The Goddess Hunt (Goddess Test #1.5)

Featured
 
5.0
 
4.0 (3)
2867 0
The Goddess Hunt (Goddess Test #1.5)
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 01, 2012
ISBN
B006VD56J0
Buy This Book
      

A vacation in Greece sounds like the perfect way for Kate Winters to spend her first sabbatical away from the Underworld...until she gets caught up in an immortal feud going back millennia. Castor and Pollux have been on the run from Zeus and Hades's wrath for centuries, hiding from the gods who hunt them. The last person they trust is Kate, the new Queen of the Underworld. Nevertheless, she is determined to help their cause. But when it comes to dealing with immortals, Kate still has a lot to learn....

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The Perfect Tide Over
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Oh my gosh, The Goddess Hunt by Aimee Carter was one brilliant read. It was definitely the best novella I have ever read. I instantly fell back in love with the world of The Goddess Test, and was just as enchanted by it as I was in reading both The Goddess Test and Goddess Interrupted.

I feel like we got spoiled with The Goddess Hunt. It is told from alternating points of views, Henry’s and Kate’s, and it was lovely. I just loved hearing from Henry because I love him as a character and he masks his emotions so much, that seeing into his head was really neat. I kind of hope now that we hear more from Henry in the future.

The plot was a lot of fun. It was neat to see what Kate is getting up to in her six months “off”. The strong side of Kate’s character really comes across in The Goddess Hunt. There were some new characters that are introduced in this one, that it would be cool to see again, as they were quite interesting.

So basically, The Goddess Hunt is an absolute must read. It was witty, charming, and all around awesome. Aimee Carter is such a talented writer, and now I will sit here and begin my wait for the next book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.3  (3)
Characters 
 
4.0  (3)
Writing Style 
 
3.7  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
A Worthwhile Read for Fans of the Series!
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
As a novella, The Goddess Hunt is actually very good. It has everything I look for in a novella – a story arc independent of the main series, a deeper glimpse into the characters, and a solid amount of content. But, while I found myself enjoying it for a novella, I did struggle to connect with some of the characters and thus, cared very little about the outcome.

Taking place immediately after The Goddess Test, The Goddess Hunt shows Kate and James during their first day in Greece. I was immediately reminded of why I’m not a James fan, as he spends most of his time with Kate making her uncomfortable by flirting and dropping sexual innuendos that she repeatedly rebuffs after reminding him that she is now, and will always be, loyal to her new husband. He also purposely strays from their tour group in order to meet up with Lux (Pollux) and Casey (Castor), without informing Kate of his ulterior motives. It’s not long before they realize that Kate is now Queen of the Underworld, and all hell breaks loose.

Kate is as feisty and stubborn as always, which is something I really love about her. The reason it didn’t sit so well with me in The Goddess Hunt however, was because I couldn’t understand why she was being so stubborn over two brothers whom she had just met. While the idea of an eternity apart did sound like cruel and unjust torture, Kate didn’t even bother to think that perhaps Henry (Hades) had good reasons for wanting to return Casey to the Underworld where he belonged. She also didn’t bother to ask Water (Zeus) for his side of the story, immediately believing the worst of him. (Granted, James did confirm that his intentions were of a devious nature, but she didn’t know that at the time!)

Fortunately for The Goddess Hunt, it’s told from both Kate and Henry’s PoVs and I was finally given some insight into the inner workings of Henry’s mind! After finishing The Goddess Test and jumping into Goddess Interrupted shortly after, I was desperate for a peek into Henry’s thoughts. I needed to see that he did care for Kate, and that he wasn’t letting his situation with Persephone taint their new relationship; he was just always so closed off that I was never able to truly understand what he was thinking or feeling. It was great to see him struggle with staying away from Kate, especially when she was so upset, and that he respected her enough to keep his distance and honour their agreement, however much it pained him to see her with James. It was also enlightening (and thrilling) to see that he was willing to change and to forgive, in order to keep Kate happy, even though she might never know of his involvement. His selflessness when it comes to Kate is admirable and something I will cling to when he acts with coldness or nonchalance in future books, as a way to keep his heart safe.

For such a short read, a lot happens and we learn a lot about the various characters who do make an appearance. While I wouldn’t say that The Goddess Hunt is a necessary read, it’s definitely a worthwhile read for fans of the series, especially if, like me, you’ve been anxious for a peek into Henry’s thoughts!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
The Goddess Hunt by Aimee Carter
(Updated: September 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
-
HS
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
TIME OFF?
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Kate is having her six month time off but instead off the perfect holiday- relaxing in a beach getting tanned- she gets sucked in the middle of an immortal feud going back millions of years.
It doesn't help that Henry also plays a big part in this feud. She starts to wonder if these so called gods are not as good as they pretend to be. But all she knows and cares about is that its not right to keep people who love each other very much apart and she will take great lengths that they have more time together.
She knows that feeling of being alone and she doesn't want that to happen to anyone else.

I love how Aimee Carter wrote this book in different people's point of view especially Henry's view. He's so calm and shows no emotion which makes it great to get a glimpse of what he's thinking because you never know from his actions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While...
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
MAY THE HAZEL BRING YOU WISDOM AND THE ASPEN...
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account...
Kneel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through...

Latest Member Reviews

Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
Whose Big Rig?
 
4.7
"WHOSE BIG RIG? is a delightful board book that takes children through the vehicles involved in building a light rail,..."
Spi-ku: A Clutter of Short Verse on Eight Legs
 
4.3
"From the creative team that brought us Amphibian Acrobats and Superlative Birds, we now have this poetic treatment about every..."
Treemendous: Diary of a Not Yet Mighty Oak
 
5.0
"A small acorn chronicles her life in diary format from her start to her twentieth year. We see how an..."
Unbound: The Life and Art of Judith Scott
 
4.3
"Bornin 1943, twins Judith and Joyce Scott were close. They played with dolls and tea sets, and had adventures outside...."
Just Pretend
 
4.3
"In this graphic memoir, we see Tori as she is going into 7th grade. She and her friend spend a..."
Everything You Need to Know When You Are 10
 
4.3
"This starts with a list of things every ten year old needs, like a library card, a calendar, and a..."
What's Up, Fire Truck? (A Pop Magic Book): Folds into a 3-D Truck!
 
3.7
"WHAT'S UP, FIRE TRUCK? is an innovative book design that includes lots of lift-the-flap pages and then folds into a..."
The Stuff Between the Stars
 
5.0
"The Stuff Between the Stars by Sandra Nickel is a beautifully illustrated biography of Vera Rubin, the woman astronomer credited..."
Flip Flap Snap: Farm
 
5.0
"Flip Flap Snap: Farm by Joanna McInerney, artwork by Carmen Saldaña, will immediately engage young readers. While lifting the flaps..."
Flip Flap Snap: Dinosaurs
 
5.0
"Flip Flap Snap: Dinosaurs by Joanna McInerney, artwork by Carmen Saldaña, is an adorable book for young readers. While lifting..."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Missing: The True Story of My Family in World War II
 
5.0
"My Name Ollis Bator from Tx USA. After 12years of marriage, me and my husband have been into one quarrel..."
The Missing: The True Story of My Family in World War II
 
4.0
"‘The Missing: The True Story of My Family in WWII’ by Michael Rosen shares the story of a family who..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: FORESTS OF THE WORLD is an approachable nonfiction book that teaches about different kinds of forests, from..."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."