONTE CHRISTO. The world has been ravaged by climate..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.0
"The Paper Girl of Paris is written by journalist Jordyn Taylor and is set in both historical 1940’s and nowadays..."
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
5.0
"THE MIDNIGHT LIE is a lush and atmospheric YA fantasy. The book transports us to another world, where people are..."
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
"DEFY THE SUN is a fantastic conclusion to this YA fantasy duology. This book picks up right where the first..."
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
"Carmen Santos cover as a La Voz soldier has been exposed. She flees back to the La Voz's headquarters, leaving..."
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
"Blackbrook Academy is an elite school in Maine with rigorous competition. When a storm strikes, a group of students, their..."