The Goddess Hunt (Goddess Test #1.5)

Featured
 
5.0
 
4.0 (3)
2218 0
The Goddess Hunt (Goddess Test #1.5)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 01, 2012
ISBN
B006VD56J0
Buy This Book
      

A vacation in Greece sounds like the perfect way for Kate Winters to spend her first sabbatical away from the Underworld...until she gets caught up in an immortal feud going back millennia. Castor and Pollux have been on the run from Zeus and Hades's wrath for centuries, hiding from the gods who hunt them. The last person they trust is Kate, the new Queen of the Underworld. Nevertheless, she is determined to help their cause. But when it comes to dealing with immortals, Kate still has a lot to learn....

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Perfect Tide Over
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Oh my gosh, The Goddess Hunt by Aimee Carter was one brilliant read. It was definitely the best novella I have ever read. I instantly fell back in love with the world of The Goddess Test, and was just as enchanted by it as I was in reading both The Goddess Test and Goddess Interrupted.

I feel like we got spoiled with The Goddess Hunt. It is told from alternating points of views, Henry’s and Kate’s, and it was lovely. I just loved hearing from Henry because I love him as a character and he masks his emotions so much, that seeing into his head was really neat. I kind of hope now that we hear more from Henry in the future.

The plot was a lot of fun. It was neat to see what Kate is getting up to in her six months “off”. The strong side of Kate’s character really comes across in The Goddess Hunt. There were some new characters that are introduced in this one, that it would be cool to see again, as they were quite interesting.

So basically, The Goddess Hunt is an absolute must read. It was witty, charming, and all around awesome. Aimee Carter is such a talented writer, and now I will sit here and begin my wait for the next book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.3  (3)
Characters 
 
4.0  (3)
Writing Style 
 
3.7  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
A Worthwhile Read for Fans of the Series!
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
As a novella, The Goddess Hunt is actually very good. It has everything I look for in a novella – a story arc independent of the main series, a deeper glimpse into the characters, and a solid amount of content. But, while I found myself enjoying it for a novella, I did struggle to connect with some of the characters and thus, cared very little about the outcome.

Taking place immediately after The Goddess Test, The Goddess Hunt shows Kate and James during their first day in Greece. I was immediately reminded of why I’m not a James fan, as he spends most of his time with Kate making her uncomfortable by flirting and dropping sexual innuendos that she repeatedly rebuffs after reminding him that she is now, and will always be, loyal to her new husband. He also purposely strays from their tour group in order to meet up with Lux (Pollux) and Casey (Castor), without informing Kate of his ulterior motives. It’s not long before they realize that Kate is now Queen of the Underworld, and all hell breaks loose.

Kate is as feisty and stubborn as always, which is something I really love about her. The reason it didn’t sit so well with me in The Goddess Hunt however, was because I couldn’t understand why she was being so stubborn over two brothers whom she had just met. While the idea of an eternity apart did sound like cruel and unjust torture, Kate didn’t even bother to think that perhaps Henry (Hades) had good reasons for wanting to return Casey to the Underworld where he belonged. She also didn’t bother to ask Water (Zeus) for his side of the story, immediately believing the worst of him. (Granted, James did confirm that his intentions were of a devious nature, but she didn’t know that at the time!)

Fortunately for The Goddess Hunt, it’s told from both Kate and Henry’s PoVs and I was finally given some insight into the inner workings of Henry’s mind! After finishing The Goddess Test and jumping into Goddess Interrupted shortly after, I was desperate for a peek into Henry’s thoughts. I needed to see that he did care for Kate, and that he wasn’t letting his situation with Persephone taint their new relationship; he was just always so closed off that I was never able to truly understand what he was thinking or feeling. It was great to see him struggle with staying away from Kate, especially when she was so upset, and that he respected her enough to keep his distance and honour their agreement, however much it pained him to see her with James. It was also enlightening (and thrilling) to see that he was willing to change and to forgive, in order to keep Kate happy, even though she might never know of his involvement. His selflessness when it comes to Kate is admirable and something I will cling to when he acts with coldness or nonchalance in future books, as a way to keep his heart safe.

For such a short read, a lot happens and we learn a lot about the various characters who do make an appearance. While I wouldn’t say that The Goddess Hunt is a necessary read, it’s definitely a worthwhile read for fans of the series, especially if, like me, you’ve been anxious for a peek into Henry’s thoughts!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
The Goddess Hunt by Aimee Carter
(Updated: September 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
-
HS
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
TIME OFF?
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Kate is having her six month time off but instead off the perfect holiday- relaxing in a beach getting tanned- she gets sucked in the middle of an immortal feud going back millions of years.
It doesn't help that Henry also plays a big part in this feud. She starts to wonder if these so called gods are not as good as they pretend to be. But all she knows and cares about is that its not right to keep people who love each other very much apart and she will take great lengths that they have more time together.
She knows that feeling of being alone and she doesn't want that to happen to anyone else.

I love how Aimee Carter wrote this book in different people's point of view especially Henry's view. He's so calm and shows no emotion which makes it great to get a glimpse of what he's thinking because you never know from his actions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."