A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy #1)

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2126 1
A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy #1)
Publisher
Age Range
16+
Release Date
December 27, 2011
ISBN
978-0143119685
Buy This Book
      

A Discovery of Witches became the "it" book of early 2011, bringing Deborah Harkness into the spotlight and galvanizing fans around the world. In this tale of passion and obsession, Diana Bishop, a young scholar and the descendant of witches, discovers a long-lost and enchanted alchemical manuscript deep in Oxford's Bodleian Library. Its reappearance summons a fantastical underworld, which she navigates with her leading man, vampire geneticist Matthew Clairmont. Harkness has created a universe to rival those of Anne Rice, Diana Gabaldon, and Elizabeth Kostova, and she adds a scholar's depth to this riveting story of magic and suspense.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Cross Over Paranormal for fans of Diana Gabaldon and Harry Potter
(Updated: December 29, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I love paranormals and A Discovery of Witches doesn't disappoint. This book has a Diana Gabaldon feel to it without all the graphic images. It has cross over appeal too.

What I really loved about this story was how Matthew, the 1500 year old vampire, is a geneticist who knew Darwin and takes a whole different approach to his theory. The author does a great job peeling away stereotypes about vampires too. We learn that some of the legends are humans--warmbloods--attempts to hide truths about the vampires. Sorry, no sparkly ones here.

Diana is a scholar who happens to find an ancient manuscript in an Oxford library. Seems everyone in the paranormal world, including Matthew, have been looking for that manuscript as it holds the keys to their survival. These creatures now are after her to find out the source of her magic. Trouble is, she doesn't know it herself.

Diana is a tough cookie at first and tries to deny being a witch. The chemistry between her and Matthew builds slowly as she learns more about him and also her own heritage. They are like a modern day Romeo and Juliet as their love defies a centuries old taboo that vampires and witches can't be romantically involved.

The writing is lush and very descriptive without any graphic images that might turn off some readers. Harkness is a real storyteller with writing that will cast a spell over you.

There's twists and turns throughout this story. I was hooked. I loved all the past lives of Matthew. I also loved the scholar side of this story. Harkness did her research. The character go to England, France, and New York on their quest to find out the mystery behind the manuscript. Diana also grows and learns secrets about herself and why she was able to break a spell.

There's something for everyone--mystery, suspense, adventure, magic, vampires, and a romance that is Diana Gabaldon worthy. There's even a hint of time travel that will be in the sequel.

A book for those who want to cross over to a more mature paranormal. Can't wait to read more!

Good Points
1. Cross over book that will appeal to fans of paranormals
2. Great premise of a 1500 year old vampire falling for a witch
3. Love the whole Darwinism take on vampires and other paranormal creatures
4. Characters that are likeable
5. Has a Gabaldon feel without all the graphic writing
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Rosenhart Book I 'The Sight'
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Be the Legend, Join the Quest" The Rosenhart...
Fabric of a Generation
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For one teen, life's greatest adventure isn't time travel but...
Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Historians tell the stories of tragic and untimely presidential deaths,...
Imber (Book One of The Thanatos Trilogy)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The locks are failing. The...
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Marty, Ralph, and Skyler might make the ultimate secret combo...
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Althea Gibson was the quickest, tallest, most fearless athlete in...
The Big Game
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Danny Owens is dedicating his seventh-grade season to his Super...
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lately, seventh grader Nizhoni Begay has been able to detect...
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Imprisonment, hunger strikes, suffrajitsu — the decades-long fight for women’s...
Catherine's War
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A magnificent narrative inspired by a true survival story that...
Dangerous Alliance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an older...
Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twins Stacy and Gina Cavallaro are on rival little league...

Latest Member Reviews

Girl at Heart
 
4.7
"I know better than to start a Kelly Oram book at bedtime. I know better, yet I do it with..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"If you read the first series, Redefining Me, you got a glimpse at these characters and probably love them just..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"'Dating My Best Friend' (former title: 'The F Word') by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven delves deeply into themes..."
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0
"Pawns by Patrick Hodges is the first book in the Wielders of Arantha series. Complex and creative don’t begin to..."
The Reader
 
5.0
"I devoured The Reader by M.K. Harkins. There’s no other way to describe it. I read it in one sitting..."
Adaptive
 
4.8
"The story: Lune Avery has survived the Elite Trials and escaped the clutches of her tyrant father,..."
 
4.8
"This darker and grittier sequel of Issaura's Claws, steers readers on a journey outside the kingdom of Elysia into the..."
Winter's Captive
 
5.0
"YA fantasy has always been my favorite. However, the past few months, I'd been in a slump. I struggled getting..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"I don’t know where to start! The Fractured Empire by Robin D. Mahle is the first in the World Apart..."
Tin Men
 
4.8
"Tin Men by Amalie Jahn The story: After losing his estranged father, Charlie Johnson’s..."
Tin Men
 
4.5
"Would you risk your future to discover your past? What I Loved: The premise of..."
Perfectly You
 
4.3
"What I loved: Ivy's character is strong, driven, and even a bit inconsiderate at times. Giving her character flaws..."