Life, After

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2678 0
Life, After
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
July 01, 2010
ISBN
978-0545151443
Buy This Book
      
For Dani, life in Argentina hasn't been very normal or happy for a long time. A terrorist attack, which killed Dani's aunt and unborn cousin, has sent the country into economic ruin. When Dani's family can't hold out any longer, they move to New York. It's supposed to be a fresh start, but when you're living in a cramped apartment, have an angry father, ang are going to high school where all the classes are in another language-not everyone is friendly-life in America is not all it's cracked up to be. Then Dani becomes friends with Jon-who isn't like all the other students-and popular Jessica who is hiding a painful loss of her own. And then there's Brian, the boy who makes Dani's pulse race. In her new life, the one After, Dani finds the courage to heal and forgive, and to love and be loved again.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

An emotionally charged book!
(Updated: October 05, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I have heard great things about Sarah Darer Littman, so when I had the honor of reading and reviewing this book, I was excited. She did not let me down. This book was an emotional journey that I wasn't prepared for. Dani is an amazing young woman. She grew up in Argentina and after a horrific terrorist attack that killed her aunt and unborn cousin, Dani's father turns to anger for his comfort. This leaves Dani, her mother and her younger sister, Sarita in a very stressful situation. My heart ached for Dani's father. Just reading him speak and the pain that came through him was tough to actually read. Pain like that is hard and it's even harder when you are dragging your family down with you. When Dani's boyfriend Roberto and his family move to America since Argentina is now in economic shambles, the stress of the long distance relationship and not being able to talk to each other often is hard on Dani. When her family finally decides to move to America, she is excited, however they are moving to New York City, while Roberto lives in Florida.

Once Dani and her family reach New York City things don't seem to be getting any easier. Dani's father is still upset and angry. Being at a new school is taking it's toll on Dani as well. Just the language barrier is hard enough! However, she meets a new friend, Jon and things start to change. Dani starts to learn things about her fellow classmates and realizes that they are not so different after all. When Brian, a boy at school that Dani likes, starts paying more attention to her, she finds it in herself to heal and forgive.

This book was fantastic. I love how down to earth Dani is and how honest and loyal she is. I did not want to put this book down. Sarah Darer Littman has a writing style that takes the reader into her world and makes them feel like they are actually there beside the characters. My heart ached for Dani and her family during their struggles, and my heart sang when they were able to overcome them. This book also opened my eyes to the culture barrier that we have here. It makes me want to go back to high school and seek out people who may be struggling and be a better friend to them. After all, we never know what people are going through do we? A fantastic read for anyone, I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone. I cannot wait to read more of her books.
Good Points
Dani is strong, courageous, honorable and loves her family.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."