Misfit

 
4.0
 
3.7 (2)
2724 4
Misfit
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 01, 2011
ISBN
978-1419700217
Buy This Book
      

Jael has always felt like a freak. She’s never kissed a boy, she never knew her mom, and her dad’s always been superstrict—but that’s probably because her mom was a demon, which makes Jael half demon and most definitely not a normal sophomore girl. On her sixteenth birthday, a mysterious present unlocks her family’s dangerous history and Jael’s untapped potential. What was merely an embarrassing secret before becomes a terrifying reality. Jael must learn to master her demon side in order to take on a vindictive Duke of Hell while also dealing with a twisted priest, best-friend drama, and a spacey blond skater boy who may have hidden depths.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Fun Read
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
This book was really quite snazzy. Misfit was pretty much everything I thought it would be, and was one great read.

The plot was very cool. I loved the unique perspective on demons Skovron had. Just that alone had me wanting to flip pages at some insane speed, so I could learn more about that, and then you add in the rest of the plot. I loved the whole setting - half demon at a Catholic school. I wish certain aspects of the plot, especially towards the end had been a bit more developed. I loved the ideas it just felt like some things were a tad too rushed. Some of the plot was a bit predictable, but that really just added to Misfit's charm.

I really enjoyed the characters. I wish some of the characters like Father Aaron had played a bigger role. I really enjoyed his character. Jack was quite a lot of fun - for the smaller role he played I thought he was great. Rob was quite the charmer as well. I loved Jael's confidence she had throughout the book. She really grew as a character with each chapter.

Readers will fall in love with Jael's story and when the last page is turned, they will be asking for more! I know when I finished; I turned the page wishing that there was a lot more story.

I loved this book quite a lot. In fact, I would say it is a must read. I fell in love with the characters and the story. Jael's world is a world I would love to return to!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
3.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
3.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
A little bland, but not bad!
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
First 50 Pages: The first 50 pages of Misfit grabbed my attention pretty quickly. There are not many books that can do that. Usually, I have to force myself past the first few chapters before the story really starts to get interesting. There are those few exceptions and Misfit is one of them.

Review: Misfit is a good book. I’ve been told that there have been plenty of good reviews for the book. I never take that into consideration though. I’m often the odd one out. That is no exception with Misfit.

The characters are your normal teenage characters; slightly cliché, slightly normal, and very teenager. All of them in this case are rather loveable. Jael represents the main character, the half demon and half teenage girl. She doesn’t start the book knowing she is a half-breed. Surprisingly, she receives that news rather well. Jael faces a tough life with her upbringing. Again, she seems a little too well-adjusted, all things considered.

Jael’s father is a bad ass, ill-adjusted father. The reader will find out his background as the story progresses, so I don’t want to say that much about him. He comes across as a pompous ass until the end of the book.

The two other supporting characters, Jael’s friends, are just that, supporting. Both play interesting parts through the book to help develop and shape how Jael ultimately acts and reacts. One will make her think the best of herself while the other forces Jael’s hand against her will. But both help the main character to grow and progress through the book.

The plotline is good. Misfit is a very entertaining read. There isn’t much of a life lesson, or any analogy to life or society or any of that mumbo jumbo. Misfit is just pure entertainment. That is the way I like it. I spend a lot of time reading in the car waiting for my wife to finish her classes. Misfit fit the bill and kept me plenty entertained. This book wouldn’t make such a bad movie honestly, although maybe one for the younger crowd.

I do have my grievances though. The dialog is very plain Jane. I love well thought out and creative dialog in books. I love when authors purposefully misspell words to convey that accent. The creative expressionism gives some good taste to the title. Kind of like when a musician will play a note harder or softer, or draw it out. It shows their creative spirit. It expresses emotion in ways that a by-the-book method couldn’t. Misfit is very “said Jael”, or “said Rob.” The characters feel like they have no differing personality in their speech. Any differing personality traits are explained through imagery and explanation. But there isn’t anything in the dialog. Even the protagonist could be confused as Jael speaking with a couple of swear words. I think if the author had added a little more life in the dialog, Misfit could easily become a title that really stands out.

