While He Was Away

 
0.0
 
2.0 (1)
1256 0
While He Was Away
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 01, 2012
ISBN
140226402X
Buy This Book
      

One year—he'll be gone for one year and then we'll be together again and everything will be back to the way it should be.

The day David left, I felt like my heart was breaking. Sure, any long–distance relationship is tough, but David was going to war—to fight, to protect, to put his life in danger. We can get through this, though. We'll talk, we'll email, we won't let anything come between us.

I can be on army girlfriend for one year. But will my sweet, soulful, funny David be the same person when he comes home? Will I? And what if he doesn't come home at all...?

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
1.0  (1)
Characters 
 
2.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
A huge disappointment!
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
~I was so excited for THIS book~

I don’t very often read books related to military service. It’s just one of those things, the unexplainable things that YOU WISH YOU COULD explain to other people. While He Was Away by Karen Schreck, however, is one of those reads that gets you really amped for a particular trend. I came into While He Was Away by Karen Schreck with so much excitement and anticipation and, sadly, it didn’t live up to all the hype that kept bombarding me. Even my writing this review is very difficult because my emotions toward this book are so stunted, low, and unexciting. I could see the potential, but nothing particularly interesting happened.

While He Was Away by Karen Schreck starts out alright enough, introducing to us an ordinary boy and girl, obviously deep in first love. They’ve been together awhile and now the thing Penelope dreads is about to arrive: David is to leave off to Iraq the next day. Their separation will be fifteen plus months long. The moments leading up to their separation are bittersweet and nice, touched by hints of regret and unspoken sentiments, and the writing is sort of poetic to offset everything. These are some nice times, peeps, where everything is full of happy-sads and the two want to cling to each other, but both understand that this is something David has to/wants to do. I got all that. I even enjoyed it.

It’s everything that happens afterward that shoots the book down.

~Are these characters supposed to be intriguing?~

Penna/Penelope starts off reading as average then goes down to inconsequential, and, frankly, pretty irritating. She’s sullen and depressed now that David is leaving, and once he does, she has nothing left to live for. I sympathize with her—somewhat. Then she begins treating and regarding people as insignificant and uses them as her verbal punching bags at times, which just succeeded in making her sound whiny and spiteful as opposed to in-need-of-sympathy.

Out of her newfound friends, Ravi has some potential. But, by the time the story flows into the plot, I was too bored to really care about even him. I couldn’t tell you if he turned out to be more than the painfully stereotyped, really-bullied high school drop-out who is upset that his ex-friend David has left him with regrets about their distance. I was too busy skimming the pages waiting for something thrilling to happen.

~The BLAH plot~

Penna now has a summer free, which is basically spent desperately awaiting contact from David, trying to locate her estranged grandmother who happened to have gone through a similar situation to Penna’s current one, and hanging out with her new besties from the summer job her mother pins on her. None of which kept me engrossed in While He Was Away by Karen Schreck, unfortunately.

About the only thing that is mildly fascinating in the story are David’s accounts of his times over in Iraq and his and Penna’s shared love and talent for art. I liked David’s vivid tales of his days spent in training, routine, assignments, exploring, his visits with the po’ Iraqi children. I found myself growing eager to get to his sections of the book. His and Penna’s drawings and photo-swapping got the interest flowing some too. But, after a while, it lost the hold I needed to keep me firmly absorbed.

~The “Whatevs” ending~

While He Was Away by Karen Schreck settles into an ending that is surprisingly unexpected, at least for me—others may be totally unsurprised—because I was clueless to any of the signs. I didn’t get the significance of it, there is little impact. I only felt a quiet annoyance toward the turn of events because I felt like after all that time spent, a vague ending was completely undeserved.

When I actually finished While He Was Away by Karen Schreck, I questioned why I refused to DNF this book. My reading pace was sluggish at best, my interest level was hitting way below subzero, and my disappointment spiraled up as I kept reading. It might have to do with While He Was Away by Karen Schreck not being a terrible book. It’s written simply with a nice poetic element to it. The problem rests in that the remainder of the book is too simple for my tastes. There isn’t enough going on to have kept me compelled and riveted.

If you have the patience and the taste for a simple contemporary that doesn’t quite hit an emotional level—although, at times, it does feel as if the attempts are a tad overzealous and unnecessary—then While He Was Away by Karen Schreck would be a soft, mediocre summer read to pass the time.

Looking for something similar? Check out Something Like Normal by Trish Doller.

Originally posted at Paranormal Indulgence, 5/25/12
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."