Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25

Hot
 
4.7
 
4.3 (3)
3584 0
Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 09, 2011
ISBN
1451656505
Buy This Book
      

My name is Michael Vey, and the story I’m about to tell you is strange. Very strange. It’s my story.

To everyone at Meridian High School, Michael Vey is an ordinary fourteen-year-old. In fact, the only thing that seems to set him apart is the fact that he has Tourette’s syndrome. But Michael is anything but ordinary. Michael has special powers. Electric powers.

Michael thinks he's unique until he discovers that a cheerleader named Taylor also has special powers. With the help of Michael’s friend, Ostin, the three of them set out to discover how Michael and Taylor ended up this way, but their investigation brings them to the attention of a powerful group who wants to control the electric children – and through them the world. Michael will have to rely on his wits, powers, and friends if he’s to survive

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A promising start to a new series
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Michael Vey was a super fun read. It was a fun, fast read that really kept my heart going. I couldn't put this one down! With it's epic plot and fun characters, Michael Vey is a book you will sorry to miss!

I loved the storyline. Right off the back, Evans plunges readers in Michael's world and starts with the fun plot. Before the "big" action with Taylor and Michael's powers starts, theres a lot of fun, just your average high school sort of things going on. One of my favorite parts of the book that just had me laughing was how no one could remember Ostin's name, and called him Dallas and Texas and things like that.Then, when the other action picks up, there's no slowing down! It was super fast paced.

I loved the characters. I loved Taylor - she was just so sweet and super nice. Michael was a great character as well, I loved his spunk he had. Ostin was quite the spunky character as well, from his being super genius smart to taking clogging lessons. Some of the characters I didn't want to like as much, I still couldn't help but to like because it was so evident they couldn't see beyond brainwashings. I don't want to say too much on that front, but you'll see what I mean ;)

I am super excited to see where Michael and Taylor's story goes in book 2, wherever that is, I'm sure it will be just as fabulous as it was in this one. This is one heck of a start to a series that will be the next big thing that you will not want to miss out on!
Good Points
I loved the idea and the originality and the characters!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.3  (3)
Characters 
 
4.3  (3)
Writing Style 
 
4.3  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
An Electrifying Book
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Michael Vey: Prisoner of Cell 25 is a book that is mainly about a group of teenagers who have special electric powers. The reason why they have this "6th Sense" is because when they were first born a scientist named Dr. Hatch told 16 mothers and fathers that he could make their children invincible and immortal. Who would not want that? So the parents agreed to the conditions and let Hatch have the children for the procedure. During the experiment a very strange thing happened and the kids were all gaining electric powers. 16 years later the children who did not stay with Hatch are just learning their powers. Some of the kids died from cancer or went mad from the electricity creating a dangerous neurotoxin. Together 5 of the children try their best to stop Hatch from Global-Domination. Will they succeed? Or will they just wink out of existence?

This book was absolutely hilarious but it was also suspenseful in the action scenes. I would recommend it to ages 12+ because of language. It would also be great for fans of the SyFy channel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Awesome Book
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
One thing I must say about this book is that I can not wait for the sequel. So there are not many books that I will sit down and not put down, like at all, but this one was one of them. Even though there are parts of this book where the author tries to hard to become a teen voice, it really can be ignored because the plot is great, and the story is original.

You really begin to form a fierce opinion about all of the characters, and the opinions are not simple, because the characters are not. You get an insight into their emotion, what they can do, what they will do, and who will become a villain or not. So if you make your eyes Michael Vey's eyes, you really do feel pressured into what you want to do. I mean it is a difficult and frustrating at times because all the characters are so well put together, it just becomes annoying that they annoy you more! I mean I read the book a few weeks ago yet I remember all of it like it was an hour ago.

So read the book, you won't regret it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Raging Little Norris
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Oh man! Everything, just everything about this has me tingling up and down from excitement. The Michael Vey series is one of my favorite summer reads and I'm so upset that I have to wait for the sequel. But hey, the wait is worth it!

I know people are saying that this book could be the next "Harry Potter" but I think it shouldn't be compared to Harry Potter, not dissing Michael Vey but this story and Harry Potter are great in their own way, why compare it with Harry Potter when it can just be Michael Vey, simple as that.

I just finished this so I'm jumping up and down with so many emotions. So many questions. You just can't even understand. Well, reading is one of my favorite ways of getting out of my AP summer assignments and Michael Vey definitely kept me preoccupied for two sittings. Characters = funny, quirky, and they grow on you. Villians = wanna shove my feet up their asses and all the way to next Tuesday. Anticipation = ALL THE TIME DURING THIS NOVEL. I just couldn't put it down and when I did I had to restrict myself from jumping back on my bed to read more.

So the moral of this review is: GO BUY IT ALREADY! BECOME A MEMBER OF THE ELECTROCLAN! A cult just for you :3
Good Points
Original and deadly for you never want to stop reading
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A haunted tower, an evil ghost, a monster spawned from...
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
What better way to encourage a little one to sleep...
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Bad Guys are back for the monstrously funny 9th...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sweet treats and friendship mix-ups abound in this story about...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From award-winning Carolyn Mackler, the story of Willa, who has...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This book is about the Stonewall Riots, a series of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Emily is flying with her parents to China to...
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...

Latest Member Reviews

Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
"This episode of THE BAD GUYS has the crew planning for a way to stop the aliens and help the..."
 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE PUMPKINS ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT is a cute board book that celebrates Halloween with a counting of pumpkins! In..."
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
"THE MADMAN OF PINEY WOODS follows two young boys in Canada as their lives are changing and intersecting. Benji Alston..."
Wintercake
 
4.0
"WINTERCAKE is a lovely picture book that celebrates friendship and the holiday spirit. Thomas is about to make a wintercake..."
Roar Like a Dandelion
 
4.0
"A unique alphabet book, ROAR LIKE A DANDELION is filled with instructional that are sure to spark some giggles. Each..."