Belles (Belles #1)

 
0.0
 
4.5 (4)
1639 0
Belles (Belles #1)
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 10, 2012
ISBN
0316091138
Buy This Book
      
Fifteen-year-old Isabelle Scott loves her life by the boardwalk on the supposed wrong side of the tracks in North Carolina. But when tragedy strikes, a social worker sends her to live with a long-lost uncle and his preppy privileged family. Isabelle is taken away from everything she’s ever known, and, unfortunately, inserting her into the glamorous lifestyle of Emerald Cove doesn’t go so well. Her cousin Mirabelle Monroe isn’t thrilled to share her life with an outsider, and, in addition to dealing with all the rumors and backstabbing that lurk beneath their classmates’ Southern charm, a secret is unfolding that will change both girls’ lives forever.

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.3  (4)
Characters 
 
4.5  (4)
Writing Style 
 
4.8  (4)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Hobbitsies Reviews: Great contemporary, better than expected
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I went into Belles by Jen Calonita expecting it to be a light, cheesy book that had been done a few times before, but still expecting to enjoy it. I mean, I read her other series and while I enjoyed it, there wasn’t much to it. But guys, colour me wrong – I didn’t just enjoy Belles, I loved it. Belles was so much more than what I expected.

Sure, Belles definitely had its fair share of light and cheesy moments – I was giggling like a madwomen, but I could not put it down! There was a bucketload of scandal and drama, and not to mention a huge secret or two that was being kept throughout the story. It was somewhat spoiled for me on the back cover the ARC, but I think they’ve changed it for the finished copy and it’ll be interesting to see what everyone thinks when they don’t know it’s coming.

I loved Izzie and essentially every single character in Belles. Her cousin, Mira, ended up playing a slightly different role than I pegged her for, which was a nice twist. And Brayden. Loved me some Brayden. I thought each character in Belles had a personality that stood out from each of the other characters, although the aunt and uncle ended up feeling a little flat in some parts. Hopefully we’ll get a bit more personality from them in the second book.

Yup, I said second book! Belles is a trilogy, I believe, and although I kind of wonder how the story is going to be extended, I’m genuinely excited to read more of Izzie’s world. And that’s a bit rare for me lately.

Overall, I loved Belles by Jen Calonita. It was fun and light and exactly what I expected, but also so much more. Belles had a good amount of depth to it without being overwhelming, as well as some well-developed characters. Check Belles out if you’re looking for a great contemporary.

Review originally posted on my blog http://hobbitsies.net/2012/04/belles-by-jen-calonita/
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A Beautiful Book
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Belles is essentially about a teenager named Izzie who is uprooted from everything she's ever known, and plopped down into a world completely unlike everything she grew up with. Izzie's character was incredibly endearing, and though she occasionally made bad decisions, you couldn't help but love her.

I honestly didn't like Mirabelle up until the very end, and even then, she still has a lot of growing to do. Mirabelle started off as a spoiled, self-centered, rich girl, and she was completely unable to realize that Izzie's life had changed drastically. As the book went on, Mirabelle started opening herself to Izzie and allowing herself to realize that Izzie was like a fish out of water. Once that happened, Mirabele became much more likeable.

There's not much to say about Savannah, except that I feel that her character was over done. Savannah was mean to the point of being unrealistic. I literally just graduated highschool, so I do know about mean girls, and while mean girls can be rude and catty, they're almost never downright cruel to the exten that Svannah was.

All in all, I enjoyed this book, and I can't wait for the next one!
Good Points
I really enjoyed this book. It was interesting watching the characters grow throughout the book. The plot was interesting and it flowed smoothly
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Charming and full of memorable characters!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Belles just flows; it is heart warming and promising - Jen Calonita just kept on giving me more and more, charming me with wonderful memorable characters and amazing scenes!

Isabelle Scott, aka Izzie, is trying to keep her little family together ever since her mother passed away when she was ten. She goes to school, teaches swim classes, takes care of her sick grandmother and all the household chores. She does everything and anything in order to keep her social worker happy so she doesn't have to be placed into foster care... but when Izzie's grandmother's Alzheimer's gets worse, the social worker has no choice but to do what is right and place grandma in a home and reveals that Izzie is going to go live with her long lost Uncle at a nearby town, Emerald Cove.
In one night, Izzie's life is turned upside down. She is taken away from her homely town on the boardwalk and thrust into a gated community, private school, thousand dollar dresses and 'mean girls'.
But Izzie is so well grounded, she knows how to handle herself and does it so well.

Izzie's cousin, Mirabelle, was a bit hard to like in the beginning. As a true southern belle, Mira put on her smile and did her best to just go through the niceties in welcoming Izzie. And of course, we all saw through that. But as the story went along, we see changes in Mira, and hope for the best.

More drama and secrets unfold - you couldn't ask for more!

I really enjoyed how Calonita would smoothly alternate between Izzie and Mira's thoughts. I got to see and hear both sides of their stories. I also love and appreciate how Calonita ended the book. Pure perfection and I cannot wait to read Belles sequel, Winter White, being released on October 9th, 2012.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Read how the secrets unfold, the perfect summer read!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Belles just flows; it is heart warming and promising - Jen Calonita just kept on giving me more and more, charming me with wonderful memorable characters and amazing scenes!

Isabelle Scott, aka Izzie, is trying to keep her little family together ever since her mother passed away when she was ten. She goes to school, teaches swim classes, takes care of her sick grandmother and all the household chores. She does everything and anything in order to keep her social worker happy so she doesn't have to be placed into foster care... but when Izzie's grandmother's Alzheimer's gets worse, the social worker has no choice but to do what is right and place grandma in a home and reveals that Izzie is going to go live with her long lost Uncle at a nearby town, Emerald Cove.
In one night, Izzie's life is turned upside down. She is taken away from her homely town on the boardwalk and thrust into a gated community, private school, thousand dollar dresses and 'mean girls'.
But Izzie is so well grounded, she knows how to handle herself and does it so well.

Izzie's cousin, Mirabelle, was a bit hard to like in the beginning. As a true southern belle, Mira put on her smile and did her best to just go through the niceties in welcoming Izzie. And of course, we all saw through that. But as the story went along, we see changes in Mira, and hope for the best.

More drama and secrets unfold - you couldn't ask for more!

I really enjoyed how Calonita would smoothly alternate between Izzie and Mira's thoughts. I got to see and hear both sides of their stories. I also love and appreciate how Calonita ended the book. Pure perfection and I cannot wait to read Belles sequel, Winter White, being released on October 9th, 2012.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."