Dark Side of the Mirror

 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
1054 0
Dark Side of the Mirror
Author(s)
Age Range
14+
Release Date
September 24, 2011
ISBN
B005PQFD4C
Buy This Book
      
Emily is a happy, well-adjusted fifteen-year old. Her family relocates from New York to San Francisco, and they move in with her uncle to save money. Emily is determined to cope, but her new life quickly spirals out of control when her uncle turns out to be a creep, she can’t make any new friends, and her parents take her to a psychologist when she insists the mirrors have voices only she can hear. One of those voices belongs to a boy named Tyler. Emily feels drawn to him and decides to help, even after she discovers that her uncle imprisoned Tyler in the mirror. The decision sets her on a path of self-discovery, with new-found powers, a dark family secret, a cute boy she’s crazy about, parents who think she’s gone bonkers, and an uncle who wants to destroy her. Emily must find her inner strength before all her troubles come crashing down on her.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
4.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Voices in the Mirrors?
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Review of "Dark Side of the Mirror" by R L Austin

Plot 5 Stars

Is fifteen year old Emily crazy or does she really hear voices in the mirrors?

Emily and her family have moved from Manhattan to San Francisco to live with her uncle in the large old house where her mother grew up. Emily's parents attribute the voices to the stress of the move and take her to see a psychiatrist. Emily is almost willing to go along, but when one of the voices turns out to be a fifteen year old boy who she can identify, and another the boy's father, everything changes.

Faced with a powerful opponent, Emily grows up quickly and steps up to the challenge using her wits, cunning and new-found powers.

Review:

I read the book in a single sitting. It is suitable for middle school and older, although adults will enjoy the story as well. It starts slowly but quickly picks up the pace. Once into the second chapter, the story races along at a furious pace.

The writing style is spare as would be appropriate of a good detective novel, which, in a sense, this is. There is a minimum of extraneous detail or unnecessary description. There are places where I think more detail would have enhanced the suspense, but it would have slowed down the action. This is a decision every author makes with every sentence.

The minimalistic writing style means that while Emily and Tyler's personalities are drawn in satisfying depth, the other characters are not filled out as well. While I agree with most of how the characters are handled, in the last few chapters, some of the characters, notably Ty's parents, fade out of sight. They are too important to have been shuffled off in this manner.

Even with my objections, I still feel the characterizations are worth four stars.

The writing style is perfect for the tone of the book and for the intended age of the reader. I found no grammatical, punctuation of formatting errors.

I would recommend this book for anyone middle school and older who likes a fun, easy, exciting read.
Good Points
The story is straightforward and uncomplicated with enough mystery to keep the reader intrigued.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
Cub
 
5.0
"Cindy finds that middle school in the early 1970s is fairly stressful-- all the cool girls are wearing elephant bells..."
The Story of Inventions
 
3.0
"THE STORY OF INVENTIONS is a simple, accessible introduction to some of the breakthroughs that have shaped the world across..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Christmas
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: CHRISTMAS is a fun activity book for elementary-aged children (and maybe older toddlers). The book features..."
Baby, Find the Shapes! (Indestructibles)
 
4.7
"BABY, FIND THE SHAPES! is a fun addition to the Indestructibles book series. The best feature of this book is..."
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
4.3
"Born in 1927, Althea Gibson experienced the racial and gender disparities that were prevalent at the time, but were in..."
Welcome to Jazz: A Swing-Along Celebration of America’s Music, Featuring “When the Saints Go Marching In”
 
5.0
"WELCOME TO JAZZ is a truly delightful and entertaining children's book. The book teaches about jazz in terms of history,..."
National Geographic Student World Atlas
 
5.0
" A wonderful representation of the world for teaching kids to love the earth they live on. With bright,..."
Ralph Masiello's Alien Drawing Book
 
4.7
"A cute way for kids to learn how to draw. This book takes kids through a step by..."
Write to Me: Letters from Japanese American Children to the Librarian They Left Behind
 
5.0
"This is a must read book that shows the lives of Japanese American children who ended up being taken from..."
Cub
Cub
 
5.0
"Cindy finds that middle school in the early 1970s is fairly stressful-- all the cool girls are wearing elephant bells..."
Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
"There was a recent Jeopardy! champion who apparently got himself up to speed on many areas of knowledge by reading..."
All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
"THE TOTALLY SICK SICK-DAY ACTIVITY BOOK is exactly what the title describes. There are crossword puzzles, places to doodle, word..."
Animazes
 
5.0
"ANIMAZES shows the migration patterns of fourteen different creatures. It shows that there are several different paths these creatures can..."
Baby Loves the Five Senses: Hearing!
 
4.7
"BABY LOVES THE FIVE SENSES: HEARING teaches everything you need to know about how hearing, the ears, and sound all..."
Hard Work, but It's Worth It: The Life of Jimmy Carter
 
5.0
"Before reading this, I didn't know much about Jimmy Carter except that he had been one of the presidents. I..."