Misfit

 
4.0
 
3.7 (2)
2833 4
Misfit
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 01, 2011
ISBN
978-1419700217
Buy This Book
      

Jael has always felt like a freak. She’s never kissed a boy, she never knew her mom, and her dad’s always been superstrict—but that’s probably because her mom was a demon, which makes Jael half demon and most definitely not a normal sophomore girl. On her sixteenth birthday, a mysterious present unlocks her family’s dangerous history and Jael’s untapped potential. What was merely an embarrassing secret before becomes a terrifying reality. Jael must learn to master her demon side in order to take on a vindictive Duke of Hell while also dealing with a twisted priest, best-friend drama, and a spacey blond skater boy who may have hidden depths.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Fun Read
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
This book was really quite snazzy. Misfit was pretty much everything I thought it would be, and was one great read.

The plot was very cool. I loved the unique perspective on demons Skovron had. Just that alone had me wanting to flip pages at some insane speed, so I could learn more about that, and then you add in the rest of the plot. I loved the whole setting - half demon at a Catholic school. I wish certain aspects of the plot, especially towards the end had been a bit more developed. I loved the ideas it just felt like some things were a tad too rushed. Some of the plot was a bit predictable, but that really just added to Misfit's charm.

I really enjoyed the characters. I wish some of the characters like Father Aaron had played a bigger role. I really enjoyed his character. Jack was quite a lot of fun - for the smaller role he played I thought he was great. Rob was quite the charmer as well. I loved Jael's confidence she had throughout the book. She really grew as a character with each chapter.

Readers will fall in love with Jael's story and when the last page is turned, they will be asking for more! I know when I finished; I turned the page wishing that there was a lot more story.

I loved this book quite a lot. In fact, I would say it is a must read. I fell in love with the characters and the story. Jael's world is a world I would love to return to!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0  (2)
Characters 
 
3.5  (2)
Writing Style 
 
3.5  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
A little bland, but not bad!
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
First 50 Pages: The first 50 pages of Misfit grabbed my attention pretty quickly. There are not many books that can do that. Usually, I have to force myself past the first few chapters before the story really starts to get interesting. There are those few exceptions and Misfit is one of them.

Review: Misfit is a good book. I’ve been told that there have been plenty of good reviews for the book. I never take that into consideration though. I’m often the odd one out. That is no exception with Misfit.

The characters are your normal teenage characters; slightly cliché, slightly normal, and very teenager. All of them in this case are rather loveable. Jael represents the main character, the half demon and half teenage girl. She doesn’t start the book knowing she is a half-breed. Surprisingly, she receives that news rather well. Jael faces a tough life with her upbringing. Again, she seems a little too well-adjusted, all things considered.

Jael’s father is a bad ass, ill-adjusted father. The reader will find out his background as the story progresses, so I don’t want to say that much about him. He comes across as a pompous ass until the end of the book.

The two other supporting characters, Jael’s friends, are just that, supporting. Both play interesting parts through the book to help develop and shape how Jael ultimately acts and reacts. One will make her think the best of herself while the other forces Jael’s hand against her will. But both help the main character to grow and progress through the book.

The plotline is good. Misfit is a very entertaining read. There isn’t much of a life lesson, or any analogy to life or society or any of that mumbo jumbo. Misfit is just pure entertainment. That is the way I like it. I spend a lot of time reading in the car waiting for my wife to finish her classes. Misfit fit the bill and kept me plenty entertained. This book wouldn’t make such a bad movie honestly, although maybe one for the younger crowd.

I do have my grievances though. The dialog is very plain Jane. I love well thought out and creative dialog in books. I love when authors purposefully misspell words to convey that accent. The creative expressionism gives some good taste to the title. Kind of like when a musician will play a note harder or softer, or draw it out. It shows their creative spirit. It expresses emotion in ways that a by-the-book method couldn’t. Misfit is very “said Jael”, or “said Rob.” The characters feel like they have no differing personality in their speech. Any differing personality traits are explained through imagery and explanation. But there isn’t anything in the dialog. Even the protagonist could be confused as Jael speaking with a couple of swear words. I think if the author had added a little more life in the dialog, Misfit could easily become a title that really stands out.

On the flip side though, the imagery is well played. The dialog may have been lacking, but the wordsmithing used to describe the scenery and thoughts of the main character were well done. I especially love how the author describes how the natural forces of nature were feeling, thinking, and acting. My favorite piece was the near the end of the book when Jael created a storm, she falls asleep, and the wind notices, gently brushes her checks as if to say good bye, and then leaves. The author wrote it much more beautifully than that, but you will have to read the book to see for yourself. Jon Skovron may want to spruce up the dialog a bit, but his expressionism for imagery is head on.

Conclusion: Misfit is a book for the younger audience. Adults may find it a little bland and boring. The plot line is good. Misfit is very entertaining. But the dialog will throw readers off a bit. The dialog structure is more in tune for the younger audience, maybe 11-17 years old. I would highly recommend this book for any readers of that age. Misfit is pure entertainment that will attract younger readers to keep reading.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A Good Read
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I really loved Misfit, I mean I read it in a couple hours because I just could not put it down. The writer totally has a lot of skill because he can suck you in for the entire book, and even though there are not many romantic parts, that wasn't what I was looking for. You have your class Young Adult novel with some skillful twists that I could not get enough of. If you are looking for a strange but awesome read check out Misfit! Because I would read it again, if there were not soo many amazing new books out there, when I get done with my checklist I will maybe read it again ; )
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."