Shift (Shade, Book 2)

 
0.0
 
4.9 (5)
1615 2
Shift (Shade, Book 2)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 03, 2011
ISBN
1416994084
Buy This Book
      
Aura’s life is anything but easy. Her boyfriend, Logan, died, and his slides between ghost and shade have left her reeling. Aura knows he needs her now more than ever. She loves Logan, but she can’t deny her connection with the totally supportive, totally gorgeous Zachary. And she’s not sure that she wants to. Logan and Zachary will fight to be the one by her side, but Aura needs them both to uncover the mystery of her past—the mystery of the Shift. As Aura’s search uncovers new truths, she must decide whom to trust with her secrets…and her heart.

User reviews

5 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.9
Plot 
 
4.6  (5)
Characters 
 
5.0  (5)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (5)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Great Mystery!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Vee has a secret. She's narcoleptic, but when she loses consciousness she slides into another person's body. Strange? Yes. Awesomely awesome? Eh, it was... until she slipped into the body of a murderer. And not just any murderer, but the murderer who killed one of Vee sister's best friends. Now the psychotic killer is on the loose and Vee is scared he/she will come for her sister next.
Slide is a very interesting story. Vee's own ability is a rare thing among most books and I found this to be really refreshing. The characters are engaging and didn't get on my nerves like most characters usually do. The mystery was a not so predictable to ruin the enjoyment of reading the book. Some parts were expected but it wasn't enough to actually harm the story.
There was minimal fowl language usage in the book and some references to sex, but that's about it.
There were some things left unresolved by the end, but there's going to be a sequel coming out so I'm not worried a whole lot.
Slide is a quick, fast-paced mystery that gets harder to put down every time you flip the page. It's an interesting story written to both fascinate and frighten you.
I recommend the book to anyone who loves a good mystery.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Shift by Jeri Smith-Ready
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
There was so much I want to say about this book. Putting the words together for a review is going to be terribly hard. I just loved it to pieces. At some point it ripped me in shreds and other times it made me smile like the events had really happened to me. This book surprised me on so many levels because normally I DO NOT LIKE sequels but this was a GREAT follow up. I don't think I ever rated a sequel the same as the first book.... Since like... ever.
I think I liked this book so much because of all the information that was given.... And it was given in the right way. It wasn't an overload and seemed to be given at the right times. And with the information being about Aura, her mother, and someone else important in her life, not being weighted down with the information was a big plus. Because believe me when I tell you.... When you get to it, you will have the same reaction I did... "Mind = BLOWN!" It will seriously make you not want to do ANYTHING else but finish this book.
And you just cannot write a review about this book without talking about the boys. *le swoon* Zach, I am forever in love with you! You are the most perfect fictional man ever! Accent, not afraid to be yourself, seriously romantic, cares greatly about your girl, and uses your pain from the past to help you get through the future. If you don't call that absolutely amazing, I don't know what you would. As for Logan, I was definitely on your team in Shade (see my review HERE) But just like in real life, there came a time that I had to let you go. I found myself wishing you would move on and be happy. And let Aura be happy as well. And last but not least... WTH was with Dylan?! I found myself so mad at him and Aura. So many things that definitely shouldn't have been done. No matter what the cause was.
Finding out just how big a part that both Aura and Zach play in the Shift, I am sitting here DESPERATELY wanting the next book in the series, Shine. But still trying to decide if I want to read it right away... It would make the ending of the series too real... And I'm not sure if I'm ready for that yet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Wonderful
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Rarely do I love the second book more than the first, so this was a wonderful surprise. SHIFT was just as -- more! -- amazing as SHADE. Jeri has a compelling and easy to read writing style. Her characters are beautifully flawed and real.

I love this series!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
It just keeps getting better...
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I just love Jeri to pieces! The Shade series is really shaping up to be one of my faves.

Aura is really stuck between a rock and a hard place. The 'Hottie Scottie' Zach being the rock and punk crooner Logan being the hard place. Both are super delish in their own way and again you will find yourself torn between who you adore the most.

Shift picks up where Shade left off and we start to learn a little more about the mystery between pre-shift and post-shift kids and how it relates to the mystical structure of Newgrange. We get a few unexpected answers, but of course Miss Jeri still leaves us salivating for more.

The mystery of Zachary's parents comes to light and the even more baffling mystery of Logan's...um....semi-corporeal form really heats things up. Like really heats up. 'Scuse me whilst I fan myself.

The relationships that Aura has with each equally swoonable guy becomes more complicated and you cannot help but melt. The conflict they both endure with Aura is really sweet in a break-your-heart sort of way.

Jeri packs in some action with some ever so memorable river scenes (wooo...must fan myself again) that will keep you flipping pages. I must warn you though, the book does end and will leave you tapping your foot and pulling out hair waiting for Shine next year. I know because I am already there!
Good Points
Easy, fast-paced read. Totally lovable characters. Lots of unique conflict.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Ghostly fun
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I really enjoyed Shift and can't wait for Shine. This trilogy has thus far blown me out of the water. I'm so glad I won it and read it!!
All the characters I fell in love with are back, and they are still amazing. I do have to say that both Zachary and Logan pulled some things that made me angry and want to hit them, but I think that it worked out okay enough in the end.
Some of my questions (and Aura's) were answered, but there is still a lot that I want to know and can't wait to find out how the answers come to her.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."
Samuel Drew Hasn't a Clue
 
3.5
"SAMUEL DREW HASN'T A CLUE is an overall cute picture book that follows Samuel Drew as he wheels a package..."
Cactus and Flower: A Book About Life Cycles
 
3.5
"CACTUS AND FLOWER is a picture book about friendship, loss, and grief. Cactus loves flower as they spend all their..."
Quintessence
 
5.0
"QUINTESSENCE is a charming and enchanting middle grade fantasy. Alma moved to Four Points, and she has felt a little..."