The Dark Light

Featured
 
5.0
 
4.3 (1)
3010 1
The Dark Light
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 28, 2012
ISBN
978-1442434554
Buy This Book
      
Mia is torn between two guys—and two worlds—in this epic, romantic fantasy.
Mysterious lights have flickered above Crownsville for as long as Mia can remember. And as far as she’s concerned, that’s about the only interesting thing to happen in her small town.

That is, until Sol arrives. Mia’s not one to fall for just any guy, but she can’t get Sol—or the brilliant tattoo on his back—out of her mind.

Then Mia’s brother goes missing, and Mia’s convinced that Sol knows more than he’s sharing. But getting closer to Sol means reevaluating everything Mia once believed to be true. Because Sol’s not who Mia thought he was—and neither is she.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

An Epic Debut
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The Dark Light by Sara Walsh is one of those all around awesome type of books. I loved every page - it was enticing, lovely, and completely fresh and new.

Sara Walsh's world was fascinating. I was utterly captivated and loved finding out all the pieces of the puzzle alongside Mia. The Dark Light of a wonderful blend of fantasies and I loved it.

The plot was SO GOOD! I loved that there was romance, but it was more downplayed. It was an aspect of the story but it wasn't completely front and center. I could never guess what was going to happen next.

The characters were wonderful. I loved Willie - she absolutely cracked me up. Mia was such a fantastic main character - she was very real and so easy to relate to. I loved Sol and how mysterious he was. Delane was a complete hoot.

I simply cannot wait to see more from Sara Walsh in the future! The Dark Light was an absolute winner for me - I am already counting down until I get another book from her! Sara Walsh is a rising star in YA and I cannot see wait to see where she goes next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Don't Let That Cover Deceive You!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
THE RUN-DOWN
In Crownsville, and the surrounding towns, boys around the age of ten are disappearing. When Mia's brother becomes one of them she'll do whatever she can to get him back. All she knows is that her brother disappeared in a strange flash of light and that the new student at school, Sol, knows more than he says. With the help of Sol, she'll try to find her brother and discover that everything is not as it seems...

MY OPINION
This book took me completely by surprise.
Based on both the cover and the synopsis, I was expecting a generic paranormal read.
The cover is the usual paranormal cover.
And in the synopsis we have both a hint of a love triangle and a hot new guy that the main character yearns for, both of these scream "generic paranormal read".

Let's make this clear:
1. This is not a paranormal read
This is more of a fantasy read than a paranormal read. It not only has a fantasy feel to it, but it's nothing like your usual fantasy novel. Meaning: this is not your generic book.
2. There is no love triangle
I have no idea who wrote that into the synopsis, but they're completely off the mark.
"Mia is torn between two guys and two worlds in this epic, romantic fantasy."
Mia is not torn between two guys, she likes only one guy. There is a brief "relationship" at the beginning of the book, but that relationship does not carry on into the story and is, in fact, never mentioned again.

Now that we got that out the way, I can say that I very much enjoyed this book. It definitely exceeded my expectations. I went into this book fully expecting the usual paranormal read. Since I have been disliking paranormal reads lately, I thought that this was to be added to the pile. The switch in genre expectations (from paranormal to fantasy) was not the only surprise. The entire storyline was unexpected!

I know, I know, I'm being extremely vague in this review, but the truth is, I can only say so much without giving away the plot. The surprise in the plot was one of the things I loved most about this book. I do not want to give the surprise away. I loved being surprised, I want you to be surprised too.

IN CONCLUSION
This was a very unexpected read. I loved the fantasy elements, the imagination in it, and the surprise that came with it.
I definitely recommend this book and am looking forward to what Sara Walsh will write next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sage Sassafras’s life is cursed! No, really. Since birth, Sage...
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can Kit’s super-weird superpower save her world? ...
The Brokenhearted
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
teenage girl is transformed into a reluctant superhero and...
Brave Enough
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Teenager Cason Martin is the youngest ballerina in the Atlanta...
I Wanna Be Where You Are
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Chloe Pierce’s mom forbids her to apply for a...
The Moment We Fell (Mystic Shores Series, Book #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nothing good happens when people keep secrets. ...
The Hit List
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Los Angeles Conservatory for the Arts is supposed to...
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious illustrated middle grade series for reluctant readers starring...
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a hilarious heavily illustrated middle-grade series...
Small World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Nanda is born, the whole of her world is...
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
When school is out, it’s time to celebrate and have...
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An instant New York Times bestseller! ...
Bad Bella
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bella is the very best dog a family could ask...
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hello! Justice League here. Ask us anything! ...
Cracking the Bell
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Friday Night Lights meets Concussion in this powerful and important...
Ghosts of Lock Tower
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A haunted tower, an evil ghost, a monster spawned from...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"Sage lives out west in the town of Goldview, and her family is cursed. Years ago, her mother and her..."
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
Small World
 
5.0
"SMALL WORLD is a gorgeous celebration of growing up and following your dreams. When Nanda was born, her world was..."
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
"ON THE FIRST DAY OF SUMMER VACATION uses the tune of The 12 Days of Christmas to present the fun..."
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
"Budding scientists, rejoice! The Questioneers is the perfect series to show you the how and to have some extra scientific..."
Bad Bella
 
4.0
"Bella lives with the McBrides, who have several small children and often forget Bella's needs. She gets in trouble for..."
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
"In this short, middle grade graphic novel, DC superheroes from the Justice League answer e mails from young fans. Superman..."
Shake It Off! (Wish #8)
 
4.0
"Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided..."
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
"This episode of THE BAD GUYS has the crew planning for a way to stop the aliens and help the..."
Not if I Can Help It
 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
Emily Out of Focus
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."