Point of Origin (The Survivors #2)

Featured
 
4.7
 
4.7 (1)
1796 0
Point of Origin (The Survivors #2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 12, 2012
ISBN
978-0983319047
Buy This Book
      
The winter is upon us. The Survivors are in chaos. The war is coming.

One year ago, Sadie Matthau was living among humans, existing as one of them. But now she wakes each morning in a house in the Survivors City, listening to the invocations and insults of her family members as they cope with their new future. A war. Rogue abandoners turned monsters. Sadie and the icy Winters living in their midst, bringing the outside world in.

The Survivors: Point of Origin is Sadie's quest to save her family. But can she find what she is looking for when she can barely stomach the Winters wintry demeanor and finds herself distracted by Cole Hardwick s warm heart? Will she be able to uncover her family's history even as the elders grip tightens around her throat? In an action packed ride full of magic and misery, terror and triumph, Sadie Matthau seeks the Survivors beginning just in time to face her end.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

An Even Better Sequel!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Amanda Havard has delivered a book so intricately woven and so richly diverse in the mythology she uses with Point of Origin. The Survivors Series is paranormal as its finest, and I absolutely loved this one.

Amanda Havard is one heck of a story teller - she manages to draw readers right back into the world of the Survivors within a few pages of Point of Origin. And once she draws you in, she doesn't let you go. The characters in Point of Origin have a trying journey and I felt like I was transported right alongside them in their world. I was on the edge of my seat cheering for the characters and worrying for them when things weren't going exactly how they planned. Point of Origin was a book full of twists and turns I could never see coming. It was such a fun ride.

The concept of The Survivors series is so intriguing, unique, and utterly bewitching. Everything that was established in The Survivors has only been explored more indepthly in Point of Origin, all while new ideas are introduced alongside these. I love Amanda Havard's use of mythology and history - it is so interesting to see the how the mythology plays out. There are such unique creatures in Amanda Havard's world that I had never heard of. Point of Origin poses nearly as many questions as it answers, so I cannot wait to discover those answers in the next installment of the series!

I just love the characters of this series. Something about each of them is just so special. I like Sadie - she is not afraid to be herself, no matter what others think. I also really like Mark and Ginny - both of them are just so endearing and I love every scene they are in. Point of Origin really lets characters get to know Everett a lot better as a character - to see all the facets of his personality. Though, I am still very much a part of Team Cole - I can't help it, I just love Cole!

Point of Origin by Amanda Havard was everything I was looking for in the sequel to The Survivors - it was fast paced, enticing, and kept me on the edge of my seat. Amanda Havard is one talented woman and I cannot wait to see where she takes her characters in the next installment of The Survivors series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
A Phenomenal Sequel
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I can't believe this book is not getting more attention on here!

As with the first book in the series, this is a refreshing twist on the supernatural that will constantly leave the reader anticipating the heroine Sadie's next move. Uniquely, the series combines history, mythology, and legends to create an explanation for vampires, witches, shape-shifters, etc. The plot has multiple layers as well, and on top of the action and conflict, it also offers the reader a love story, including the love triangle, and a main character's struggle of figuring out her place in the world.

Hopefully, if you are considering reading this, you have already read The Survivors, which is book one in the series, as I did. I opened the book knowing that war was imminent. However, Havard threw me through a loop, because the war is not in full swing during the novel, but instead follows Sadie as she is preparing for the war. At this point, Sadie has made the mistake of encouraging her siblings to leave their sheltered lifestyle, which puts the entire human race in danger. Sadie must figure out how to stop them, which in turn means that she must figure out how to kill a Survivor. Her journey takes so many twists and turns that it is impossible to guess what is happening next.

The other negative aspect that I can identify about the novel is that things are progressing very slow. I read on Havard's facebook page that there will be five books in the series. However, I cannot imagine how she can drag the storyline out that far. I guess readers will have to just wait to see!

I strongly encourage any mythology lovers, supernatural lovers, and history buffs give this one a chance. I doubt that you will regret it!

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."