Smart Girls Get What They Want

FeaturedHot
 
4.8 (2)
 
4.0 (1)
3255 0
Smart Girls Get What They Want
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
June 26, 2012
ISBN
0061953407
Buy This Book
      
Gigi, Bea, and Neerja are best friends and total overachievers. Even if they aren't the most popular girls in school, they aren't too worried. They know their real lives will begin once they get to their Ivy League colleges. There will be ivy, and there will be cute guys in the libraries (hopefully with English accents)! But when an unexpected event shows them they're missing out on the full high school experience, it's time to come out of the honors lounge and into the spotlight. They make a pact: They will each take on their greatest challenge—and they will totally rock it.

Gigi decides to run for student rep, but she'll have to get over her fear of public speaking—and go head-to-head with gorgeous California Will. Bea used to be one of the best skiers around, until she was derailed. It could be time for her to take the plunge again. And Neerja loves the drama club but has always stayed behind the scenes—until now.

These friends are determined to show the world that smart girls really can get what they want—but that could mean getting way more attention than they ever bargained for. . . .

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Refreshing and Fun!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
When I started this book, I was a little worried because it didn't seem to move fast enough and I was afraid I would lose interest. I'm glad I was wrong because once the story got going, it was simply delightful.

This is a contemporary fiction story that is not over the top. The relationships, both friendships and romantic, are real. Nothing felt overdone or contrived. I loved the loyalty and friendship of Bea, Gigi, and Neerja. They are three friends that would really do anything for each other, and are always there to support the others in whatever adventure they may happen to be on.

This is a fantastic book. I can't believe I waited so long to read it. If you are looking for a true journey of self-discovery and unbreakable friendships than this is the book for you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Absolutely Loved It!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I've never considered myself a huge fan of contemporary fiction. If I saw the cover of this book on a bookshelf, I'd walk right past it. I've decided that bias has probably robbed me of reading some incredible fiction. (And I'm going to rememdy the lack of contemporary fic on my shelves!)

This book was fabulous. Start to finish fabulous. The characters are well-rounded, flawed, and interesting. The narrator's voice is authentic and funny, and the narrator is likeable. I wanted her to figure out her life and her romance! The relationships ring true, the conflict is believable, and the worldbuilding is superb. I devoured this book in a single day and loved every second of reading it. It's smart, fun, and just all-around fabulous. I'm off to buy the rest of Ms. Strohmeyer's books!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Surprised Me in a Great Way
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What attracted me to Strohmeyer's first YA effort is obvious: the title. I want to live in this magical world where being smart will get me precisely what I desire. Of course, nothing's really that simple, and the girls spend a lot of time NOT getting what they want. SGGWTW (long-ass title even when abbreviated!) isn't so much about how being smart will open every door for you; it's about understand others and discovering yourself in the process.

The most powerful theme for me was this one of first impressions and their general inaccuracy. Throughout the book, Gigi learns things that surprise her about people she's known for years. For example, she is shocked to find out that one of the popular girls not in top level classes, who she thought only cared about boys and shopping, is obsessed with Anna Karenina. As time passes and she gives people a chance to be get to know her, she discovers hidden depths, forms new kinships with people she always stereotyped, and learns that people aren't necessarily what they appear to be. This realization helps her to overcome her own stereotype of being 'the smart girl,' freeing her to just be Gigi.

For roughly the first half of this book, I thought Strohmeyer had written hackneyed teen chick lit. In fact, it was reminding me a lot of Pilgrims Don't Wear Pink, with the supposedly smart girl obsessed with a hot, obviously douchey guy. I was not particularly into the book until about half way through when I realized that Strohmeyer was going to overthrow all of that. If you're frustrated in the beginning, do not give up, because, if you're like me, you will all of a sudden be SO INTO IT.

Strohmeyer ultimately does some things here that I really do not see in enough YA fiction. First and foremost, I was thrilled to see a real friendship. In a lot of YA, the friends serve only as a receptacle for the plaintive cries of the heroine about how X is so hot and she can't help wanting him despite the fact that he is an asshat. The heroine never thinks of her friend except when SHE needs something, and we never learn anything about the friend's life.

Bea, Neerja and Gigi are not like that at all. Throughout the novel, they are constantly watching out for one another, supporting one another, and hanging out. They clearly love one another so much, and are always ready to offer a comforting shoulder after a breakup. Gigi joins a sports team to support Bea (even though she's really not good at it) and tries out for a play to support Neerja (even though she's so afraid of public speaking she often throws up). They will do anything for one another, and no boy could ever stand in the way of that. They are straight up 'hos over bros,' which is so REFRESHING.

As I mentioned, Gigi does have a jerk that wants her or at least pretends to, and she wants him as well. However, what makes Gigi different is that, despite her hormones saying yes yes yes, she doesn't make any rash decisions. She questions his motivations and considers whether he would be a good idea. She moons over him a little, but she does so privately. You can't really help who you're attracted to so much, but you CAN help how you react to it, and I'm so glad to finally see a YA heroine who is not overwhelmed by her lust.

SGGWTW totally charmed me in the end, proving to be much deeper than I was anticipating. If you want to read some realistic fiction that's actually realistic (but still happy and romantic), this is a good one. This is a wonderful summer read, so grab a copy for your vacation! You will not regret it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"The Lost Legends is one of those books that has everything in it. A princess, an evil king, pirates, a..."
Blade of Mad Vision
 
5.0
"Loved it! It makes me want to be an artist and a fencer and learn languages and go on adventures..."
The Curie Society
 
4.2
"Three roommates at Edmonds University all face different challenges in settling into college life. Biologist Simone is very young to..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"‘The First Holidays’ by Cait Marie is a sweet story of friendship and love. Readers will feel the warmth between..."
The King's Daughter: A Girl Lost In Time
 
5.0
"LOVE SPELL TO BRING BACK EX LOVER AND RESTORE BROKEN RELATIONSHIPS, WhatsApp +2347059387282 I want to thank..."
The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
Moon & Shadow: A tale of Liamec (Tales of Liamec Book 1)
 
4.3
"Overall, This book was different from anything I've read in a while. It was more like a folktale which was..."
The Raven and the Dove
 
5.0
"I've honestly had my eye on this book for a while, and finally decided to pick it up. As the..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
The Lightbringer: Through the Elder Stone
 
5.0
"The Lightbringer plays on that classic trope of light vs dark, but in a fresh way with unheard of magical..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"When Aislinn and Catriona are taken into the fae realm, their fate falls into the hands of a broody prince/rightful..."
With Shield and Ink and Bone
 
4.8
"The story: A Viking, Liv has earned her shield and is set to take her place as a shield..."
With Shield and Ink and Bone
 
4.5
"For those who can't get enough of Vikings, Norse Mythology, and kick-butt female leads, this one is for you. ..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"This short story is perfect for people who loved The Last Summer and for those excited for The Final Chance...."
My Best Friend Prince Charming
 
4.5
"‘My Best Friend Prince Charming’ by Cindy Ray Hale tells the story of Ryker and Shannon, two best friends who..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."