Otherkin

Featured
 
0.0
 
4.2 (2)
2293 0
Otherkin
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 31, 2012
ISBN
978-0758276919
Buy This Book
      
I thought I knew myself. Then I met Caleb. Dez is a good girl who does as she’s told and tries not to be noticed. Then she rescues a boy from a cage, and he tells her secrets about herself. Now inside her burns a darkness that will transform her. Everything is about to change -- and neither Caleb, nor the Otherkin, nor those who hunt them are prepared for what Dez will unleas

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.2
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Quick, fun read. Good, not great
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Otherkin by Nina Berry
ARC received by Kensington Teen via LibraryThing Early Reviewers
ON SHELVES NOW
Reviewed by: Middle Sis Jenn
The Sisters Say: A tantalizing world full of danger and desire

Thank you to Kensington Teen and Library Thing Early Reviewers for this ARC!
When I was getting ready to read this book, I really didn’t know what to expect. Most of the books that I’ve read about shifters were okay—not bad enough to put aside but not good enough to elicit a memory in my mental “Read” shelf. BUT, Otherkin caught my attention from Chapter 1.

I loved that this book started with a bang. I didn’t have to go through chapter after chapter of character building before getting to the good stuff. Instead, the character building was done alongside the action—the best kind of plot in my opinion. In the first few pages, Desdemona shifts into a tiger and is drugged and kidnapped by The Tribunal, a secret society bent on eliminating all shifters from this world.

You like how I say “this” world—not our world? That was one of my favorite parts of the book. Once Dez wakes up, she finds herself in a cage. In the cage next to her is a boy—Caleb. After escaping and rescuing Caleb, Dez is introduced to the “one world that lies closest to our own.” (Pg. 25) Caleb explains that there are many worlds—each lying right next to the other. I really enjoyed how Nina explained this part—how each world affects the other.
It was intriguing and opened up my sense of wonder about what really lies in our universe. The world next to ours, the Othersphere, is made of shadow—a shadow full of power that can be transferred to our world. And that is when things get really good! Nina continues to build each of these worlds as the story continues, and they each become more and more fascinating as new things are revealed.

So…let’s get to the character you are all wondering about! Caleb…resident hottie and caller of shadow (the other world). He’s full of power and charm, and he will automatically catch your attention. But you can tell that he is also full of secrets. I really love books where you just don’t know who you can trust—and this is one of those books. Your loyalty to Caleb will waver, but you still won’t be able to help but fall for him. And just wait until his secret is uncovered…

Nina was not afraid to shy away from sexual tension. This book was full of it—and there are a couple scenes of nakedness. Yes, I said nakedness. However, I do wish there would have been more instances of Nina and Caleb seizing that sexual tension in an all out passion-filled kiss. But, the book was short on that type of yummy romance. Hopefully, there will be more in the next one.

Overall, I found this book captivating, and I will definitely be looking forward to the sequel. There were some times when the action slowed down, but it was not so slow to lose my interest. Nina built these worlds very well, and I can’t wait to see more of the shadow world—and Caleb, of course.

So, I will leave you with my favorite quote from the book (this is Caleb talking to Dez):
“Did you know that once you save somebody’s life, their yours forever?”


Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Interesting
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
With shifters and shadow callers, Otherkin is set in a fantastic hidden world. With the shadow world touching the normal one, certain people pull power from it. It was great to see such an awesome world.
Good Points
The characters are great!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."