Hooked

FeaturedHot
 
3.0
 
4.5 (2)
4291 3
Hooked
Age Range
14+
Release Date
August 09, 2011
ISBN
978-0385740081
Buy This Book
      

Thea Galehouse has always known how to take care of herself. With a flighty club-owner mom and a standoffish, recovering-alcoholic dad, Thea has made her own way in her hometown of New York, attending the prestigious and competitive Stuyvesant High School. But one chat with Will, a handsome and witty senior, and she's a goner—completely hooked on him and unable to concentrate on anything else.
Always worried that she loves Will more than he loves her, Thea is pleasantly surprised when their romance weathers his move to college and Will goes out of his way to involve her in his life. But then, Thea misses a period. And that starts Thea and Will on a wild ride that neither of them could have possibly prepared for. When they decide to keep the baby, their concerned parents chip in what they can to keep Will in school and give both teenagers a comfortable place to raise their child. But when a freak accident leaves Thea shaken and threatens to upend their little family altogether, Thea is forced to turn to the last place she would have chosen for comfort: her stiff, uncompromising father.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Teen Pregnancy Tale
(Updated: December 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I have to admit, I'm somewhat picky on books that deal with teenage pregnancy. Our son's birthmother was fourteen when she had him. My own sister had her baby at age eighteen and decided to keep him. I've also been to numerous birthmother panels where teens have described what they went through with being pregnant. Not all gave their babies up for adoption either.

One thing that hooked me to this story was the writing. Greenman does a great job showing us seventeen-year-old Thea and the struggles she goes through from finding out she's pregnant to deciding whether or not to keep the baby. I also liked how Thea is the one who decides what to do and even when others around her try to steer her to do something else, she's the one who makes the choice. There is one scene, where she goes to get an abortion that rang out so real to me. She ends up walking out and at the back of her head thinks the whole pregnancy thing will do the same thing. Another scene shows her trying to make it work out with Will, the birthfather. She really wants them to be a family and tries to ignore little things like Will not feeling the same way. Plus her own family dynamics are pretty true too.

I did find some issues with both of their families sitting down and deciding to give them money to start out. I don't know many families that do this. Instead I've seen how hard it is when the birthmother does decide to keep the baby. My own sister had a really hard time with her choice even when our family tried to help out.

But Greenman doesn't dwell on this but rather shows Thea realizing her choices will be hard and even painful like seeing her best friend Vanessa go off to college without her. Thea is a strong character who grows with each choice she makes. I also admire how she makes her own plans that might include living without Will. To me that is realistic and also truthful.

This is a moving tale of hope that digs deep within the hearts of each character. You can't help but be hooked at the end.
Good Points
1. Very well written
2. Realistic descriptions of teen dealing with pregnancy without being sugar coated
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
4.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Hooked
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
First teenage pregnancy book I've read and it was really good!
Good Points
** spoiler alert ** Wow so I really loved this book... It's so crazy for some reason I thought it would be one of those books were the couple lived happily ever after, but that wasn't the case at all. Anyways this book was so awesome in so many ways. Let me start with the characters. My favorites were of course Miss Thea and her adorable baby boy Ian (I know I haven't seen a picture but just they way the book describes him he's a cutie!) Anyways Thea is one of my favorite character because she is unbelievably strong throughout the whole book. If I was in that situation I would have been an emotional wreck especially since she really didn't have anyone on her side just about from the time she found out she was pregnant until basically the end. She was able to handle getting pregnant right out of high school, having two abortion appointments and skipping out on them, Moving in with her boyfriend having the baby, then dealing with him wanting to give the baby up after she had an accident? I mean really that would of completely tore me apart. Especially because of how much you knew she loved Will from the begging, and little Ian? He's my other favorite character because he's such a little ham lol. The book does really good of describing his actions and things like that just saying =)

Second the plot. Now at first I thought it was going to be one of those they have a baby have a few fights but they're still happy together. But I was very wrong. After Thea had her accident by accidentally burning the baby Will acted different and then when he said he wanted to give the baby up for adoption?!?!?! oh my god!! I wanted to jump into the book and slap him repeatedly. I felt so bad for Thea I can't imagine what she was feeling when the guy that she loved said he wanted to give up her little man. I'm glad she left him and didn't give up the baby. It made me so happy that she was able to be strong and get out while she could. Will was my least favorite character for those reasons, because in the beginning of the book I loved him I was so glad they were together but now I’m glad there apart.

When I wasn't quite finished with the book I was kind of hoping for a sequel but now that I’m done I’m hoping threes not because I feel like the story was told fully and that there's no more to be told. I'm glad that I feel like that those are one of my favorite kinds of books because I feel closure. Anyways I hope you enjoy my review leave comments below!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
The end annoyed me
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I loved this book, like couldn't put it down...yell at people for interrupting me loved this book, until the last chapter or so. I couldn't believe how it turned out. I do not think, in the end, she made the right decision in regard to Will. She needs to move on with her life and let him do the same. Yes, they can both be good parents, but not together. Obviously, Will isn't ready to be a real father or partner.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."