Hooked

FeaturedHot
 
3.0
 
4.5 (2)
4122 3
Hooked
Age Range
14+
Release Date
August 09, 2011
ISBN
978-0385740081
Buy This Book
      

Thea Galehouse has always known how to take care of herself. With a flighty club-owner mom and a standoffish, recovering-alcoholic dad, Thea has made her own way in her hometown of New York, attending the prestigious and competitive Stuyvesant High School. But one chat with Will, a handsome and witty senior, and she's a goner—completely hooked on him and unable to concentrate on anything else.
Always worried that she loves Will more than he loves her, Thea is pleasantly surprised when their romance weathers his move to college and Will goes out of his way to involve her in his life. But then, Thea misses a period. And that starts Thea and Will on a wild ride that neither of them could have possibly prepared for. When they decide to keep the baby, their concerned parents chip in what they can to keep Will in school and give both teenagers a comfortable place to raise their child. But when a freak accident leaves Thea shaken and threatens to upend their little family altogether, Thea is forced to turn to the last place she would have chosen for comfort: her stiff, uncompromising father.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Teen Pregnancy Tale
(Updated: December 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I have to admit, I'm somewhat picky on books that deal with teenage pregnancy. Our son's birthmother was fourteen when she had him. My own sister had her baby at age eighteen and decided to keep him. I've also been to numerous birthmother panels where teens have described what they went through with being pregnant. Not all gave their babies up for adoption either.

One thing that hooked me to this story was the writing. Greenman does a great job showing us seventeen-year-old Thea and the struggles she goes through from finding out she's pregnant to deciding whether or not to keep the baby. I also liked how Thea is the one who decides what to do and even when others around her try to steer her to do something else, she's the one who makes the choice. There is one scene, where she goes to get an abortion that rang out so real to me. She ends up walking out and at the back of her head thinks the whole pregnancy thing will do the same thing. Another scene shows her trying to make it work out with Will, the birthfather. She really wants them to be a family and tries to ignore little things like Will not feeling the same way. Plus her own family dynamics are pretty true too.

I did find some issues with both of their families sitting down and deciding to give them money to start out. I don't know many families that do this. Instead I've seen how hard it is when the birthmother does decide to keep the baby. My own sister had a really hard time with her choice even when our family tried to help out.

But Greenman doesn't dwell on this but rather shows Thea realizing her choices will be hard and even painful like seeing her best friend Vanessa go off to college without her. Thea is a strong character who grows with each choice she makes. I also admire how she makes her own plans that might include living without Will. To me that is realistic and also truthful.

This is a moving tale of hope that digs deep within the hearts of each character. You can't help but be hooked at the end.
Good Points
1. Very well written
2. Realistic descriptions of teen dealing with pregnancy without being sugar coated
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Hooked
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
First teenage pregnancy book I've read and it was really good!
Good Points
** spoiler alert ** Wow so I really loved this book... It's so crazy for some reason I thought it would be one of those books were the couple lived happily ever after, but that wasn't the case at all. Anyways this book was so awesome in so many ways. Let me start with the characters. My favorites were of course Miss Thea and her adorable baby boy Ian (I know I haven't seen a picture but just they way the book describes him he's a cutie!) Anyways Thea is one of my favorite character because she is unbelievably strong throughout the whole book. If I was in that situation I would have been an emotional wreck especially since she really didn't have anyone on her side just about from the time she found out she was pregnant until basically the end. She was able to handle getting pregnant right out of high school, having two abortion appointments and skipping out on them, Moving in with her boyfriend having the baby, then dealing with him wanting to give the baby up after she had an accident? I mean really that would of completely tore me apart. Especially because of how much you knew she loved Will from the begging, and little Ian? He's my other favorite character because he's such a little ham lol. The book does really good of describing his actions and things like that just saying =)

Second the plot. Now at first I thought it was going to be one of those they have a baby have a few fights but they're still happy together. But I was very wrong. After Thea had her accident by accidentally burning the baby Will acted different and then when he said he wanted to give the baby up for adoption?!?!?! oh my god!! I wanted to jump into the book and slap him repeatedly. I felt so bad for Thea I can't imagine what she was feeling when the guy that she loved said he wanted to give up her little man. I'm glad she left him and didn't give up the baby. It made me so happy that she was able to be strong and get out while she could. Will was my least favorite character for those reasons, because in the beginning of the book I loved him I was so glad they were together but now I’m glad there apart.

When I wasn't quite finished with the book I was kind of hoping for a sequel but now that I’m done I’m hoping threes not because I feel like the story was told fully and that there's no more to be told. I'm glad that I feel like that those are one of my favorite kinds of books because I feel closure. Anyways I hope you enjoy my review leave comments below!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
The end annoyed me
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I loved this book, like couldn't put it down...yell at people for interrupting me loved this book, until the last chapter or so. I couldn't believe how it turned out. I do not think, in the end, she made the right decision in regard to Will. She needs to move on with her life and let him do the same. Yes, they can both be good parents, but not together. Obviously, Will isn't ready to be a real father or partner.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Apocalypse Taco
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sid, Axl, and Ivan volunteer to make a late-night fast-food...
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this delightfully creepy novel from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war and...
Awesome Achievers in Technology: Super and Strange Facts about 12 Almost Famous History Makers
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Part of a super fun middle grade series, Awesome Achievers...
Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Girl by day. Cat by night. Ready for an adventure....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first I Can Read! book featuring beloved picture book...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In a beautiful anthology, ten children’s book greats share stories,...
Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano (Firebrand, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
First time in print! The...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sage Sassafras’s life is cursed! No, really. Since birth, Sage...

Latest Member Reviews

Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
"Kitty wants to be a superhero like her mom, but she's afraid to go out in the dark. Her mom..."
 
4.0
"'Little Penguin's New Friend' by Tadgh Bentley is a cute story about the making of a friendship despite misconceptions about..."
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
4.0
"NAKED MOLE RAT SAVES THE WORLD tells the story of kit, whose name is lowercase because she was too small..."
 
4.0
"Sage lives out west in the town of Goldview, and her family is cursed. Years ago, her mother and her..."
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
Small World
 
5.0
"SMALL WORLD is a gorgeous celebration of growing up and following your dreams. When Nanda was born, her world was..."
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
"ON THE FIRST DAY OF SUMMER VACATION uses the tune of The 12 Days of Christmas to present the fun..."
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
"Budding scientists, rejoice! The Questioneers is the perfect series to show you the how and to have some extra scientific..."
Bad Bella
 
4.0
"Bella lives with the McBrides, who have several small children and often forget Bella's needs. She gets in trouble for..."
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
"In this short, middle grade graphic novel, DC superheroes from the Justice League answer e mails from young fans. Superman..."
Shake It Off! (Wish #8)
 
4.0
"Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided..."
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
"This episode of THE BAD GUYS has the crew planning for a way to stop the aliens and help the..."
Not if I Can Help It
 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
Emily Out of Focus
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."