Choke

FeaturedHot
 
4.0
 
4.5 (1)
8069 1
Choke
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 01, 2012
ISBN
978-0545418225
Buy This Book
      

A heartfelt novel about the disturbing "choking game" trend -- and one girl's struggle for self-acceptance. If she could -- if her parents would let her -- eighth-grader Windy would change everything about herself. She'd get highlights in her hair, a new wardrobe; she'd wear makeup. But nothing ever changes. The mean girls at school are still mean, and Windy's best friend Elena is still more interested in making up words than talking about boys. And then one day, Windy gets the change she's been looking for. New girl Nina -- impossibly cool, confident, and not afraid of anyone -- starts hanging out with Windy! Nina even wants to be "breath sisters." Windy isn't sure what that means, exactly, but she knows she wants to find out. It sounds even better than a BFF. Windy is right, at first. Being a breath sister gains her a whole new set of friends, girls she feels closer to and cooler with than anyone else. But her inclusion in the new crowd comes at a dangerous price. Windy wants to change everything about her life ... but is she really willing to give up everything in the process? Show More Show Less

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Deadly Game
(Updated: June 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Not very long ago on CNN they reported a 10 year old who was found dead after committing suicide. Then his family stepped forward and said it wasn't suicide like they all had thought. He'd died after playing the choking game. What is the choking game? It's a strangulation activity where kids use either their hands or something like a rope(or in the case of Nina, a scarf). As the brain is deprived of oxygen, a person has a sensation of light-headedness(or a rush). The side effects include death. What's frightening is one study shows that six percent of middle schoolers have tried this game.

When I found out Scholastic was releasing a book about this topic, I had to read it. As an elementary teacher and also a parent of a tween, I wanted to know more about this frightening new trend.

Choke shows us Windy and her best friend Elena. They're not popular but they're also not in the out-crowd either. Then Nina shows up. Nina is pretty and very confident. She starts hanging around Windy. Nina also mentions how much she misses her breath sisters from her old school. Windy is intrigued and also flattered that Nina wants to be her friend. Then she finds out what a breath sister really is and has to decide whether fitting in is really worth it.

I really loved Windy. For one she's Latina and from a very supportive home. Her parents love her and are there for her too. As a former bilingual teacher I taught girls like Windy who wanted to be more Anglo in their appearances. They'd bleach their hair and wear blue contact lens. Windy's father's attempt to do this very same thing as he feels it will help him land a TV weatherman position is something I actually did see. One of the teachers I used to teach with, wore blue contacts and even spoke French, denying her Latino heritage.

What I loved about Choke is the author shows us two very real characters and their struggles with trying to fit in. Elena is very quirky but she's the one who seems more grounded on who she is.

Windy at first is excited that Nina wants to be her friend. Then others start wearing scarves to school too. Windy looks past some signs that not all is right with Nina as she craves being in the in-group. What teen hasn't been through this?

The scenes on the choking game are intense. I remember being an eighth grader and how I would do just about anything to 'fit' in. The author shows what happens during the choking game without being over the top or preachy. What would you do if you knew a friend was playing this game? Would you laugh it off, join in, or report them? Those are hard questions.

I think this book should be in every middle and high school library. Also I feel it would be a great book club selection that can lead to great discussions on what you would do in Windy's situation.
Good Points
1. Realistic portrayal of the choking game
2. Multi-dimensional characters
3. Positive Latino family portrayals
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Important subject, handled well. Great MG read that can appeal to older readers as well.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
I totally related with Windy. Not in the popular crowd, but not really completely on the outside crowd either. On that edge and wanting to change so many things about yourself. I also related with the feeling of doing things I didn't necessarily want to but it sounded cool because a new friend thought it was fun.
I felt for Nina. She really stood up for Windy and Elena, which warmed me to her, but I could tell that something wasn't quite right with her. I just wondered what was brewing under the surface, and Diana Lopez peeled back her layers slowly. Obviously she has the problem with the choking game, but you have to wonder what her motivations were.
Elana is the best friend that is awesome. She is so nerdy and that completely appeals to me, as does her loyalty and ability to forgive.
I also really appreciated the idea of finding yourself and looking for what you love and how to incorporate that into your career. We got to see it with Windy and her relationship with her parents as well as in her own life, working at the nursing home with Mrs. Vargas. By the way, I appreciated so much the well written and close family relationships as well as the presence of Mrs. Vargas, Windy's adopt a granny.
Diana Lopez writes with fluidity that got me lost in Windy's story and feeling for her as I read about her self discovery and journey into the dangerous. She also handles such a difficult subject with finesse.
The ending is heartbreaking but a wake up call, and I couldn't really expect much different, although she did surprise me some by the end results.
Bottom line: Important subject, handled well. Great MG read that can appeal to older readers as well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"The descriptions of Parkour are entertaining and opened my eyes to a new discipline that I was scarcely aware of..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
5.0
"DRAGON REBELLION opens up with Jian and Hua taking refuge in Hua's family farm, but she hasn't awoken since she..."
Chosen (Gem Creek Bears, Book 1)
 
4.3
"When Tris escapes from being kidnapped by her boyfriend Corbin, she does the only logical thing. She gets the heck..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"I enjoyed this book immensely. As with all of her books, Pam Withers masterfully builds up the characters and skilfully..."
Inebriated
 
5.0
"'Inebriated' by Katey Taylor is a hauntingly real look at the power of intoxication, whether it be in the form..."
The Path We Take
 
4.0
"'The Path We Take' by Kylie Key shows how the choices we make and the things we think we want..."
Outlawed
 
4.5
"The story: When her father forces her to travel back in time to correct the mistake he made, Maryanne..."