Point of Origin (The Survivors #2)

Featured
 
4.7
 
4.7 (1)
1998 0
Point of Origin (The Survivors #2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 12, 2012
ISBN
978-0983319047
Buy This Book
      
The winter is upon us. The Survivors are in chaos. The war is coming.

One year ago, Sadie Matthau was living among humans, existing as one of them. But now she wakes each morning in a house in the Survivors City, listening to the invocations and insults of her family members as they cope with their new future. A war. Rogue abandoners turned monsters. Sadie and the icy Winters living in their midst, bringing the outside world in.

The Survivors: Point of Origin is Sadie's quest to save her family. But can she find what she is looking for when she can barely stomach the Winters wintry demeanor and finds herself distracted by Cole Hardwick s warm heart? Will she be able to uncover her family's history even as the elders grip tightens around her throat? In an action packed ride full of magic and misery, terror and triumph, Sadie Matthau seeks the Survivors beginning just in time to face her end.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

An Even Better Sequel!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Amanda Havard has delivered a book so intricately woven and so richly diverse in the mythology she uses with Point of Origin. The Survivors Series is paranormal as its finest, and I absolutely loved this one.

Amanda Havard is one heck of a story teller - she manages to draw readers right back into the world of the Survivors within a few pages of Point of Origin. And once she draws you in, she doesn't let you go. The characters in Point of Origin have a trying journey and I felt like I was transported right alongside them in their world. I was on the edge of my seat cheering for the characters and worrying for them when things weren't going exactly how they planned. Point of Origin was a book full of twists and turns I could never see coming. It was such a fun ride.

The concept of The Survivors series is so intriguing, unique, and utterly bewitching. Everything that was established in The Survivors has only been explored more indepthly in Point of Origin, all while new ideas are introduced alongside these. I love Amanda Havard's use of mythology and history - it is so interesting to see the how the mythology plays out. There are such unique creatures in Amanda Havard's world that I had never heard of. Point of Origin poses nearly as many questions as it answers, so I cannot wait to discover those answers in the next installment of the series!

I just love the characters of this series. Something about each of them is just so special. I like Sadie - she is not afraid to be herself, no matter what others think. I also really like Mark and Ginny - both of them are just so endearing and I love every scene they are in. Point of Origin really lets characters get to know Everett a lot better as a character - to see all the facets of his personality. Though, I am still very much a part of Team Cole - I can't help it, I just love Cole!

Point of Origin by Amanda Havard was everything I was looking for in the sequel to The Survivors - it was fast paced, enticing, and kept me on the edge of my seat. Amanda Havard is one talented woman and I cannot wait to see where she takes her characters in the next installment of The Survivors series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
A Phenomenal Sequel
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I can't believe this book is not getting more attention on here!

As with the first book in the series, this is a refreshing twist on the supernatural that will constantly leave the reader anticipating the heroine Sadie's next move. Uniquely, the series combines history, mythology, and legends to create an explanation for vampires, witches, shape-shifters, etc. The plot has multiple layers as well, and on top of the action and conflict, it also offers the reader a love story, including the love triangle, and a main character's struggle of figuring out her place in the world.

Hopefully, if you are considering reading this, you have already read The Survivors, which is book one in the series, as I did. I opened the book knowing that war was imminent. However, Havard threw me through a loop, because the war is not in full swing during the novel, but instead follows Sadie as she is preparing for the war. At this point, Sadie has made the mistake of encouraging her siblings to leave their sheltered lifestyle, which puts the entire human race in danger. Sadie must figure out how to stop them, which in turn means that she must figure out how to kill a Survivor. Her journey takes so many twists and turns that it is impossible to guess what is happening next.

The other negative aspect that I can identify about the novel is that things are progressing very slow. I read on Havard's facebook page that there will be five books in the series. However, I cannot imagine how she can drag the storyline out that far. I guess readers will have to just wait to see!

I strongly encourage any mythology lovers, supernatural lovers, and history buffs give this one a chance. I doubt that you will regret it!

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While...
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
MAY THE HAZEL BRING YOU WISDOM AND THE ASPEN...
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account...
Kneel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through...

Latest Member Reviews

Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
Whose Big Rig?
 
4.7
"WHOSE BIG RIG? is a delightful board book that takes children through the vehicles involved in building a light rail,..."
Spi-ku: A Clutter of Short Verse on Eight Legs
 
4.3
"From the creative team that brought us Amphibian Acrobats and Superlative Birds, we now have this poetic treatment about every..."
Treemendous: Diary of a Not Yet Mighty Oak
 
5.0
"A small acorn chronicles her life in diary format from her start to her twentieth year. We see how an..."
Unbound: The Life and Art of Judith Scott
 
4.3
"Bornin 1943, twins Judith and Joyce Scott were close. They played with dolls and tea sets, and had adventures outside...."
Just Pretend
 
4.3
"In this graphic memoir, we see Tori as she is going into 7th grade. She and her friend spend a..."
Everything You Need to Know When You Are 10
 
4.3
"This starts with a list of things every ten year old needs, like a library card, a calendar, and a..."
What's Up, Fire Truck? (A Pop Magic Book): Folds into a 3-D Truck!
 
3.7
"WHAT'S UP, FIRE TRUCK? is an innovative book design that includes lots of lift-the-flap pages and then folds into a..."
The Stuff Between the Stars
 
5.0
"The Stuff Between the Stars by Sandra Nickel is a beautifully illustrated biography of Vera Rubin, the woman astronomer credited..."
Flip Flap Snap: Farm
 
5.0
"Flip Flap Snap: Farm by Joanna McInerney, artwork by Carmen Saldaña, will immediately engage young readers. While lifting the flaps..."
Flip Flap Snap: Dinosaurs
 
5.0
"Flip Flap Snap: Dinosaurs by Joanna McInerney, artwork by Carmen Saldaña, is an adorable book for young readers. While lifting..."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Missing: The True Story of My Family in World War II
 
5.0
"My Name Ollis Bator from Tx USA. After 12years of marriage, me and my husband have been into one quarrel..."
The Missing: The True Story of My Family in World War II
 
4.0
"‘The Missing: The True Story of My Family in WWII’ by Michael Rosen shares the story of a family who..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: FORESTS OF THE WORLD is an approachable nonfiction book that teaches about different kinds of forests, from..."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."