League of Strays

Featured
 
0.0
 
2.2 (2)
1913 0
League of Strays
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
October 01, 2012
ISBN
1419704036
Buy This Book
      
This suspenseful debut follows a group of teenage misfits in their delicious quest for revenge on those who have wronged them at their high school. When a mysterious note appears in Charlotte’s mailbox inviting her to join the League of Strays, she’s hopeful it will lead to making friends. What she discovers is a motley crew of loners and an alluring, manipulative ringleader named Kade. Kade convinces the group that they need one another both for friendship and to get back at the classmates and teachers who have betrayed them. But Kade has a bigger agenda. In addition to vandalizing their school and causing fights between other students, Kade’s real intention is a dangerous plot that will threaten lives and force Charlotte to choose between her loyalty to the League and her own conscience.

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.2
Plot 
 
2.0  (2)
Characters 
 
2.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
2.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
review by Jump Into Books
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
Wow, so where do I start? Well, I can honestly say that this book is not at all what I expected. I was intrigued by the cover at first. Just his eyes were enough to pull me in. Then I read the blurb on the back cover...I thought that this would be a pretty good read. And don't get me wrong, it was good, but it wasn't as great as I thought that it would be.

The writer is very articulate and the way they wrote this, it was not hard to imagine everything. I enjoy a book where you can visualize the story unfolding. If I can't visualize it, it's lost to me. Unfortunately for me, I had to put this book down a few times in the beginning before I could finally get lost into this book.

The characters are complex, but that's what brings this story to life. At first Kade's motives are questionable, but soon realize that there is something more to the story. Once the story starts to unfold we start to see the struggles the characters have to face and what Charlotte will do to try to stop them.

Charlotte's character is actually quite strong and she is the main one that can see Kade for what he really is worth once she can make it past his mesmerizing eyes. Zoe is one of my favorites, however, with her intense attitude toward things and people.

My final thoughts on this book are that this is a good read for people that enjoy mysteries, slight thrillers and contemporary pieces. I would recommend this book to anyone 13 years of age and older.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
League of Strays (A Room with Books review)
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
This book really, really pissed me off. Most of the characters were stupid, but Charlotte definitely takes the cake. Now, I understand when you first see a super cute guy you're not really seeing any flaws since you're blinded by all the charm and cuteness. But girl, you cannot use that excuse for the entire book. There comes a point when you should be able to notice how creepy and controlling your major crush/boyfriend is. If you find yourself thinking “I don't really like this anymore” that often, then hey, maybe it's time to listen to your instincts. By the end Charlotte was feeling pretty sorry for herself, but the amount of sorry I was feeling was the size of a grain of salt.

Charlotte is your typical sees-a-guy-and-turns-into-mush girl. When Kade comes into the picture she stops making any decisions for herself. At one point she actually says she can't look into his eyes if she wants to say what she really thinks. Seriously, Charlotte? Are his eyes super-powered hypnotism rays? No, I didn't think so.

Then there's the revenge plot. Now, I love me a good revenge and some of the characters had some really bad things happen to them (i.e. Richie and Zoe) but nothing can justify the things the League of Strays were doing. They were despicable and I really don't understand how the others in the group could just go along with everything seemingly without a second thought.

Oh, Kade. Obviously, there's something wrong with him past his giant douchery, but does anyone see that? No, they don't. Instead of trying to get him some help, they all just go “Oh, his major mood swings are nothing. His tendency towards violence? Pshh, he's just mad because other people are stupid.” Seriously, people! Barring his craziness, though, how can anyone be okay with the way he orders them all around like his little pets? The story's told from Charlotte's POV, so it's not like the reader knows anything the other characters don't. You can just TELL he's a slimeball from the moment he enters the story. I spent most of the parts with him in it with a disgusted look on my face (I'm a very expressive reader.)

The Nutshell: If you can get past the stupidity of nearly every character in League of Strays, especially Charlotte's, then you may enjoy it. I simply couldn't look past the way everyone conveniently acted like idiots and did whatever Kade said. There's nothing wrong with the writing, but the story and characters just didn't work for me.

Miss
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."