Ripple

 
0.0
 
4.1 (3)
1656 1
Ripple
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
June 14, 2011
ISBN
1595144234
Buy This Book
      

Lexi is cursed with a dark secret. The water calls to her, draws her in, forces her to sing her deadly song to unsuspecting victims. If she succumbs, she kills. If she doesn't, the pain is unbearable. To keep herself and those she cares about safe, she shuts herself off, refusing to make friends or fall in love-again. Because the last time she fell in love with a boy, he ended up dead. Then Lexi finds herself torn. Against her better judgement, she's opening up agian, falling in love with someone new when she knows she shouldn't. But when she's offered the chance to finally live a normal life, she learns that the price she must pay to be free or her curse is giving him up.

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.1
Plot 
 
4.3  (3)
Characters 
 
4.0  (3)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Ripple
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
It was really good! Better than expected, completely kept my attention. I am now sad because there is no sequel. It was more contemporary romance than it was fantasy. Of course there are Sirens but this story is so much more than that.

The writing style was simplistic but elegant. The author didn't fill the novel with unnecessary details. She simply delivered the story of the characters, and everything unfolded beautifully.

Ripple turned out to be way more than what I expected it to be. I thought it was going to be a light read, and then when done, move onto the next book. But I am left still thinking about it and wanting more! I want to learn more about Lexi, Sirens and Nixes. Mandy Hubbard created such an engrossing novel, and delivered the theme beautifully. For readers that are apprehensive about the Sirens/Mermaids theme, pick up Ripple and give it a try. And for readers who are already fans, Ripple is a must!

I actually don't know why I gave it 4 Star rating because Ripple is so good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Fantastic mystery!
Sucked me in from the first page! Great hook! Anytime someone is murdered in the first chapter, my attention is caught. Hook, line, and sinker. (har har)

I have one small negative about this book, so I'll go ahead and get it out of the way first. The way things wrapped up with a certain character seemed a little rushed for me. It just happened too quickly and with a nice little bow. I need more than that.

With that being said, I can start listing all the things I loved. First, I loved that Lexie was a siren that didn't have a tail. How fresh! Now, don't get me wrong, I love a good mermaid tail in my merfolk story, but Ripple was so unique that it was only fitting not to include that detail. Yes, it's a story with a mermaid/siren (hence it's placement on my summer reading list), but that wasn't the focus of the story. There were so many different layers that made this story great and one-of-a-kind. It's like this coming of age, murder mystery, paranormal romance combo all rolled into one.

I also loved the characters. There were so many swoon worthy moments. I almost wrote them all down, but realized my hand would cramp before I listed them all. So, I just kept reading. The only character that didn't float my boat was the Nix. I never had a chance to connect with him like I did with the others. He felt a little flat (and with good reason). I even liked the crazy on-again/off-again best friend. She added the right amount of drama.

As for the author... love her. I didn't realize she wrote Prada and Prejudice (another fun read). Just like her other novel, Ripple had a light, airy feel about it. Heavy drama at times, but an easy read. I was quickly sucked into the story by the writing style. I couldn't stop reading! Long after my eyes started to blur and my head ache I found myself still reading. I had to know what would happen right then! A+ for that.

Simply put, this is another great mermaid book. It's different from the others and truly unique. If you're not a huge fans of mer-stories, I think you would still enjoy this one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Ripple (A Room with Books review)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
For about 2/3 of Ripple, I really didn’t think I was going to like it. It still wasn’t my favorite read, but Miss Hubbard managed to take just about everything I felt for this book and flip it all upside down within that last third and I ended up fairly satisfied.

Something about Lexi’s sob story of a life kind of set my teeth on edge at the beginning. No parents, no friends, no love. Just a lonely girl wanting companionship but pushing everyone away. I sort of understand why she pushed people away, but on the other hand it doesn’t really make sense. Yes, she was afraid of killing people, but it’s not like she’d go around killing people all the time if she was civil. That didn’t quite make sense to me.

Lexi and Cole’s relationship just felt so weird and unnecessary at the beginning. I didn’t like him or them together at all. By the end, though, the relationship really grew on me and I was inwardly rooting for the two.

I really liked Hubbard’s take on sirens. It definitely wasn’t your typical mythology and I love when a story can surprise me. Who knew mermaid’s could still be entertaining if they didn’t have tails ;P

The Nutshell: I really wasn’t feeling Ripple for the majority of the book, but I’m really glad I finished it. If you tend to give up on books easily, you’re either going to want to completely avoid this one or convince yourself to stick it out till the end. If you like a twist on your mermaid mythology with a dash of “I DID NOT see that coming!” then Ripple is worth the read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Awesome!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
This is the first book about sirens that I have ever read. I previously read “You Wish” by Mandy Hubbard, and completely feel in love with the breezy writing and luminous storytelling. I loved Lexi and Cole’s relationship. Erik really creeped me out, I knew something was off with him. It is a great read to get lost in!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."