Awake at Dawn (Shadow Falls #2)

Featured
 
3.3
 
4.6 (3)
3117 2
Awake at Dawn (Shadow Falls #2)
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 11, 2011
ISBN
978-0312624682
Buy This Book
      

From the moment Kylie Galen arrived at Shadow Falls Camp, she’s had one burning question:  What am I? Surrounded by vampires, werewolves, shape-shifters, fairies and witches, Kylie longs to figure out her own supernatural identity…and what her burgeoning powers mean.  And now she’ll need them more than ever, because she’s being haunted by a new spirit who insists that someone Kylie knows—and loves—will die before the end of the summer. If only she only knew who she was supposed to save.  And how… But giving Kylie the most trouble is her aching heart.   Gorgeous werewolf Lucas left camp with another girl, but he’s still visiting Kylie in her dreams.  And Derek, a sexy half Fae who’s always been there for her when she needed him, is pushing to get more serious—and growing impatient, especially when Lucas returns.  Kylie knows she needs to decide between the boys, and it’s tearing her up inside. Yet romance will have to wait, because something from the dark side of the supernatural world is hiding in Shadow Falls.  It’s about to threaten everything she holds dear…and bring her closer to her destiny.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Great sequel to 'Born at Midnight'
(Updated: December 01, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
I was super excited when I received this book to review. I enjoyed the first book and was really looking forward to more of Kylie's story. I can honestly say that this is a great sequel to the first book. The book starts off just about where the first one ended. Kylie still has ghosts visiting her, and her roommates are still arguing with each other, pretty much everything is the same. Kylie and her "boyfriend" Derek are becoming closer, but she can't get Lucas out of her head. This starts to cause trouble in Kylie and Derek's relationship, as you would assume, and she has to figure out what she really wants. Add in a bit of drama at the camp, some familiar characters and you get the idea.

Okay, so first what I loved about the book. I really do enjoy reading about all the different types of para-normals. In some books I have read it's a bit much and overwhelming, but C.C. Hunter does a great job of bring paranormal life to...well life! I also really enjoy reading about the struggles that Kylie goes through. That might sound kind of weird, but it's fun to watch a character grow, develop and become more confident in herself. I also love the friendship that Kylie and her roommates, Della and Miranda, have. Even though Della (a vampire) and Miranda (a witch) don't always get along, you know that they would do anything for each other. I also enjoy reading about Kylie's relationship with Derek, and Lucas. I'm just going to go ahead and throw this out, I like Kylie and Lucas more then Kylie and Derek, but that's just me. It was hard to read about Derek getting hurt when he realizes Kylie has feelings for both of them.

What I wish was different about the book. I remember this from the first book as well, and this sequel is no different. C.C. Hunter does a great job of giving the reader a lot of detail, but I think it's a bit much. We know everything little thing that goes through Kylie's head and for me that got a bit frustrating. I felt that as a reader, we don't need to know the obvious. Maybe it's just me, but when I read what I already knew, it made the book feel a bit boring. However, I still enjoyed the book overall and I'm really looking forward to the third and final installment!
Good Points
I really enjoy all the paranormal elements. Even though there are many different types of para-normals in this book, it's not overwhelming.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.6
Plot 
 
4.7  (3)
Characters 
 
5.0  (3)
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
love this series
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
Though a few of the details were fuzzy, it did not take me long to dive back into Kylie's world and character. I love her voice, the sarcasm, the emotion and the kindness and loyalty to her friends. She wants and needs answers, and she takes the avoidance tactic, which I am so familiar with. I really connected with her in the feeling like an outcast at times though. That is a theme in this book and it feels like a theme in my own life. But I really like how she deals with it, and it is so well written how she makes friendships and slowly builds them.
And oh the drama in here, there are scenes I totally loved, and could imagine so clearly. Shifter fight anyone? Make out session? Oh yes, please. C.C.'s style is great and she draws me right into the world of Shadow Falls. The range of supernatural all in one place, working together is awesome, as well as the set-up with the tension and the antagonists.
It's awesome to watch Kylie come into herself and figure out exactly what she is, and it leaves me with questions and speculations. I also liked how she made better decisions for herself instead of being weak, even when it was hard.
I love this series and can't wait to make time in my schedule to read the rest!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Great Sequel!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
"Awake At Dawn" is the second installment in the Shadow Falls series. I was a huge fan of the first book, so although I was excited to know which direction the story went, I was nervous that the second book would just ruin it for me. That wasn't the case this time! This book continues the story of Kylie at Shadow Falls, a summer camp for supernatural teens. Kylie, obviously, is one of the supernaturals but nobody, not even herself, knows what she is. Holiday, camp leader, knows Kylie is special and believes that everything will eventually fall into place. Through this book, Kylie gets confused between two boys: Derek, whom she met at the camp, and Lucas, whom she's known since she was six years old. Derek is half fae, Lucas is a werewolf. A whole bunch of events happen through this, I won't summarize them all.

I gave this book 4 stars. I loved it! Most sequels can't come to match up with the first book, but this sequel was soo much better! I've come to seriously wish I was in Kylie's shoes right now, mostly because of Derek and Lucas (yummm!). You actually find out soooo much about Kylie and her journey in this book, it's amazing how they could make two more books to follow it! I can't wait to get my hands on the third book. I'm already going through withdrawal symptoms! :)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Awake At Dawn by C.C. Hunter
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
ISBN: 9780312624682
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Pages: 383


Awake At Dawn is the second book in the Shadow Falls series.
Now that she’s settled in at Shadow Falls Camp, Kylie Galen’s determined to discover the extent of her supernatural abilities. But with a ghost insisting someone Kylie loves is about die, a rogue vampire on a murdering rampage, and her sixth sense telling her someone is watching her, Kylie’s quest for answers is quickly put on hold.


Awake At Dawn was kindly sent to me by Loren Jaggers. I really enjoyed reading Awake At Dawn! It was wonderfully written, so much so I read it in two sittings! (And whilst I enjoyed every moment of it, I wish I had read it slower just to savour the beautiful story for just a short while longer!) My favourite characters were Kylie, Miranda & Della. Because although I absolutely loved reading about Miranda & Della in Born At Midnight, in Awake At Dawn I felt I got to know them better as individuals, and therefore they quickly became my favourite characters. Kylie is still my favourite character, her protectiveness, determination and her sarcasm are just a few aspects among many that make Kylie an amazing character that is a pleasure to read about. I love the cover of Awake At Dawn! The image captured on the cover signifies an important event in the book as does the title, which makes both the title and the cover all the more stunningly beautiful to behold.


Available at Amazon.co.uk.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."