The One That I Want

Featured
 
3.0
 
2.3 (1)
2713 0
The One That I Want
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 07, 2012
ISBN
1442452366
Buy This Book
      

Gemma can't believe her luck when the star football player starts flirting with her. Max is totally swoon-worthy, and even gets her quirky sense of humor. So when he asks out her so-called best friend Addison, Gemma's heartbroken. Then Addison pressures Gemma to join the date with one of Max's friends. But the more time they all spend together, the harder Gemma falls for Max. She can't help thinking that Max likes her back--it's just too bad he's already dating Addison. How can Gemma get the guy she wants without going after her best friend's boyfriend?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

This wasn't the one I wanted.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I read this in one sitting and wanted to love this book, I really did but the magic just wasn't there for me.

I always enjoy Echols easy style of writing which flows nicely and makes for both enjoyable as well as fast reading. Her characters have depth even if I don't always like them (Addison) and I like that she doesn't stick to generic boys. Max is Japanese and he.is.hawt. *swoon* It's nice to have culturally diverse hot book boys who aren't some sort of vampire, werewolf or demon AND who aren't the stereotypical blond hair, blue-eyed type. (There's nothing wrong with the All-American boy, I *hearts* them too, in fact, I married one and gave life to one but it's nice to have a good representation of what society is really like.)

Gemma is willing to stand up for herself to a certain extent but the constant emphasis on her weight and body shape made me sad for her. I wanted her to be more comfortable in her own skin. The fact that she and Addison were majorette's seemed a little dated to me. I haven't seen any girls twirl a baton since I was in elementary school and that was a "few" *coughs* years ago. Maybe its popular in the South? I'm not sure. Cheer leading still reigns supreme in these parts. Speaking of Addison...to say I didn't like her is an understatement. She made me physically ill. I would've called her lame rear out years ago regardless of how much junk I had in my own trunk at the time. She epitomizes "Mean Girl". *ick*

I really wish Max had been more clued into Gemma earlier on in the book because as smart as he is he sure acted pretty clueless and wasted a whole bunch of time with Addison. I would've like to have seen a little more Gemmax/Maxemma time in the book but that's just me.

I have no doubt that a lot of readers will fall in love with this story and I think that's awesome! This one just wasn't for me. My favorite Jennifer Echols read so far has been "Forget You".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
2.0  (1)
Characters 
 
2.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
for younger teens
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Jennifer Echols did it for the second time! I thought Love Story will be the only book I would be disappointed. The One That I Want reminds me of those Lauren Barnholdt books. It was sweet,but maybe a little bit too sweet for my taste. Sure it was written for younger teens and maybe I should stop the rant because,well,younger readers tend to eat up almost everything they read as long as there is some kissing involved. I should know,I was one of those kids.

We have your typical 'fat' girl who gets a hot body,good looking guy and a mean best friend that is NOT a friend at all. Anyone who knows me would tell you that I don't put up with shit from anybody so the main reason I didn't enjoyed this book was that Gemma (the main character) takes so much crap from her besty Addison I can't even... But like in all other 'happy ending books' she lets go of the leach and sails into the sunset with her beau.

I don't know,it just wasn't right for me. Maybe I should stick to Echols' romantic dramas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."