My Beating Teenage Heart

 
4.7
 
3.3 (1)
1411 1
My Beating Teenage Heart
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
September 27, 2011
ISBN
0375868550
Buy This Book
      

Ashlyn Baptiste is falling. One moment she was nothing—no memories, no self—and then suddenly, she's plummeting through a sea of stars. Is she in a coma? She doesn't remember dying, and she has no memories of the life she left behind. All she knows is that she's trapped in a consciousness without a body and she's spending every moment watching a stranger.

Breckon Cody's on the edge. He's being ripped apart by grief so intense it literally hurts to breathe. On the surface, Breckon is trying to hold it together for his family and his girlfriend, but underneath he's barely hanging on.

Even though she didn't know him in life, Ashlyn sees Breckon's pain, and she's determined to find a way help him. As her own distressing memories emerge from the darkness, she struggles to communicate with the boy who can't see her, but whose life is suddenly intertwined with hers. In alternating voices of the main characters, My Beating Teenage Heart paints a devastatingly vivid picture of both the heartbreak and the promise of teenage life—a life Ashlyn would do anything to recover and Breckon seems desperate to destroy—and will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, John Green, and David Levithan.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

From Missy's Reads & Reviews
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
My Beating Teenage Heart is one of those books that keeps you guessing through a good portion of the story. You get a good feel of the characters and the plot is pretty easy to follow, but there’s still just some loose ends in the story that makes you wonder about what is really going on - or who a character really is. For me, I think that was the biggest hook of this novel.

Ashlyn and Breckon are both great characters, both dealing with their own issues that immediately sucks you in. Ashlyn is obviously stuck in this in-between place, where she’s tied to Breckon yet doesn’t understand why. Breckon is dealing with the grief and guilt that comes along with losing his sister. It’s not hard to understand exactly where his emotions come from, even if it’s a little difficult to empathize with the way that he actually deals with those emotions.

Patience is the key with this book. At first glance this story may seem like something that’s been done a few times before, but as you continue reading it most definitely becomes a whole lot more than what you may have expected. Clues to questions you may have while reading are slowly revealed and somehow wrap up cleanly at the end with no questions unanswered - and even a few tears when everything is completely revealed.

The writing is mesmerizing, as are the characters that will quickly win you over. This story isn’t exactly the happiest through and through, but ends on its own note of happily ever after with a message of hope and, more importantly, forgiveness. This book comes with the highest of recommendations from me.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Fascinating
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
One of my favorite bloggers, even though she doesn't blog much anymore, is Presenting Lenore. She's helping to host a twitter book club, the aim of which is to read books that are amazing but do not have nearly enough buzz. This is the first selection. Well, it definitely isn't well known enough, since I totally thought Yesterday was going to be Martin's debut. Apparently, she's written four books before that one.

The opening of My Beating Teenage Heart is quit alarming. You're thrown into some weird dream-state type thing with the heroine whose name you don't yet know. It's odd and mystical and it's hard to tell whether anything is real or a dream or what. Actually, the book continues to be this way. Ashlyn learns a bit about herself, but what she figures out results in more questions than answers. Breckon (we also get some chapters from his perspective) is mired in depression.

For me, this is one of those books where how much I likes it depended entirely on the explanation of what's going on. The writing is decent, but didn't especially resonate with me. The characters are both so whacked out on grief or confusion that I had trouble connecting to them. The plot is so strange, requiring some serious suspension of disbelief, but, if she pulled it off with the ending, it could definitely make the book epic.

Without a doubt, I can honestly say that My Beating Teenage Heart is unlike any YA book I've read before. It picks up steam very slowly, but, by the end, I was definitely engaged. For the first hundred or so pages, the melodrama of the narration irritated me, especially given the fogginess of Ashlyn's memory. Plus, she made so many assumptions that seemed strange to me.

Anyway, having now finished the book, I'm still not sure how I feel about it. On some levels, it was definitely really cool and thought provoking, and I'm certainly glad to have read it, but there were also aspects with which I did not reconcile. My main issue with the book I can't express to clearly without risking spoilers, but, basically, I do not get why Ashlyn's memory would ever work that way. However, on the plus side again, Martin can write the heck out of a steamy scene.

