A Breath of Eyre

Featured
 
4.5 (2)
 
4.7 (1)
2643 1
A Breath of Eyre
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
March 27, 2012
ISBN
978-0758269485
Buy This Book
      

A scholarship student at an exclusive prep school, Emma Townsend feels like an outsider. Her stepmother doesn't come close to filling the void left by her mother's death. And her only romantic prospect - apart from a crush on her English teacher - is Gray Newman, a long-time friend who just adds to Emma's confusion. "Escape" comes in the old leather-bound copy of Jane Eyre that Emma receives as a gift. Then a lightning storm catapults Emma right into Jane's body and her nineteenth-century world. As governess at Thornfield, Emma experiences a sense of belonging she's never felt before, and a growing attraction to the brooding Mr. Rochester. Now, moving between two realities and uncovering secrets in both, Emma must decide whether her destiny lies in the pages of Jane's story, or in the unwritten chapters of her own...

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Torn Between Two Worlds
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Since my high school days I have always loved Charlotte Brontë and most especially Jane Eyre; the Gothic romance, the mysterious woman in the attic, the haunted nature of the Yorkshire Moors. When I studied in England I lived in York very close to the moors in the novel. Haunting and mesmerizing are just two words I could use to describe the landscape. It is this same feeling Eve Marie Mont brought to her novel.

Emma must go on her own journey. She has depth. She is torn. I loved how Mont gave her multiple dimensions. She moves flawlessly through two realities, her own world and that of Jane's Yorkshire,England. Monte has classic style storytelling. The reader does not get lost through the changes of time and is allowed to feel the same jarring that Emma feels when she is first torn away into a different world.

The female reader can instantly connect to Emma whether she is 12 or 65; the sense feeling confident yet unsure, too visible yet invisible, safe yet uncertain, and yet a sense of where you are going but not where you came from. The woman who wants to speak her mind yet hides her courage behind locked doors.

I have to admit my love affair with Jane Eyre started to diminish after years of teaching the novel. I would like to thank Eve Marie Monte for allowing me to fall in love with the novel all over again. I recommend this book to readers who have read Jane Eyre (even if you didn’t like it) and those who have yet to discover the magic locked in its pages. Looking forward to her next novel with bated breath.

Good Points
Great hook into the classic!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jane Eyre comes to life
(Updated: January 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I really loved this story. I admit I'm a huge Jane Austen fan so when I read the blurb for A Breath of Eyre I knew I had to read it. Mont takes an intriguing premise and breathes fresh air on it. Great writing and pacing keeps the story moving.

Emma is a scholarship student to a very expensive prep school. She's bored and wants something more and when she gets an old leather-bound copy of Jane Eyre, she falls in love with the story. Later, after she's struck by lightning, she finds herself transported to the story as Jane Eyre. This part of the story was my favorite. But there's something not quite the same with the version that's she living and the story we all know. While at Thornfield she finds that she has choices to make. Choices that can change the outcome of the story.

Gray is her childhood friend that ends up not being what the gossip makes him out to be. Emma isn't sure whether to trust her heart or continue to compare him to Mr. Rochester, who looks an awful lot like her English teacher. One thing I loved about this book is that it doesn't play up the school girl crush on her high school teacher but rather gives Emma choices that are more realistic. Her room-mate Michelle is outspoken but also shows some vulnerabilities that ring true. There's also the mean girl, Elise, who's almost too nasty. I kind of wanted to see a chip in her mean armor that wasn't just that she was a pot head.

Great premise with writing that sweeps you right along. I want more! There's two more books in this series. Next year Emma ends up in the Scarlet letter in the book A Touch of Scarlet. A total must read for fans of Austen and those who love a historical based YA with some paranormal elements.
Good Points
1. Fun premise of girl actually going into Jane Eyre story and becoming Jane
2. Great chemistry between Emma and her childhood friend Gray
3. Great way to get teens interested in reading the classic
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Very different, very amazing!!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
This is a very interesting book, I have never come across this type of book before. I have read books about people going into paintings, parallel universes and hidden rooms, but never another book. I loved how Emma became Jane Eyre, and lost her real self when she was caught up in Jane's world.

I thought it was very clever how the real people she knew where other people in Jane's life. Anna as Adele, Mr Rochester and her english teacher, and her french teacher as the head maid. This made it mirror her life, so it bought a new twist. I love the ending of her leaving Jane's life, saying that her and Jane were very different, as Jane stuck to the rules and forgave Mr Rochester, where as Emma was a rebel!

I thought the ending was pretty lame, as the Jane Eyre part of the book had died away, and went back to a realistic teenager's life (except with the lightning and other incidents). The father and daughter connection was really nice, and I loved it.

I think this book needed to change the ending, but it was really awesome other than that one part. I think everyone should read this book!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...

Latest Member Reviews

Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
"I have never read the original Artemis Fowl books but now I absolutely intend to. The Fowl Twins is highly..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: Beat the Clock
 
5.0
"Brilliant. This was the perfect book to read with my five year old niece. It's every bit as..."
Amelia Bedelia & Friends: The Cat's Meow
 
5.0
"Cute and Fun There's no end to the adorableness of Amelia Bedelia and this book is no different. Amelia..."
The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
"THE MONSTER HYPOTHESIS is a really fun middle grade investigative mystery. Kick is living with her grandmother, a fake psychic..."
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
"Ren and Kip aren't sure what to expect when they visit their Aunt for Halloween. She works at an Old..."
Stuffed
 
4.0
"STUFFED follows Clark and Foon. Clark is a boy who loves stuffed animals and feels that they keep him safe...."
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF THE WORD is another absolutely delightful interactive story, where you are the main character in the book...."
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
"RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
4.0
"Jack and Annie get an invitation from "M" to spend Christmas in Camelot, which excites them since they haven't heard..."
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
4.0
"Marty Fontana and his mother move to a new town for her job, and have a house that belonged to..."
The Big Game
 
4.0
"Danny lives in Texas with his mother and former Pittsburgh Steelers player father, who now sells farm machinery. The father..."
Pippa Park Raises Her Game
 
4.0
"Pippa loves to play basketball and struggles a tiny bit in school. She lives with her much older sister, Mina,..."