Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25

Hot
 
4.7
 
4.3 (3)
3784 0
Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 09, 2011
ISBN
1451656505
Buy This Book
      

My name is Michael Vey, and the story I’m about to tell you is strange. Very strange. It’s my story.

To everyone at Meridian High School, Michael Vey is an ordinary fourteen-year-old. In fact, the only thing that seems to set him apart is the fact that he has Tourette’s syndrome. But Michael is anything but ordinary. Michael has special powers. Electric powers.

Michael thinks he's unique until he discovers that a cheerleader named Taylor also has special powers. With the help of Michael’s friend, Ostin, the three of them set out to discover how Michael and Taylor ended up this way, but their investigation brings them to the attention of a powerful group who wants to control the electric children – and through them the world. Michael will have to rely on his wits, powers, and friends if he’s to survive

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A promising start to a new series
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Michael Vey was a super fun read. It was a fun, fast read that really kept my heart going. I couldn't put this one down! With it's epic plot and fun characters, Michael Vey is a book you will sorry to miss!

I loved the storyline. Right off the back, Evans plunges readers in Michael's world and starts with the fun plot. Before the "big" action with Taylor and Michael's powers starts, theres a lot of fun, just your average high school sort of things going on. One of my favorite parts of the book that just had me laughing was how no one could remember Ostin's name, and called him Dallas and Texas and things like that.Then, when the other action picks up, there's no slowing down! It was super fast paced.

I loved the characters. I loved Taylor - she was just so sweet and super nice. Michael was a great character as well, I loved his spunk he had. Ostin was quite the spunky character as well, from his being super genius smart to taking clogging lessons. Some of the characters I didn't want to like as much, I still couldn't help but to like because it was so evident they couldn't see beyond brainwashings. I don't want to say too much on that front, but you'll see what I mean ;)

I am super excited to see where Michael and Taylor's story goes in book 2, wherever that is, I'm sure it will be just as fabulous as it was in this one. This is one heck of a start to a series that will be the next big thing that you will not want to miss out on!
Good Points
I loved the idea and the originality and the characters!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.3  (3)
Characters 
 
4.3  (3)
Writing Style 
 
4.3  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
An Electrifying Book
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Michael Vey: Prisoner of Cell 25 is a book that is mainly about a group of teenagers who have special electric powers. The reason why they have this "6th Sense" is because when they were first born a scientist named Dr. Hatch told 16 mothers and fathers that he could make their children invincible and immortal. Who would not want that? So the parents agreed to the conditions and let Hatch have the children for the procedure. During the experiment a very strange thing happened and the kids were all gaining electric powers. 16 years later the children who did not stay with Hatch are just learning their powers. Some of the kids died from cancer or went mad from the electricity creating a dangerous neurotoxin. Together 5 of the children try their best to stop Hatch from Global-Domination. Will they succeed? Or will they just wink out of existence?

This book was absolutely hilarious but it was also suspenseful in the action scenes. I would recommend it to ages 12+ because of language. It would also be great for fans of the SyFy channel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Awesome Book
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
One thing I must say about this book is that I can not wait for the sequel. So there are not many books that I will sit down and not put down, like at all, but this one was one of them. Even though there are parts of this book where the author tries to hard to become a teen voice, it really can be ignored because the plot is great, and the story is original.

You really begin to form a fierce opinion about all of the characters, and the opinions are not simple, because the characters are not. You get an insight into their emotion, what they can do, what they will do, and who will become a villain or not. So if you make your eyes Michael Vey's eyes, you really do feel pressured into what you want to do. I mean it is a difficult and frustrating at times because all the characters are so well put together, it just becomes annoying that they annoy you more! I mean I read the book a few weeks ago yet I remember all of it like it was an hour ago.

So read the book, you won't regret it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Raging Little Norris
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Oh man! Everything, just everything about this has me tingling up and down from excitement. The Michael Vey series is one of my favorite summer reads and I'm so upset that I have to wait for the sequel. But hey, the wait is worth it!

I know people are saying that this book could be the next "Harry Potter" but I think it shouldn't be compared to Harry Potter, not dissing Michael Vey but this story and Harry Potter are great in their own way, why compare it with Harry Potter when it can just be Michael Vey, simple as that.

I just finished this so I'm jumping up and down with so many emotions. So many questions. You just can't even understand. Well, reading is one of my favorite ways of getting out of my AP summer assignments and Michael Vey definitely kept me preoccupied for two sittings. Characters = funny, quirky, and they grow on you. Villians = wanna shove my feet up their asses and all the way to next Tuesday. Anticipation = ALL THE TIME DURING THIS NOVEL. I just couldn't put it down and when I did I had to restrict myself from jumping back on my bed to read more.

So the moral of this review is: GO BUY IT ALREADY! BECOME A MEMBER OF THE ELECTROCLAN! A cult just for you :3
Good Points
Original and deadly for you never want to stop reading
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"The descriptions of Parkour are entertaining and opened my eyes to a new discipline that I was scarcely aware of..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
5.0
"DRAGON REBELLION opens up with Jian and Hua taking refuge in Hua's family farm, but she hasn't awoken since she..."
Chosen (Gem Creek Bears, Book 1)
 
4.3
"When Tris escapes from being kidnapped by her boyfriend Corbin, she does the only logical thing. She gets the heck..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"I enjoyed this book immensely. As with all of her books, Pam Withers masterfully builds up the characters and skilfully..."
Inebriated
 
5.0
"'Inebriated' by Katey Taylor is a hauntingly real look at the power of intoxication, whether it be in the form..."
The Path We Take
 
4.0
"'The Path We Take' by Kylie Key shows how the choices we make and the things we think we want..."
Outlawed
 
4.5
"The story: When her father forces her to travel back in time to correct the mistake he made, Maryanne..."