Friends With Boys

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1979 0
Friends With Boys
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 28, 2012
ISBN
978-1596435568
Buy This Book
      

Maggie McKay hardly knows what to do with herself. After an idyllic childhood of homeschooling with her mother and rough-housing with her older brothers, it’s time for Maggie to face the outside world, all on her own. But that means facing high school first. And it also means solving the mystery of the melancholy ghost who has silently followed Maggie throughout her entire life. Maybe it even means making a new friend—one who isn’t one of her brothers.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

New Graphic novel
(Updated: February 06, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
The premise of this graphic novel intrigued me. I'm a homeschooling mom, so I had to see what the author did with her homeschooled character Maggie. Seems after her mother 'left', Maggie has to attend the public school high school. She's nervous and afraid she won't make any friends. The high school hallways scene is so realistic. I mean, what homeschooler wouldn't freak out being around tons of kids after being sheltered in a home situation?

I love the interactions Maggie has with her brothers. So real and funny. I know as I grew up in a family of nine. The fights, arguments, and tender moments between siblings is so true. I love the family dynamics which aren't over the top.

I like how Maggie does connect with the so-called freaks at the school. Lucy is someone who dances to her own beat with an innocence that is refreshing. She's not the stereotypical hardcore goth girl with a chip on her shoulder. Love it. Her brother Alistair is stand-offish with his own secret. Add to all this a ghost that haunts Maggie, who seems resigned to it. I really didn't get where the ghost fit into this story unless it was to help with the climax of the tale. I wanted more story on the mysterious ghost and why was she haunting Maggie and no one else.

Otherwise, Maggie is a character that is very real with her emotions especially with her struggle to understand why her mother, who homeschooled her most of her life, decided to leave the family. The sibling interaction is my favorite part of this story, along with the illustrations. Plus the scene where Maggie takes her new friends to see the horror movie Alien is classic!

Another first second graphic book winner!
Good Points
1. Great illustrations
2. Love the interaction between Maggie and her brothers
3. Intriguing twist
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."