Facing Demons

 
0.0
 
3.0 (1)
1392 0
Facing Demons
Age Range
14+
Release Date
October 17, 2011
ISBN
978-1-4269-4801-5
Buy This Book
      
Ashley Sanders' new novel explores four teenagers' self-destructive behaviors and their recovery. Despite issues of child prostitution, gangs, homelessness, racism, and suicide, "Facing Demons" inspires by revealing that a second chance is possible. Each characters' first-person view provides an emotional experience for readers and a deeper insight into the individual characters' minds. When Rebecca, Jason, Felicity, and Matthew come together for rehabilitation it allows them to find camaraderie and strength in knowing others have experienced troubles like them. Together, their journeys will lead them to conflict and adventure, danger and romance, but ultimately, hope for a second chance. "Sanders does a great job of connecting the individuals and providing important life lessons to the reader along the way. Sanders is definitely an author to watch in the Young Adult genre!" - Kam Aures, Rebecca's Reads "This book was absolutely amazing! I read it twice before I started writing this review! With every page I read, and every detail into someone's story, I became more and more hooked on this book." - Avni Gupta, Reader Views "A page-turning... finely crafted novel. This is a great book that will move you profoundly... Highly recommended." - Douglas R. Cobb, Bestsellers World "Totally inspiring... Facing Demons is an extremely heart-rending book. It covers many of the problems facing young people today. A real eye-opener." - Ellen Feld, Feathered Quill Book Reviews

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
4.0  (1)
Characters 
 
3.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
2.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
It had potential
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
My Review: Awhile back I requested this book to review since I read the book synopsis and I really liked the overall premise of the story. If you know me, then you know I really like to read books that deal with tougher themes and stories most authors don’t like to deal with. So, basically the book had some promise. Lucky for me, the publisher agreed to let me do a full review.

Unfortunately, this will be a small review. In short, when I finished reading this book, I realized I didn’t care for it at all. It isn’t my cup of tea, per say.

Let me start by saying that this is a very short book in length, at just 200 pages. To really be able to capture all of the heavy emotions of the four main characters, the book needed to be more in depth then what it was. It lacked characterization. I had a really difficult time trying to connect with any of the characters because the author didn’t give them enough room to really spread their wings and become great characters that have each an individual voice. It’s really tough to explain, but the best way to describe it is that if the author didn’t label which character was speaking, I wouldn’t be able to differentiate between all of them.

I also had an issue with the basic setup of this book. The story flip-flops between each of the characters and their points of view. I usually don’t have a problem with this sort of thing. Take Ellen Hopkin’s books for example. She deals with tough issues and she typically has a storyline that is viewed from multiple characters…but she is able to pull it off well. I think where Ashley Sanders went wrong was adding too many characters instead of just focusing on one character. Once again, the book is too short to really give each of the characters justice. In this book, it was just too confusing and sometimes throughout the book I was completely lost as to what exactly was going on.

Final Thoughts: I’m not too sure I would give this book a recommendation. It’s one of those “enter at your own risk” types of book. I’m sure some people will really like it, but it wasn’t for me. I think the author should use this book as a learning experience to become a better author. I do so a lot of potential and I really hope that his next book will be better than his first.
Good Points
Great premise
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."