Looking at those labels at the bottom of the post, you might notice that they're not super happy times themes. Nor is the book at all light and fluffy. At all. Recommended to fans of Ilsa J. Bick and Laurie Halse Anderson. Although I didn't love this, I am now definitely looking forward to reading Yesterday more than I was before.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Anger, hurt, and rejection threaten Joshua’s ability to save the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bernita, a teenager from a prominent South American family, knows...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How do you fix a computer glitch that disappears before...
Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Part writing guide and part memoir, this inspiring book from...
Daniela and the Pirate Girls
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Who hasn’t heard of the legendary vessel, the Black Croc!...
Child of Galaxies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Your body was made from the stuff of the stars,...
Shy Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
He's not the type to stand out. In fact, unless...
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The voices that shaped LGBTQ Young Adult literature, Lambda Award-Winning...
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
 
0.0 (0)
In an idyllic community of wealthy California families, new teacher...
Slamdown Town
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ollie and his older brother, Hollis, have wrestling in their...
The Speed of Starlight: An Exploration of Physics, Sound, Light, and Space
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A contemporary exploration of physics, light, and sound told through...
1,000 Facts About Ancient Egypt
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mummies, pyramids, pharaohs, King Tut! Kids everywhere are fascinated by...

Latest Member Reviews

Daniela and the Pirate Girls
 
3.5
"DANIELA AND THE PIRATE GIRLS is a fun high-seas adventure about helping others and making new friends. Daniela is the..."
Child of Galaxies
 
4.0
"CHILD OF GALAXIES is a lovely poem about life and the broad meaning of it all. The poem begins by..."
Shy Ones
 
5.0
"SHY ONES is a sweet look at friendship and the people (or sea creatures) who are shy. The story is..."
Once Upon an Eid
 
5.0
"This collection has a wide variety of stories about different aspects of Eid, and is particularly poignant during this time..."
Slamdown Town
 
4.0
"Ollie is in 6th grade and is small for his age. His older brother, Hollis, is in 8th, and has..."
Ragweed and Poppy
 
3.5
"RAGWEED AND POPPY is an interesting middle grade novel that follows Ragweed, a mouse who is on a journey. Ragweed..."
The Right Place
 
3.5
"THE RIGHT PLACE is a picture book that stresses the importance of friends and home. Squirrel wakes up after a..."
I'm Sorry!
 
5.0
"I'M SORRY! is a fantastic picture book about apologizing and compromise. Swoop and Scribble are an owl and squirrel who..."
It's Impossible!
 
4.0
"IT'S IMPOSSIBLE! is a delightful road trip picture book that asserts things are only impossible if you say that they..."
The More We Get Together
 
5.0
"THE MORE WE GET TOGETHER takes the song and adds verses about how children can change the world. The book..."
Good Night, Moon 123 / Buenas Noches, Luna 123: A Counting Book / Un Libro para Contar
 
3.5
"GOODNIGHT, MOON 123 / BUENAS NOCHES, LUNA 123 is a fun counting book themed from the bedtime favorite, GOODNIGHT MOON...."
The Hideout
 
5.0
"If you are a fan of “Where the Wild Things Are” you will love “The Hideout” written by Susanna Mattiangeli..."
Circus Girl
 
3.0
"CIRCUS GIRL is a book about Sky, who dreams of being the star of the circus. The book begins when..."
A Friend for Bear
 
4.0
"A FRIEND FOR BEAR is a beautifully illustrated picture book about needing to slow down and enjoy life. Bear has..."
Up and Down Mom
 
5.0
"UP AND DOWN MOM is a really well done picture book about having a parent with bipolar disorder. The book..."
Gloria's Big Problem
 
3.0
"GLORIA'S BIG PROBLEM is about anxiety in children. Gloria's anxiety manifests as this large green being who follows her around..."
Zoom: Space Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: SPACE ADVENTURE is a fun journey through outer space with Ava. Ava is going on a space adventure, and..."
Escape Goat
 
5.0
"ESCAPE GOAT is an adorable picture book that ultimately teaches about scapegoating and the need for honesty. The goat lives..."
The Goldrush Girl
 
4.0
"Victoria Blaisdell (who likes to be called Tory even though her mother doesn't think it is proper) has a good..."
Deathstrike (Ultraball #2)
 
4.0
"After narrowly avoiding disaster in Ultraball, the Miners (coached by Strike) are back for a new season. When the team..."