Hidden (Firelight #3)

Featured
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
2633 1
Hidden (Firelight #3)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 11, 2012
ISBN
9780061935121
Buy This Book
      

Jacinda was supposed to bond with Cassian, the "prince" of their pride. But she resisted long before she fell in love with Will—a human and, worse, a hunter. When she ran away with Will, it ended in disaster, with Cassian's sister, Miriam, captured. Weighed down by guilt, Jacinda knows she must rescue her to set things right. Yet to do so she will have to venture deep into the heart of enemy territory.

The only way Jacinda can reach Miriam is by posing as a prisoner herself, though once she assumes that disguise, things quickly spiral out of her control. As she learns more about her captors, she realizes that even if Will and Cassian can carry out their part of the plan, there's no guarantee they'll all make it out alive. But what Jacinda never could have foreseen is that escaping would be only the beginning.... Loyalties are tested and sacrifices made in the explosive conclusion to Sophie Jordan's Firelight trilogy.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Heart pounding, action packed conclusion to the Firelight trilogy.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Beautiful cover!

It's nice to see that all of the covers in this series have been consistent. It would've been really cool to have both Jacinda and Tamra on this one but it's still fabulous!

This is a heart pounding, chest clutching, action packed conclusion to the Firelight trilogy and I absolutely loved it!

Hidden picks up right where Vanish leaves off with Will, Cassian and Tamra all preparing to send Jacinda into the enkros compound in an effort to rescue Miriam. The plan is a dangerous one with an unexpected outcome that left me breathless and crying ALL THE TEARS.

Jacinda and Will are trying their best to be together but are met with resistance at every turn, whether it's the bonding with Cassian or her issues with the pride. But Will (who is just as perfect as ever IMHO) can only be patient for so long and Jacinda will have to decide what's more important, their future or her need for answers. (Correct answer is: WILL.Every.Time.)

Jacinda is fearless in her efforts to protect those she loves and her selflessness is to be praised. It's her willingness to put others first all the time that could end up costing her what she wants the most though. She and Will have known from the start that their relationship is a complicated one and cherish whatever quiet moments they have together which are both heart-achingly tender and bittersweet, but is it enough?

I spent the better part of Firelight and Vanish not a fan of Cassian. Regardless of his hotness, I felt he was overbearing, rude and presumptuous of what his relationship with Jacinda should be but all that changed in Hidden. He still tends towards the strong, silent type but in this book, we finally get to see the real Cassian, the whole man (or should I say, drakai?) and you know, I kinda fell in love with him. ;)

Tamra comes into her own which was so refreshing. No longer is she lost in Jacinda's shadow but becomes a force to be reckoned with. Just like her sister though, Tamra will have decisions to make, ones that will have lasting effects on their relationship.

Then there's Will. *sighs swoony sigh* Could there be another guy as perfect as he is? I think not! He's kind, compassionate, brave and his patience alone could earn him the Nobel Peace Prize. It also doesn't hurt that he's gorgeous and his love and concern for Jacinda are heart melting. But can their love really see them through or are their differences just too great to overcome long term? Will they even get the chance to find out?

Along with the four main characters, some familiar faces from the two previous books reappear and we're introduced to some new ones too. (One really, really nice one. *winks*) Not all of these faces are Team Drakai, but one in particular will impact the girls in a way they never saw coming.

When finishing a series, it's always important to tie up any loose ends and unanswered questions but a "And they lived happily ever after!" isn't always guaranteed and Hidden is no different. Answering questions concerning Will's drakai blood, where the girls' Mom went and what really happened to their Dad, can be a tall order to fill and Sophie Jordan has succeeded.

I know that this is supposed to be the end, time to say "Goodbye" to these characters, but I couldn't help feeling like the story was left in a way that could provide for a spinoff if Sophie Jordan decided to go that route in the future. (I'd read that in a heartbeat! Just sayin')

Thank you Sophie Jordan for giving us a fantastic series full of imagination, creativity and characters who were easy to fall in love with and so very hard to let go of! :D

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Hidden by Sophie Jordan
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Having followed this series form the start, I was a little hesitant to read this book because I didn't want the series to end. I loved the first book and the second one sort of felt like a filler to me so I was a little nervous about this one. But once I began reading it, I knew I had nothing to worry about.
Hidden picks up right where the second novel in the series Vanish leaves off. Jacinda, Will, Tamra, and Cassian are trying to rescue Miriam from the Enkros before they can do any experiments or worse to her. Its obvious that Jacinda has grown since the first novel because she goes to help Miriam despite her feelings for her. She becomes the bigger person and does all she can to save her.
With this, the action begins soon as the book opens. I was on edge the ENTIRE time. I found myself upset because I had to put it down for sleep or work. Trust me when I tell you, the entire book is INTENSE. Throughout the whole thing I was feeling every type of emotion. I was upset, scared, excited; it was enough to give anyone an anxiety attack.
One thing I loved about the book though was the love triangle. Although it was "non-existent," Cassian and Jacinda are still bonded while Jacinda and Will are still in love. This is different from the "regular" love triangles, which is the reason why I liked it so much.
As the story goes on, it answers a lot of questions that Firelight and Vanish have put in place. Hidden is a thrilling conclusion to the Draki world and will definitely leave fans of the Firelight world satisfied. I look forward to Sophie's other YA books in the future!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."