The Paladin Prophecy (The Paladin Prophecy #1)

FeaturedHot
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
5206 1
The Paladin Prophecy (The Paladin Prophecy #1)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
September 25, 2012
ISBN
9780375970450
Buy This Book
      

Will West is careful to live life under the radar. At his parents’ insistence, he’s made sure to get mediocre grades and to stay in the middle of the pack on his cross-country team. Then Will slips up, accidentally scoring off the charts on a nationwide exam. Now Will is being courted by an exclusive prep school . . . and is being followed by men driving black sedans. When Will suddenly loses his parents, he must flee to the school. There he begins to explore all that he’s capable of—physical and mental feats that should be impossible—and learns that his abilities are connected to a struggle between titanic forces that has lasted for millennia.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Perilous Prophecy Awaits
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
The Paladin Prophesy keeps you on the edge of your seat! Fans of I am Number Four and The Bourne Identity will be fans of The Paladin Prophesy. Right from the very beginning the action draws you into the book. You instantly feel a connection to Will and want to take the journey with him. Although there is a paranormal theme running through the book, Will and his friends are realistic and honest. All of Will's friends come from different backgrounds and have different personalities. They deal with bullies, school stresses, and trying to figure out how to overcome challenges. There just happens to be one more huge thing looming over their heads - a prophesy they know nothing about and until they figure out what is going on their lives are in danger.

Mark Frost weaves in suspense flawlessly. The story is easy to follow and the plot twists keep the story moving. There are also a few laugh out loud moments. It is this wide mixture of suspense, humor, and a mix genre of paranormal, adventure that will appeal to all different types of readers,

This is definitely a must read for any middle schooler or young adult reader for the fall. I can't wait to put this on my classroom shelf.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Action, Adventure
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Background: Will West is a fifteen year old who is running for his life. One day out of nowhere he is being chased by these strange people in black caps, and his mother is acting super strange. He is forced to leave his home in search of answers and decides to go to an invite only school he was recently recruited into. Nothing seems to add up and weird things are happening all around him.

Review: I was very excited to pick up this book when I did. WOW, I am so happy to say that it has lived up to the epic nature everyone seems to be sharing about it. I read the first chapter on RandomBuzzers, a wonderful website for any of you YA booklovers. Here’s a Link if you wanna check it out. (They have chapter previews, discussions with authors, and book giveaways)

The book starts as a whirlwind, Will is almost immediately running for his life and the suspense is all there, even before you learn more about him as a character. After the first chapter it only gets better, the plot is a mix of fantasy, science, and an elaborate idea of guardians thrown together with some teenage insecurities and bullying.

Will is a likeable character, he is genuine and smart and follows all of the rules his father has taught him throughout his life…and boy are there a lot of them. The villains are all over the place, there are so many characters you aren’t sure who is out to get who, but that is the beauty of it. If I had to compare it, I would say it is a more mature version of Harry Potter: A boy meant to fulfill a prophecy he knows nothing about, and only his friends can help him solve the puzzles.

I am very interested to see where the story leads, I felt amazed by Frost’s ability to create such an awesome world in this first book and have high expectations for the next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."