The Infects

FeaturedHot
 
4.3 (2)
 
5.0 (2)
4471 0
The Infects
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
September 25, 2012
ISBN
978-0763659479
Buy This Book
      

A feast for the brain, this gory and genuinely hilarious take on zombie culture simultaneously skewers, pays tribute to, and elevates the horror genre. Seventeen-year-old Nero is stuck in the wilderness with a bunch of other juvenile delinquents on an "Inward Trek." As if that weren’t bad enough, his counselors have turned into flesh-eating maniacs overnight and are now chowing down on his fellow miscreants. As in any classic monster flick worth its salted popcorn, plentiful carnage sends survivors rabbiting into the woods while the mindless horde of "infects" shambles, moans, and drools behind. Of course, these kids have seen zombie movies. They generate "Zombie Rules" almost as quickly as cheeky remarks, but attitude alone can’t keep the biters back. Serving up a cast of irreverent, slightly twisted characters, an unexpected villain, and an ending you won’t see coming, here is a savvy tale that that’s a delight to read — whether you’re a rabid zombie fan or freshly bitten — and an incisive commentary on the evil that lurks within each of us.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

True and Solid Zombie Tale
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I might never look at fast food the same way again...

The Infects pays tribute to the classic zombie tale with a unique twist. Sean Beaudoin has a style that is all his own. The story stays true to the purity of the zombie novel while not being afraid to be gory and sarcastic at the same time.

I love how the book puts everything out on the table. It is full of humor and puns- which I love. It is filled with pop culture references while keeping the story fast and fun. The characters are well written and quirky -which makes you want to read more about them. I couldn't put the book down.

Highly recommended to anyone who loves zombie books. A satisfying read, but not for the faint of heart.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Zombie Novel With A Twist
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Loved:

This is a fabulous addition to the horror genre. I especially enjoyed the voice of the narrator, Nick. He is a teenage boy who thinks and talks like a teenage boy. He is at once a reluctant hero, a quiet leader, and a boy too insecure to strike up a conversation with the girl he loves. He is also a hard worker and a devoted older brother to a sister who has Asperger's. I loved every scene between Nick and his sister Amanda. The author did a fabulous job developing the secondary characters, weaving in their backstories and character traits, and providing an arc for more than just Nick. The one-liners and pop culture references are funny and ring very true for a pack of teens trying to use humor to deflect the horror of their situation.

I also really enjoyed this new take on what caused the zombie outbreak, what the government decided to do to fix it, and what Nick and his friends (as some of the few survivors of the initial outbreak area) decide to do about it instead. I don't want to give any spoilers away, but the twist is very unexpected. I love being surprised, and I love that whether or not readers agree with Nick's decisions, readers can dissect this novel and discuss good vs evil in all its many forms for hours and still not come to a unanimous conclusion.

What Left Me Wanting More:

Not much, to be honest. This book is exactly what it advertises itself to be: a zombie apocalypse novel in the horror genre. There's no swoony romance, although there is devotion and awkwardness and love. There is blood and gore, and plenty of it. There were a few places where I wanted a bit more detail about the secondary character's facial expressions etc so I could understand them better, but overall, this novel is fantastic.

Final Verdict:

This is a solid addition to the horror genre, full of punchy one liners, painful emotions, blood and gore, and a surprising examination of what it really means to survive in an ever-evolving world.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (2)
Characters 
 
5.0  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Chicken and Zombies!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Background: Nick aka Nero has been sent away to juvenile delinquent camp for bleeding all over chicken at his job and while he is away rehabilitating some weird things start to happen. Nick along with his "camp" mates soon become part of their worst nightmare when their peers and counselors become zombies, yup straight outta the movies, zombies.

Review: It took me a little while to read this book, not for lack of excitement or witty-ness, but you can only have so many zombies before falling asleep... I had zombie dreams for about a week. What does this say about Beaudoin's writing- IT IS AWESOME! His characters, Nick, and the others are hilarious, even in the face of dangers and while being eaten. The descriptions are right on, zombie kids eating someone in a pot-o-potty?... I mean, what is not to love?

Some things that took some getting used to: Nick aka Nero talks to the reader like an audience- cool but weird, he does this to state his "Zombrules." Then there is The Rock, yes, wrestler, actor, producer man with the eyebrow thing- he is in Nick's head, sort of... Nick hears someone talking to him and the voice is that of the Rock. So there is a lot of question as to if Nick is talking to others or himself, or hallucinating...

I must say though, that the ending was my favorite, it was ready for some BS it was all a dream cop-out, but that didn't happen and I am super thankful for it. I was also super excited when an explanation was given for the Zombie outbreak and what had caused it all, I think that is what some zombie movies and books are lacking recently. So good show Beaudoin!

If you are a zombie lover or a fan of chicken-- yes I know this sounds weird-- go grab this book!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
The Infects
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The Infects is badass on epic proportions! I loved it, and I want more.
This book is not just a vague, zombie book. Nope, it is smart. Like “get you thinking on a different level” smart. It is also funny as hell.
I love books that are from a guy’s perspective. The way Nick interacts with the other IT guys is a great story in itself. Even before the zombies showed up, I was hooked.
And Nick’s relationship with his little sister is just about the sweetest thing I have read in a while. Amanda, like the rest of this book, is badass.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."