Elixir (Covenant Series #3.5)

FeaturedHot
 
5.0
 
4.9 (3)
3538 1
Elixir (Covenant Series #3.5)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
November 27, 2012
ISBN
9781937053413
Buy This Book
      
Aiden St. Delphi will do anything to save Alex.

Even if it means doing the one thing he will never forgive himself for.

Even if it means making war against the gods.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

OhMyAiden
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
"There is love, which means there is always hope." (Yes. This.)

Holy Half-bloods, I didn't think it was possible to love Aiden St. Delphi any more than I did but OH.MY.AIDEN! I have been anxiously awaiting this novella for several reasons, the most obvious being, this is Aiden's POV. (Duh!) AIDEN! *shakes you to make sure you're paying attention* the uber hot Sentinel whose always so guarded (no pun intended) with his feelings and having the chance to get inside his head and heart is better than winning the lottery!

Let me back up a second and say, if you haven't read DEITY yet, DO NOT READ this until you do! Why? Because it picks up right where DEITY leaves off and you will have missed out on all the important things! (You may also want to STOP reading this review.)

Elixir is the perfect addition to The Covenant Series and not just because it's Aiden's POV. (If you can't tell, I'm Team Aiden) It has all of the elements I love so much like humor, romance and action, although the action in this novella is more the battle Aiden wages with himself. He feels responsible for what's happening to Alex yet helpless to fix it but a little comic relief is never far away, especially when his brother Deacon is around.

"I know." Deacon grinned. "I'm just awesome."

"And modest." ~ Aiden

Surrounded by others who are concerned for Alex as well as the fate of the human race, Aiden seems to be the only one determined not to give up on her or give in to the fear. His struggle to do what's best for Alex, despite her new split personality, is both endearing and heart-wrenching. *clutches chest* But he is determined to protect her no matter the cost and he doesn't shy away from encouraging her to fight because he knows what Alex is made of, what she can do. He wants to help her overcome this change that is threatening to rob her of who she is even if it means risking his own life to do it.

Time is running out and a war is brewing but you know what, if war is what the gods want, then I say, "BRING IT ON!" *hides behind Aiden*
Good Points
Aiden. LOTS of Aiden!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.9
Plot 
 
4.7  (3)
Characters 
 
5.0  (3)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Love This Series
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
This was so refreshing, to see a little snippet into the almost perfect Aiden's head, we get to see how truly hard it was for him to give Alex the Elixir and it also gives more insight into why he said he would never forgive himself. To see Alex this way was so sad and yet... kind of cute in a sick way. I don't know where I'm trying to take this but I enjoyed this novella and wished it was longer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Good Gods, Best Novella I've EVER Read.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Steph’s Mini Review:

This has to be one of the best novella’s I’ve ever read. It probably is the best. In less than 80 pages, Jen is able to show us a whole new side and perspective of Aiden’s character. From all of the other books in the Covenant series, we see Aiden in Alex’s POV. He seems perfect, calm, and collected. Her prince and knight in shining armor.

Yeah, Aiden doesn’t exactly view himself quite that way. He is much more complex than anyone could have guessed, and he has his own internal struggles to face even though he needs to be out there to support Alex, especially after the events in Deity. He is...much more aggressive than I thought he was. It was also nice to see Aiden’s perspective of Alex, which is comparable to Alex’s view on Aiden :). You mean he’s a total perv. He’s like: OMG ALEX’S LEGS ARE SO....PURTY.

I think the thing I liked most about this novella was that it actually had a plot (shocker right?). I am pretty picky when it comes to novellas, because I think that if an author actually intends to write one, they should do all they can to make it on par with everything else in the series. In Elixir, all of the important characters from the Covenant series are present, and stuff actually happens with Aiden and Alex. Even this little novella had the twists that we know JLA so well for. If you read Elixir, you would definitely get more information about the brewing war. It picks up right after the torturous Deity ending, and covers the span of about a month There is a reason why this novella is named “Elixir”. ;)

It is a great Covenant installment, and definitely isn’t something you should skip over! Sometimes you can skip novellas in a series and still be okay, but I think it’s really beneficial to actually read Elixir. Plus, it helps feed your never ending thirst (or at least my never ending thirst AND DANI’S) for more of Covenant. Can’t wait for Apollyon to come out in April!!!
Good Points
Aiden.
Aiden's love for Alex.
Aiden standing up for Alex.
Deacon. He's hilarious.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Elixir by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
(Warning: If you have not read Deity, you will not understand this novella!)

Where to start?! Of course I LOVED it because everyone knows I LOVE Aiden. But this novella from his POV was very hard to read. It was gut wrenching and I felt so bad for him. He was very emotional and I wanted to crawl in the book and comfort him myself. It was a nice change to be in his mind and see the love he has for Alex. He is no doubt the most wonderful, sweetest book boyfriend ever.
I also felt bad for Alex. Although she was being a certified crazy person, none of it was her fault. I don't believe that anything she did was her for a minute. Then when she had that "breakthrough," I really felt bad because I even knew it wouldn't last. Watching as she goes through this is like slamming my finger in the door time after time after time. It hurts. She was so strong and him taking her over like this makes her seem like a weakened, broken shell and I HATED it.
But overall, this was a great installment to the Covenant series. A war is brewing and Aiden seems to be the only one not reacting to the fear of the Apolloyons. He seems to see what everyone else does not, all for Alex's sake.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."