The Hourglass Door (The Hourglass Door #1)

 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
2058 1
The Hourglass Door (The Hourglass Door #1)
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
May 13, 2009
ISBN
978-1606416792
Buy This Book
      

Abby's senior year of high school is going  according to plan: good friends, cute boyfriend, and college applications in the mail.  But when Dante Alexander, foreign-exchange student from Italy, steps into her life, he turns it upside down.  He's mysterious, and interesting, and unlike anyone she's ever met before. Abby can't deny the growing attraction she feels for him.  Nor can she deny the unusual things that seem to happen when Dante is around.  Soon Abby finds herself drawn into a mystery whose roots reach into sixteenth-century Florence, and she uncovers a dangerous truth that threatens not only her future but the lives of those she loves.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Intense and Romantic Read
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Before picking up my copy of this book, I had never even heard of the series. I knew nothing about the book, the characters or even the plot. I am so glad I decided to start reading it because I was not disappointed. Lisa Mangum gives readers a beautifully written first novel and I can’t wait to share my thoughts with you.

From page 1 I was hooked. The prologue is both terrifying and leaves the reader wanting more. From the very first chapter I felt exactly what Abby was feeling. Ms. Mangum does a beautiful job of making the reader feel like they are the characters. That is a tough thing to do! I was bored like Abby, I wanted more out of life like Abby, the writing was so real. Abby is a typical senior in high school. She is wondering what the future holds for her, where she will go to college, how her relationship with her boyfriend, Jason, will progress, and she dearly loves her friends. However, she is bored. She wants more out of life. Her day to day life is so mundane. Enter Dante. Dante is mysterious, intelligent and has his eyes on Abby. The question is why is he so enamored with Abby? And where did he come from? And why does time to see slow down and speed up when he is around? When three more mysterious boys come into town, Zo, V and Tony, things start to get even more weird. Abby must figure out what is happening to her friends and put a stop to it before things get more out of control. The only issue I had was I found myself a bit confused by the time travel. But I think that was only because I was getting to excited about finding out what happens next, I read too fast.

I loved this book because it was so unique and well written. As soon as I finished it, I could not wait to pick up the second book of the series. A strong ? stars for this one.
Good Points
Unique, Thought Provoking, Romantic and great story line.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters 
 
5.0  (1)
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
One of My Favorites
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I absolutely loved The Hourglass Door! This is, obviously, the first novel I've ever read by Lisa Mangum and I don't hesitate to say that she, along with many others, has a beautiful talent. Her writing it wonderful! Although she started the book with the writing style that I typically try to stay away from, I was instantly captivated. I had been told that this particular writing style could be quite effective when used correctly and add more emphasis to a story. This is the first time I've ever found that to be true.

Lisa Mangum has crafted a beautifully, unforgettable novel full of love and mystery.

This is easily one of my favorite books. The plot was wonderfully balanced between action, mystery, and love. There were times when she'd begin to reveal something and you'd be able to guess exactly what it was, but only moments before you read the revelation a few lines later. I found that so....smart. Instead of leaving the reader wondering the whole time, she'd bring something up and just as you guess what the answer is, boom. You read it. I don't know if she did that to play to her strengths or not but I think it was smart.

I really enjoyed reading how Abby and Dante fall in love. For the first 200 pages or so, he comes so close but pulls away from Abby. You can literally feel how close they are to falling in love. The final moment is kept tantalizingly close yet so far at the same time. It was beautifully done. This is possibly by far, the best romance novel I've ever read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...

Latest Member Reviews

Photos Framed: A Fresh Look at the World's Most Memorable Photographs
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Book Nerd
 
N/A
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Book Nerd
 
4.5
"BOOK NERD is a delightful gift book for book lovers everywhere. The book is filled with colorful artwork and fun..."
 
5.0
"If you've already read Wind's great novel, Queer as a Five Dollar Bill (2019), you know that there is solid..."
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
"Maraniss, whose Strong Inside covered Black basketball player Perry Wallace, turns his incredible research skills the the story of Glenn..."
The Train Your Brain Mind Exercise: 156 Puzzles for a Superior Mind
 
3.0
"The book sets expectations a bit high by touting the claim of unique puzzles for all skill levels, with a..."
Goodbye: A Story of Suicide
 
3.0
"A (quasi-creative?) non-fiction graphic novel, aimed at a Middle Grade or lower YA audience. It addresses the topic of bullying..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
"A compilation of excerpts from fifteen noteworthy speeches, selected from across American history. The chosen pieces represent great variety,..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm
 
5.0
"'Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm' by Bella Kuligowska Zucker is an incredibly moving tale of the author's search..."
Beauty Mark: A Verse Novel of Marilyn Monroe
 
5.0
"What worked: Haunting, tragic tale of the life of Marilyn Monroe, told in verse which gives a powerful punch to..."