On the flip side though, the imagery is well played. The dialog may have been lacking, but the wordsmithing used to describe the scenery and thoughts of the main character were well done. I especially love how the author describes how the natural forces of nature were feeling, thinking, and acting. My favorite piece was the near the end of the book when Jael created a storm, she falls asleep, and the wind notices, gently brushes her checks as if to say good bye, and then leaves. The author wrote it much more beautifully than that, but you will have to read the book to see for yourself. Jon Skovron may want to spruce up the dialog a bit, but his expressionism for imagery is head on.

Conclusion: Misfit is a book for the younger audience. Adults may find it a little bland and boring. The plot line is good. Misfit is very entertaining. But the dialog will throw readers off a bit. The dialog structure is more in tune for the younger audience, maybe 11-17 years old. I would highly recommend this book for any readers of that age. Misfit is pure entertainment that will attract younger readers to keep reading.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A Good Read
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I really loved Misfit, I mean I read it in a couple hours because I just could not put it down. The writer totally has a lot of skill because he can suck you in for the entire book, and even though there are not many romantic parts, that wasn't what I was looking for. You have your class Young Adult novel with some skillful twists that I could not get enough of. If you are looking for a strange but awesome read check out Misfit! Because I would read it again, if there were not soo many amazing new books out there, when I get done with my checklist I will maybe read it again ; )
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Magician meets A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and...
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pikmi Pops(TM) are the latest collectible craze! Join these cute...

Latest Member Reviews

Lily and the Wedding Date Mistake
 
4.0
"'Lily and the Wedding Date Mistake' by Seven Steps is a story of friendship lost and found between main characters..."
Bea and the Bad Boy
 
4.8
"'Bea and the Bad Boy' by Anna Catherine Field is a page-turning story that evolves from two people who don't..."
Igloo High
 
3.8
"'Igloo High' by Jacinthe Dessureault has many of the typical aspects that young adult novels contain, including a popular girl,..."
Super Powers
 
4.5
"The story: Hot on the heels of the event of Super Humans (Book One), we get inside..."
Perfectly Oblivious
 
4.3
"This was a sweet high school love story centered around basketball and missed intentions. What I liked: ..."
The Kilwade Tragedy
 
5.0
"Before I start this review, I do want to let you all know that this book is trigger heavy. The..."
Colliding Skies
 
4.3
" What I loved: The cover, obviously, is gorgeous and eye catching. Skye's character is a genuine..."
Kismet and Karma
 
5.0
"The other side of the story. The Story: We finally get to see just what happened..."
Fate and Fortune
 
5.0
"Such a cute story. The Story: Paige is heartbroken after her boyfriend of two years..."
Oberon Academy Book One: The Orphan
 
4.5
"This is a promising start to an exciting new fae series! What I loved: The writing style is..."
Bea and the Bad Boy
 
3.8
"When Bea's best friend Katherine and twin brother Atticus start dating, she feels betrayed and can't stand to see them..."
The C Word
 
5.0
"Addison and Julian have history between them that neither like to talk about. Things changed after that fateful night of..."
The Culling
 
5.0
"Grant and his sister Stevie are on their own, trying to survive in a desolate bayou with limited food sources...."
Darkblood Academy
 
5.0
"With the integration of the human and supernatural worlds, things are bound to get crazy. Luna never thought she was..."
Hitched: The Bachelorette
 
5.0
" When Kimmie-Jayne lands the role on Hitched, she's thrilled that her dreams of acting are coming true. She's..."
Hunter's Truce
 
4.0
"I love retellings--it's kind of my thing--and this was a new one for me. I haven't read a Three Little..."
Adaptive
 
5.0
"Reactive was one of my favorite books of 2018, and I think it is safe to say Adaptive is going..."
Reactive: A YA Dystopian Romance (The Elite Trials Book 1)
 
5.0
"“I don’t want to be dramatic and say I found the next The Hunger Games or Divergent, but I totally..."
The C Word
 
5.0
"Oh, boy. Where to start… Like the first two books, I absolutely loved The C World. The authors have done..."
After: After Zombie Series Book 1
 
4.8
"I love zombies. I never thought I’d say that. I’m not a horror reader, and in my opinion, zombies fall..."