Hidden (Firelight #3)

Featured
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
2922 1
Hidden (Firelight #3)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 11, 2012
ISBN
9780061935121
Buy This Book
      

Jacinda was supposed to bond with Cassian, the "prince" of their pride. But she resisted long before she fell in love with Will—a human and, worse, a hunter. When she ran away with Will, it ended in disaster, with Cassian's sister, Miriam, captured. Weighed down by guilt, Jacinda knows she must rescue her to set things right. Yet to do so she will have to venture deep into the heart of enemy territory.

The only way Jacinda can reach Miriam is by posing as a prisoner herself, though once she assumes that disguise, things quickly spiral out of her control. As she learns more about her captors, she realizes that even if Will and Cassian can carry out their part of the plan, there's no guarantee they'll all make it out alive. But what Jacinda never could have foreseen is that escaping would be only the beginning.... Loyalties are tested and sacrifices made in the explosive conclusion to Sophie Jordan's Firelight trilogy.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Heart pounding, action packed conclusion to the Firelight trilogy.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Beautiful cover!

It's nice to see that all of the covers in this series have been consistent. It would've been really cool to have both Jacinda and Tamra on this one but it's still fabulous!

This is a heart pounding, chest clutching, action packed conclusion to the Firelight trilogy and I absolutely loved it!

Hidden picks up right where Vanish leaves off with Will, Cassian and Tamra all preparing to send Jacinda into the enkros compound in an effort to rescue Miriam. The plan is a dangerous one with an unexpected outcome that left me breathless and crying ALL THE TEARS.

Jacinda and Will are trying their best to be together but are met with resistance at every turn, whether it's the bonding with Cassian or her issues with the pride. But Will (who is just as perfect as ever IMHO) can only be patient for so long and Jacinda will have to decide what's more important, their future or her need for answers. (Correct answer is: WILL.Every.Time.)

Jacinda is fearless in her efforts to protect those she loves and her selflessness is to be praised. It's her willingness to put others first all the time that could end up costing her what she wants the most though. She and Will have known from the start that their relationship is a complicated one and cherish whatever quiet moments they have together which are both heart-achingly tender and bittersweet, but is it enough?

I spent the better part of Firelight and Vanish not a fan of Cassian. Regardless of his hotness, I felt he was overbearing, rude and presumptuous of what his relationship with Jacinda should be but all that changed in Hidden. He still tends towards the strong, silent type but in this book, we finally get to see the real Cassian, the whole man (or should I say, drakai?) and you know, I kinda fell in love with him. ;)

Tamra comes into her own which was so refreshing. No longer is she lost in Jacinda's shadow but becomes a force to be reckoned with. Just like her sister though, Tamra will have decisions to make, ones that will have lasting effects on their relationship.

Then there's Will. *sighs swoony sigh* Could there be another guy as perfect as he is? I think not! He's kind, compassionate, brave and his patience alone could earn him the Nobel Peace Prize. It also doesn't hurt that he's gorgeous and his love and concern for Jacinda are heart melting. But can their love really see them through or are their differences just too great to overcome long term? Will they even get the chance to find out?

Along with the four main characters, some familiar faces from the two previous books reappear and we're introduced to some new ones too. (One really, really nice one. *winks*) Not all of these faces are Team Drakai, but one in particular will impact the girls in a way they never saw coming.

When finishing a series, it's always important to tie up any loose ends and unanswered questions but a "And they lived happily ever after!" isn't always guaranteed and Hidden is no different. Answering questions concerning Will's drakai blood, where the girls' Mom went and what really happened to their Dad, can be a tall order to fill and Sophie Jordan has succeeded.

I know that this is supposed to be the end, time to say "Goodbye" to these characters, but I couldn't help feeling like the story was left in a way that could provide for a spinoff if Sophie Jordan decided to go that route in the future. (I'd read that in a heartbeat! Just sayin')

Thank you Sophie Jordan for giving us a fantastic series full of imagination, creativity and characters who were easy to fall in love with and so very hard to let go of! :D

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Hidden by Sophie Jordan
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Having followed this series form the start, I was a little hesitant to read this book because I didn't want the series to end. I loved the first book and the second one sort of felt like a filler to me so I was a little nervous about this one. But once I began reading it, I knew I had nothing to worry about.
Hidden picks up right where the second novel in the series Vanish leaves off. Jacinda, Will, Tamra, and Cassian are trying to rescue Miriam from the Enkros before they can do any experiments or worse to her. Its obvious that Jacinda has grown since the first novel because she goes to help Miriam despite her feelings for her. She becomes the bigger person and does all she can to save her.
With this, the action begins soon as the book opens. I was on edge the ENTIRE time. I found myself upset because I had to put it down for sleep or work. Trust me when I tell you, the entire book is INTENSE. Throughout the whole thing I was feeling every type of emotion. I was upset, scared, excited; it was enough to give anyone an anxiety attack.
One thing I loved about the book though was the love triangle. Although it was "non-existent," Cassian and Jacinda are still bonded while Jacinda and Will are still in love. This is different from the "regular" love triangles, which is the reason why I liked it so much.
As the story goes on, it answers a lot of questions that Firelight and Vanish have put in place. Hidden is a thrilling conclusion to the Draki world and will definitely leave fans of the Firelight world satisfied. I look forward to Sophie's other YA books in the future!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."