The Hourglass Door (The Hourglass Door #1)

 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
2024 1
The Hourglass Door (The Hourglass Door #1)
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 13, 2009
ISBN
978-1606416792
Buy This Book
      

Abby's senior year of high school is going  according to plan: good friends, cute boyfriend, and college applications in the mail.  But when Dante Alexander, foreign-exchange student from Italy, steps into her life, he turns it upside down.  He's mysterious, and interesting, and unlike anyone she's ever met before. Abby can't deny the growing attraction she feels for him.  Nor can she deny the unusual things that seem to happen when Dante is around.  Soon Abby finds herself drawn into a mystery whose roots reach into sixteenth-century Florence, and she uncovers a dangerous truth that threatens not only her future but the lives of those she loves.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Intense and Romantic Read
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Before picking up my copy of this book, I had never even heard of the series. I knew nothing about the book, the characters or even the plot. I am so glad I decided to start reading it because I was not disappointed. Lisa Mangum gives readers a beautifully written first novel and I can’t wait to share my thoughts with you.

From page 1 I was hooked. The prologue is both terrifying and leaves the reader wanting more. From the very first chapter I felt exactly what Abby was feeling. Ms. Mangum does a beautiful job of making the reader feel like they are the characters. That is a tough thing to do! I was bored like Abby, I wanted more out of life like Abby, the writing was so real. Abby is a typical senior in high school. She is wondering what the future holds for her, where she will go to college, how her relationship with her boyfriend, Jason, will progress, and she dearly loves her friends. However, she is bored. She wants more out of life. Her day to day life is so mundane. Enter Dante. Dante is mysterious, intelligent and has his eyes on Abby. The question is why is he so enamored with Abby? And where did he come from? And why does time to see slow down and speed up when he is around? When three more mysterious boys come into town, Zo, V and Tony, things start to get even more weird. Abby must figure out what is happening to her friends and put a stop to it before things get more out of control. The only issue I had was I found myself a bit confused by the time travel. But I think that was only because I was getting to excited about finding out what happens next, I read too fast.

I loved this book because it was so unique and well written. As soon as I finished it, I could not wait to pick up the second book of the series. A strong ? stars for this one.
Good Points
Unique, Thought Provoking, Romantic and great story line.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
One of My Favorites
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I absolutely loved The Hourglass Door! This is, obviously, the first novel I've ever read by Lisa Mangum and I don't hesitate to say that she, along with many others, has a beautiful talent. Her writing it wonderful! Although she started the book with the writing style that I typically try to stay away from, I was instantly captivated. I had been told that this particular writing style could be quite effective when used correctly and add more emphasis to a story. This is the first time I've ever found that to be true.

Lisa Mangum has crafted a beautifully, unforgettable novel full of love and mystery.

This is easily one of my favorite books. The plot was wonderfully balanced between action, mystery, and love. There were times when she'd begin to reveal something and you'd be able to guess exactly what it was, but only moments before you read the revelation a few lines later. I found that so....smart. Instead of leaving the reader wondering the whole time, she'd bring something up and just as you guess what the answer is, boom. You read it. I don't know if she did that to play to her strengths or not but I think it was smart.

I really enjoyed reading how Abby and Dante fall in love. For the first 200 pages or so, he comes so close but pulls away from Abby. You can literally feel how close they are to falling in love. The final moment is kept tantalizingly close yet so far at the same time. It was beautifully done. This is possibly by far, the best romance novel I've ever read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."