What She Left Behind

Featured
 
0.0
 
4.3 (2)
2658 0
What She Left Behind
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
May 01, 2012
ISBN
978-1442439511
Buy This Book
      
In this suspenseful thriller, Sara and her mother are going to secretly escape her abusive father—when her mother mysteriously disappears. Her father says that she’s on a business trip, but Sara knows he’s lying. Her mom is missing—and her dad had something to do with it. With each day that passes, Sara’s more on edge. Her friends know that something’s wrong, but she won’t endanger anyone else with her secret. And with her dad growing increasingly violent, Sara must figure out what happened to her mom before it’s too late…for them both.

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
what she left behind
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What She Left Behind brings a whole new meaning to “disappearing parent syndrome”!

Did I just make that joke? Really? Wow, I’m awful. Sorry!

(But isn’t it funny!?)

This review is brought to you by Renae, possessor of a bad sense of humor.

I think it says something about the state of YA fiction (and YA readers), that in a book that deals with a topic as hard-hitting and uncomfortable as domestic abuse, my favorite part about What She Left Behind was the romance. What exactly does it say? Probably nothing good, but I’m mostly okay with that.

See, I don’t like bossy, bastardly alpha males; I tolerate them, but I’d just as soon not read about them. I like guys who are caring, who are actually nice to the female protagonist, who don’t toy with her or come across as creepy/rude/abusive/controlling/etc. Maybe they have a dark, tortured past, maybe they don’t. But dammit, I like the nice guys!

Sara’s love interest, Alex, was a nice guy. And he’s going on my (newly invented) list of book boyfriends. So there.

But see, that goes back to what I said before: Sara is dealing with her mother’s probable death at the hands of her father. Why in heck to I care about who she is or is not kissing? I shouldn’t, that’s for sure. I should be much more invested in getting Sara’s dad sent to jail, not plotting happily-ever-afters between the lines.

I have no clue why this happens in YA books. Don’t care, though—I end up with a lot of paper-and-ink boyfriends.

Anyway, that was a rant, also brought to you by Renae, notorious lover of nice guys.

Now to the real review.

Tracy Bilen did an excellent job with What She Left Behind. Sara’s situation was very emotional and believable. It was only too easy to see that Sara’s dad, after his son’s suicide, went a little crazy, and that this craziness only exacerbated his already abusive tendencies. And boy was Sara’s dad off his rocker. By the time you get to the end of this book, you’ll be thinking “oh my word, how much worse can this guy get?” and then he’ll manage to surprise you.

Given her circumstances, and her dad’s personality, I liked Sara. I didn’t get a huge connection with her, but she was a really interesting, unique character. I might have wanted a little more depth to her personality, but since she spent most of the book wandering around town trying not to panic because she had no idea where her mom was, I can definitely cut her some slack.

That is one interesting things about What She Left Behind—there’s a lot of waiting around. I think this book covers about a week’s worth of time, and really, not a lot happens. Sara thinks her dad killed her mom, and Alex starts to take notice of Sara, and he follows her around trying to help. That’s, honestly, the entire plot of this book, up until the last fifty pages.
(And when you look at it like that, I guess it’s a little understandable why I went all swoony-swoon over the romance. Did I mention Alex was a football star and Sara was in the marching band—geek/jock pairing!!!)

Either way, the content of What She Left Behind is pretty hard-hitting, and the resolution was empowering and satisfying. My realistic fiction craving was definitely satisfied with this book, and there was the added bonus of a cute teen relationship on top.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
An Intriguing Book
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Really amazing and powerful book with a touching story of pain, fear, sadness, tragedy, and most importantly strength.
Good Points
An interesting plot with good characters.
N
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."