A Confusion of Princes

Featured
 
4.0
 
3.3 (1)
2235 0
A Confusion of Princes
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 15, 2012
ISBN
978-0060096946
Buy This Book
      

You'd think being a Prince in a vast intergalactic empire would be about as good as it gets. Particularly when Princes are faster, smarter, and stronger than normal humans. Not to mention being mostly immortal. But it isn't as great as it sounds. Princes need to be hard to kill—as Khemri learns the minute he becomes one—for they are always in danger. Their greatest threat? Other Princes. Every Prince wants to become Emperor, and the surest way to do so is to kill, dishonor, or sideline any potential competitor. There are rules, but as Khemri discovers, rules can be bent and even broken. Soon Khemri is drawn into the hidden workings of the Empire and dispatched on a secret mission. In the ruins of space battle he meets a young woman called Raine, who challenges his view of the Empire, of Princes, and of himself. But Khemri is a Prince, and even if he wanted to leave the Empire behind, there are forces that have very definite plans for his future. . . .

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Slow Start, But Ultimately Compelling
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Prince Khemri is one of ten million Princes raised from a toddler to be a ruler of the Empire. Or so he believes. His body has been augmented with tek to make him nearly immortal, and he's been conditioned to believe that everything and everyone exists to serve his every need.

Reality couldn't be further from the truth. Khemri's journey to discovering his real place in the Empire, and the value of the people he once considered substandard, is compelling. The plot twists serve to keep the reader fully engaged.

The beginning feels slow, mostly because the amount of backstory, world building, and unfamiliar terms/names we are innundated with in the first few chapters makes it hard to really sink into the world of the story and live there. But about four chapters in, the action gets going, the world begins to feel familiar enough that we can follow the story without getting hung up on extraneous details, and by the time the first major plot twist hits, we're hooked.

Khemri is a mostly unsympathetic character at first. Hard to like. Hard to root for. But this is by design. As his journey progresses, his character slowly grows and changes, until by the end of the book, this reader was a die hard Khemri fan.

Fascinating world building, a compelling story, and some nice subtle character growth make this a book worth reading.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Everybody wants to rule the world
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Would you give an important leadership position to someone who really wanted it? That question was memorably posed in the Hitchhiker's Guide series, and I thought about it often while reading A Confusion of Princes.

In a strange far future, the job of being Emperor goes to the fittest and most competent of 10 million Princes (in the gender-neutral Machiavelli sense.) The system reminds me a bit of ancient Chinese bureaucratic testing or Russian gymnastics testing. Children are evaluated and removed from their families to be trained and molded into the arms and legs of the empire. Some become explorers, or military officers. They form cohorts and they attempt to assassinate their rivals.

Khemri is our viewpoint character, and we follow him around as he is variously tested and reborn through the Princely Reboot System that has to do with him being jacked in. He's specifically raised to be oblivious to the needs of others. For instance, when he is reborn into a clone body, "Later, I would think more about that, and what my rebirth might be costing someone else. At that moment, I was simply elated to be alive, and there was also this business of getting an award. I was a hero?"

I think there are a couple main plot lines that can get you to adulthood in a YA novel. You can reject that which you have known and become your own person, or you can work toward accepting what you need to learn and integrate with. I prefer books of the second type, possibly because I am an adult.

This story is more of the first, with Khmeri learning, through the tutoring of his Master of Assassins and the unusual experiences he has, that what he thought he knew is not always correct.
"Perhaps the most important lesson for me was not to accept what I saw or heard at face value and to look beyond the official description or information to see if there was something I could use."

Much of the story is about Khmeri learning to question what he thought he knew, but many of those experiences are guided and instigated by the adults in his life, so it feels less valid than one he initiated himself. I am not left with the feeling that he ends the book as an adult, but rather as a rebellious teenager.

Read if: You liked the Deathstalker books. You are interested in atypical ambition. You'd like to see the development of a conscience.

Skip if: You want a moral investigation of the character's system, you are creeped out by the unquestioning use of slaves, destiny annoys you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."