All the Right Stuff

FeaturedHot
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
3706 0
All the Right Stuff
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
April 24, 2012
ISBN
978-0061960871
Buy This Book
      
A provocative new novel from the national ambassador for young people's literature and the New York Times bestselling author of Monster

Who's on top of the social food chain? How do you get ahead? Who makes the rules? Who needs to follow them?

Paul DuPree is working at a soup kitchen in Harlem the summer his father dies, just trying to get by. But Elijah, the soup man, won't stop talking about the social contract and asking Paul questions about heavy-duty things. Paul has never thought about this stuff. He'd rather hang out with Keisha, an unwed teen mom whose basketball skills rival his own.

Then Sly, a notorious Harlem big shot, shows up. Paul is both intrigued and intimidated by Sly and his conspiracy theories, and for once he starts contemplating how you really get ahead in life. As the talk of what-ifs turns into reality, Paul realizes his summer is about more than getting by—it's about taking charge of your life.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Thought Provoking
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Paul DuPree just wants to spend his summer working at his new job, saving a little bit of money, and getting by as best he can. Instead, his new boss challenges him on a daily basis to grapple with the idea of a social contract and with what it means to understand one's place in society and still get ahead in life.

To complicate matters, Sly, a notorious Harlem hoodlum-type character, has his own theories about the social contract, and they basically add up to this: the rich people on top conspire to keep the poor people on the bottom.

Paul, and his new friend Keisha, are caught somewhere in the middle of these two lines of thinking, and Paul has to grapple with this topic, and with the reality of his life in Harlem, before he can reach a conclusion that will give him a foundation on which to build his life.

I have mixed feelings about this book. One the one hand, Mr. Myers brilliantly unfolds the concept of the social contract. We start with theoretical examples and history, and the reader is able to distance himself from the concept. But as the book progresses, the examples hit closer to home until both Paul and the reader are forced to contend with some of the most difficult aspects of what it means to voluntarily give up some of our personal rights in order to benefit from and contribute to our society as a whole. Paul's journey, while difficult to really connect with at the beginning of the book, becomes easier to identify with as it becomes more personal. The final conclusion he reaches is one that will challenge readers to take a hard look at their lives, at personal responsibility, and at what it takes to pursue one's dreams even when it looks like those dreams are very far away.

On the other hand, this is a book with very little in the way of plot and true conflict. The conflict is internal, and the same themes of social contract are discussed at every opportunity. This is fine in conversations between Paul and his new boss because that's where the idea is first presented to us. But when Paul has a run-in with Sly, the hardcore Sly, without knowing about Paul's discussions with his boss Elijah, brings up the term "social contract" and proceeds to give Paul a firsthand example of his own view on the subject. I found that situation to stretch the bounds of believability. Most people never bring up the words "social contract" in casual conversation, and for two such different characters to both target Paul with this topic felt convenient for the author, but unbelievable in reality. Sly does provide a valuable counterpoint to Elijah's perspective, I just wish the author had found a more credible way to bring him into the equation.

I also struggled a bit with the fact that nothing much happened beyond countless conversations about the social contract. Until the last third of the book when the concept became truly personal for Paul, it was hard to maintain interest.

All of that said, I think if I'd gone into this book with the attitude that this is a story meant to provoke thoughtful discussion rather than to entertain, I would've been well served. This is a valuable book, and is definitely one I think should be taught in classrooms everywhere. Mr. Myers makes a difficult concept accessible to his readers, and he allows both sides of an argument (one for personal responsibility and one for conspiracy) to lie on the table without judgement so that the reader can work through the issue himself. This might not be the book that will keep you turning pages through the night, but it will be the book whose ideas will take root inside of you and continue to provoke thought long after you close the cover.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
"MOST LIKELY is a fantastic YA contemporary about friendship. The book starts with a woman becoming president and reflecting back..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."