Good For You (Between The Lines #3)

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2356 0
Good For You (Between The Lines #3)
Publisher
Age Range
14+
Release Date
December 15, 2011
ISBN
B006MVYXHW
Buy This Book
      
Reid Alexander's life is an open book. His Hollywood celebrity means that everything he does plays out in the public eye. Every relationship, every error in judgment is analyzed by strangers. His latest mistake totaled his car, destroyed a house and landed him in the hospital. Now his PR team is working overtime to salvage his image. One thing is clear—this is one predicament he won’t escape without paying for it. Dori Cantrell is a genuine humanitarian—the outward opposite of everything Reid is about. When his DUI plea bargain lands him under her community service supervision, she proves unimpressed with his status and indifferent to his proximity, and he soon wants nothing more than to knock her off of her pedestal and prove she's human.Counting the days until his month of service is over, Dori struggles to ignore his wicked magnetic pull while shocking him with her ability to see past his celebrity and challenging him to see his own wasted potential. But Dori has secrets of her own, safely locked away until one night turns her entire world upside down. Suddenly their only hope for connection and redemption hinges on one choice: whether or not to have faith in each other.Author Recommendation: Mature Young Adults (language, drinking, sexual situations)

Editor reviews

2 reviews

It just keeps getting better!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Wow, just wow! Each book in this series is better than the one before! This is Dori and Reid's story and I have to say, I was NOT a Reid Alexander fan AT ALL. However, this third installment in the "Between the Lines" series demonstrates beautifully how no one is beyond redemption regardless of the choices they've made in the past.

Dori is a pastor's daughter who is the epitome of "good girl", or so everyone thinks. She lives out her faith in tangible ways but Reid is the one person who will push her to her limits. When tragedy strikes, she'll find out exactly what she believes in and what Reid is made of.

Reid is back and as horrible as ever, in the beginning at least. He gets a serious wake-up call after depositing his new Porche inside a house after a night of partying. Forced to do community service as part of his sentence, he's convinced the mere thought of volunteering is the worst thing to happen to him, until he meets Dori. Reid is used to people fawning all over him and meeting his every need but Dori is the first to call him on his crap. (high fives her!)

They spend a few weeks working side by side (which vaguely resembles two cats having their tales tied together and tossed over a clothesline) but eventually discover their similarities outweigh their differences. Reid's not as hopeless as he behaves and Dori doesn't have it all together. Their relationship is not an easy one which I was glad for. They have to learn to work on themselves before they can even attempt anything more than friendship and even that isn't a guarantee.

Good Points
This series may be set in young Hollywood but the issues they deal with are very real.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
From Missy's Reads & Reviews
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
This is the third book in Tammara Webber's Between The Line series. If you follow this blog regularly, then you know that I loved the first book in the series, Between the Lines. Its sequel, Where You Are, absolutely blew me away. Going into this book, I had very high expectations because Tammara had already spoiled me so with the two books before. I was a little nervous... certainly an author couldn't hit three home runs in a row in the same series, could she?

Uh, yeah, she could. And she did!

I'll have to admit, I did want to have a little more nostalgia in this book by including more scenes with Emma and Graham. But alas, their story has been told and, while there is slight mention of them in this book, the universe of this novel centers around Reid and what happens following the explosive ending of Where You Are.

There is not a male lead in Young Adult history that I want to both slap and swoon over simultaneously more than one Reid Alexander. He is, by far, THE quintessential bad boy that all bad boys wish they could be like. And he has everything to support that attitude - the money, the fame, the looks and it all gives him the right to do what he wants whenever he wants. Oh, yes.. how I hate to love Reid so much! This book is definitely Reid's story and we are allowed an even more in-depth look into his mind and his world, giving us much more insight into who he really is than we have ever had before.

I was a bit disappointed to start this book off knowing that the progress Reid made in the books before all but disappeared. But without it, we would never have the opportunity to meet Dori Cantrell - a girl who rivals the likes of Emma in that she is just as strong a character and is much more suited for Reid. How so? Dori is pretty resilient to the charm of Reid Alexander. Even when the sparks begin to fly between the two of them, she still holds her own and never lets him walk all over her. Without that, I don't think that Reid would have been given that opportunity that he needed to become a better Reid. Dori isn't perfect of course - I think she gives too much worry into what people expect and think of her than she needs to. Still, it's a part of who she is and it makes her that much more endearing.

This is probably going to sound like a broken record from the first two reviews, but I cannot say enough good things about this book. It is by far one of my favorite contemporary reads and is part of one of my absolute favorite contemporary series. I don't think that it could get much better than this, but I would love to see Tammara Webber try!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"If you've already read Wind's great novel, Queer as a Five Dollar Bill (2019), you know that there is solid..."
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
"Maraniss, whose Strong Inside covered Black basketball player Perry Wallace, turns his incredible research skills the the story of Glenn..."
The Train Your Brain Mind Exercise: 156 Puzzles for a Superior Mind
 
3.0
"The book sets expectations a bit high by touting the claim of unique puzzles for all skill levels, with a..."
Goodbye: A Story of Suicide
 
3.0
"A (quasi-creative?) non-fiction graphic novel, aimed at a Middle Grade or lower YA audience. It addresses the topic of bullying..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
"A compilation of excerpts from fifteen noteworthy speeches, selected from across American history. The chosen pieces represent great variety,..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm
 
5.0
"'Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm' by Bella Kuligowska Zucker is an incredibly moving tale of the author's search..."
Beauty Mark: A Verse Novel of Marilyn Monroe
 
5.0
"What worked: Haunting, tragic tale of the life of Marilyn Monroe, told in verse which gives a powerful punch to..."
Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life
 
5.0
"HOPE IN THE MAIL is an autobiographical account of the author’s life as it relates to her writing. Wendelin Van..."
Super Sons: The PolarShield Project
 
3.0
"An alternate reality take on the Super Sons series, featuring the middle-school aged offspring of Batman and Superman. When "climate..."
You Too?: 25 Voices Share Their #MeToo Stories
 
4.0
"What worked: Great compilation of personal essays inspired by the #YouToo movement. Each of the authors included in this anthology..."
This Is 18
 
5.0
"This is a fascinating view into what it's like to be a 18 year old girl throughout the world shown..."
They Called Us Enemy
 
4.0
"This graphic novel is an early life personal account of a major historical event (the internment of Japanese Americans durring..."
Poems to Live Your Life By
 
4.0
"POEMS TO LIVE YOUR LIFE BY is a collection in which each poem has been hand-picked by Chris Riddell, for..."
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."
No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One
 
4.0
"'No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One' by Paul Fleischman tells the story of the author..."
When the World Didn’t End: Poems
 
4.0
"Caroline Kaufman, otherwise known as @poeticpoison, has published her latest poems in WHEN THE WORLD DIDN’T END. The collection, which..."
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
4.0
"While there are a number of excellent books about women's suffrage available, including Kops' Alice Paul, Zimet's Roses and Radicals,..."
Imperfect: A Story of Body Image
 
3.5
"A memoir in graphic novel form, offering the personal account of a young Muslim girl’s nearly lifelong battle with perception,..."