Immortal City (Immortal City #1)

 
5.0
 
4.7 (3)
2094 2
Immortal City (Immortal City #1)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
April 03, 2012
ISBN
978-1-59514-506-2
Buy This Book
      
Jackson Godspeed is the hottest young Angel in a city filled with them. He's days away from becoming a full Guardian, and people around the world are already competing for the chance to be watched over by him. Everyone's obsessed with the Angels and the lucky people they protect - everyone except for Madison Montgomery. Maddy's the one girl in Angel City who doesn't breathlessly follow the Angels on TV and gossip blogs. When she meets Jackson, she doesn't recognize him. But Jackson is instantly captivated by her, and against all odds the two fall in love. Maddy is swiftly caught up in Jackson's scene, a world of glamour, paparazzi - and murder. A serial killer is on the loose, leaving dead Angels' wings for the police to find on the Walk of Fame. Even the Guardians are powerless to protect themselves in the face of this threat … and this time it's up to Maddy to save Jackson.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Most original angel book I've ever read!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I DEVOURED this book in a matter of hours!

What I liked: Speer uses L.A. and the world of celebrities as well as people's obsession with angel worship as the backdrop for this story. (Instead of watching the Oscars, people watch the Commissioning each year which has all the glitz and glam.) The world building is creative and entertaining and the characters have depth. There's action, suspense, mystery, and of course, romance but not of the "insta-love" variety which made it more believable.

The battle between good versus evil is clear and those familiar with the Book of Revelation might recognize a few passages brought to life (or the page).

What left me wanting: I really enjoyed this and can't wait to read Book 2!

Final verdict: I have been Angelstruck!

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.7  (3)
Characters 
 
4.7  (3)
Writing Style 
 
4.7  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
REALLY GOOD
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I have seen this book so many times without really giving it a second glance. I would tell myself that I would look at what it is about later and knowing me that "later" turns into a long freaking time. But recently, I finally stopped procrastinating, took a look at the book, and read it. Lets just say this book was REALLY good!!! It didn't drag on, it was original, and it was pretty freaking awesome. I really did like the main characters: Maddy and Jackson. Yeah, a couple of times I really wanted to scream at Maddy because of some of the choices she made... but I think she is pretty cool though.
In the story there is this huge mystery about someone or something killing all these famous angels. A demon... and somebody is giving it orders on who to kill. Guys... honestly you will be super surprised on who it is. My jaw legit dropped when I read who it was. So, if you haven't read this book yet and you want a fun, surprised out of your mind, fast paced, and orginal read then I totally recommend that you read it. =)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Really enjoyed this book
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Fast easy read. Really enjoyed it. Fun concept. Sequel wasn't worth it, but this book stands alone just fine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Pleasantly Surprising
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
The description of this book threw me from the beginning. Angels charging money for saving people’s lives in mainstream America? An Angel falls for a human and they are not able to be together because of the natural differences between them and laws that keep them apart? Sounded a little familiar to me… However, upon reading the first few chapters of the book, I immediately got sucked in. The first chapter itself is straight to the point, explaining the environment and context of the story in a few paragraphs. Even though the concept seemed dubious at first, Speer’s idea quickly became believable.
Speer writes in a third person perspective, switching from different characters perceptions throughout the novel, giving the reader an all-encompassing picture of this new America. The characters were one of the best parts about the book. Each character was three-dimensional and complex, just like any person in real life would be. None of the characters annoyed me like they sometimes can in young adult books, the characters made the story that much more real. Overall, the characters were what kept me thinking about the book even when I had to put it down to go eat, or sleep…
The writing was also surprisingly clever. The love story was somewhat predictable, but what love story isn’t? The murder-mystery plot going on however, continually kept me guessing. My guess for who was the culprit of the murders was right at the beginning of the book, but I probably changed my mind throughout the novel numerous times, so my first guess doesn’t count. Spoiler alert* I also never knew when Maddy was having her premonitions, the tells were so discrete that I didn’t notice them, even by the end of the book. The writing left too much room for interpretation in some parts in my opinion; it could have been more detailed (such as when Jacks flew out of his Commissioning and saved Maddy). However, most of the book left just enough room for interpretation, and many of the parts were deliciously detailed, such as when Jacks and Maddy were hiding under the counters in the school lab.
One more comment I would like to make is that the story would have been even more believable if Speer had gone into a little more detail about Angel history. The answer that, “Angels are unwilling to confirm or deny many parts about their history,” sounded a little bit like an excuse for not having to come up with a realistic and creative history for the Angels in this book. Also, the book claims the Angels decided to show themselves after the American Civil War because humans didn’t deserve to be served out of kindness anymore. But really, how many civil wars have taken place within the world before the American Civil War? Many. Why all of a sudden was it the American Civil War that prompted the Angels to reveal themselves after centuries of staying hidden? The answer of the Civil War seemed typically American.
Overall, Speer deserves a huge round of applause for his first novel. The writing was clever, the idea believable, and the characters unforgettable. I wonder if this is the last I will see of Jacks and Maddy, or whether Speer has more ideas in store for them. I really hope he does.

Credit to Michael Frost for the cover as well, beautiful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"If you've already read Wind's great novel, Queer as a Five Dollar Bill (2019), you know that there is solid..."
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
"Maraniss, whose Strong Inside covered Black basketball player Perry Wallace, turns his incredible research skills the the story of Glenn..."
The Train Your Brain Mind Exercise: 156 Puzzles for a Superior Mind
 
3.0
"The book sets expectations a bit high by touting the claim of unique puzzles for all skill levels, with a..."
Goodbye: A Story of Suicide
 
3.0
"A (quasi-creative?) non-fiction graphic novel, aimed at a Middle Grade or lower YA audience. It addresses the topic of bullying..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
"A compilation of excerpts from fifteen noteworthy speeches, selected from across American history. The chosen pieces represent great variety,..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm
 
5.0
"'Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm' by Bella Kuligowska Zucker is an incredibly moving tale of the author's search..."
Beauty Mark: A Verse Novel of Marilyn Monroe
 
5.0
"What worked: Haunting, tragic tale of the life of Marilyn Monroe, told in verse which gives a powerful punch to..."
Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life
 
5.0
"HOPE IN THE MAIL is an autobiographical account of the author’s life as it relates to her writing. Wendelin Van..."
Super Sons: The PolarShield Project
 
3.0
"An alternate reality take on the Super Sons series, featuring the middle-school aged offspring of Batman and Superman. When "climate..."
You Too?: 25 Voices Share Their #MeToo Stories
 
4.0
"What worked: Great compilation of personal essays inspired by the #YouToo movement. Each of the authors included in this anthology..."
This Is 18
 
5.0
"This is a fascinating view into what it's like to be a 18 year old girl throughout the world shown..."
They Called Us Enemy
 
4.0
"This graphic novel is an early life personal account of a major historical event (the internment of Japanese Americans durring..."
Poems to Live Your Life By
 
4.0
"POEMS TO LIVE YOUR LIFE BY is a collection in which each poem has been hand-picked by Chris Riddell, for..."
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."
No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One
 
4.0
"'No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One' by Paul Fleischman tells the story of the author..."
When the World Didn’t End: Poems
 
4.0
"Caroline Kaufman, otherwise known as @poeticpoison, has published her latest poems in WHEN THE WORLD DIDN’T END. The collection, which..."
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
4.0
"While there are a number of excellent books about women's suffrage available, including Kops' Alice Paul, Zimet's Roses and Radicals,..."
Imperfect: A Story of Body Image
 
3.5
"A memoir in graphic novel form, offering the personal account of a young Muslim girl’s nearly lifelong battle with perception,..."