YABC Staff’s Current Reads ~ June 17, 2024

 

Hello YABC’ers!

Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday!

We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below and comment to let us know what book or books you’re reading as well!!

Share, Tweet, and post with the hashtag #YABCCurrentReads!

Happy Reading!!

 

 

*Cherokee’s Current Read*

(Staff Reviewer)

Beauty & The Bachelor

Author: Kelly Oram

Publication Date: June 10, 2024

Beauty and the Beast meets The Bachelor.

Thanks to a stipulation in his late father’s will, billionaire CEO Sebastian Monroe has one year to find a wife he loves who loves him back, or he will lose control of his family’s company. The change could destroy the company and the lives of all its employees. Desperate to save his company, Sebastian reluctantly agrees to be the next bachelor on the hit reality tv show Marry Me.

Sebastian’s not known for being charming or social, and he has little patience for most women. He has no idea how he’s supposed to fall in love with one of the simpering, fame and fortune seeking contestants the show has picked out. Especially not when his attention has been snagged by the show’s beautiful, feisty lead wardrobe specialist.

Vivian Euling has landed the job of a lifetime as lead wardrobe specialist for the reality dating show Marry Me, and is able to get her best friends (twin stepsisters of the famous Ella and Brian Oliver) as contestants on the show. When tragedy strikes the twins’ family, they are contractually obligated to stay, and the show isn’t going to let them go to be with their family.

Sebastian, seeing the opportunity to date the woman he can’t get out of his head, gets the show to make the girls a deal: If Vivian takes the twins’ place on the show as a contestant, the twins will be released from their contract.

Coerced into being a contestant and forced to give up her dream job, Vivian is angry and determined to get kicked off the show as soon as possible. Unfortunately for her, her contract stipulates she can only leave the show if Sebastian lets her go, and that seems to be the last thing he intends to do.

Beauty and The Bachelor is book #6 in the Kellywood Universe. It can be read as a stand alone, but there is character crossover from the previous books in the world so reading the other books first would enhance the experience.

 

 

*Rachel’s Current Read*

(Staff Reviewer)

Past Present Future

Author: Rachel Lynn Solomon

Publication Date: June 4, 2024

They fell for each other in just twenty-four hours. Now Rowan and Neil embark on a long-distance relationship during their first year of college in this romantic, dual POV sequel to Today Tonight Tomorrow.

When longtime rivals Rowan Roth and Neil McNair confessed their feelings on the last day of senior year, they knew they’d only have a couple months together before they left for college. Now summer is over, and they’re determined to make their relationship work as they begin school in different places.

In Boston, Rowan is eager to be among other aspiring novelists, learning from a creative writing professor she adores. She’s just not sure why she suddenly can’t seem to find her voice.

In New York, Neil embraces the chaos of the city, clicking with a new friend group more easily than he anticipated. But when his past refuses to leave him alone, he doesn’t know how to handle his rapidly changing mental health—or how to talk about it with the girl he loves.

Over a year of late-night phone calls, weekend visits, and East Coast adventures, Rowan and Neil fall for each other again and again as they grapple with the uncertainty of their new lives. They’ve spent so many years at odds with each other—now that they’re finally on the same team, what does the future hold for them?

 

 

*Wendy’s Current Read*

(Staff Reviewer)

When a Brown Girl Flees

Author:Aamna Qureshi

Publication Date: 9/19/23

Publisher: Tu Books

In this searing contemporary YA novel from new voice Aamna Qureshi, a Muslim teen runs away from home only to find herself on a breathtaking journey of healing, self-love, and hope.

After Zahra Paracha makes a decision at odds with her beliefs, her mother forces Zahra to make an impossible choice about her future. So Zahra runs away. A train and a plane ride later, she finds herself in New York, where she relinquishes her past in favor of a new future. There, she must learn who she is without the marionette strings of control in her mother’s hands. There, she must learn who she wishes to become.

On Long Island, Zahra stays at a bed & breakfast, unsure of her place in the world. Anxious, depressed, and grappling with guilt, she wanders aimlessly. She eventually visits the local masjid, where she is befriended by two sisters and drawn into the welcoming Muslim community there.

It is in this place of safety that Zahra’s healing truly begins–but can she create a home for herself when the foundation is built on lies she’s spun to protect her from the past? When a family friend recognizes her, will everything come crashing down? As Zahra tries to build a life for herself in this new place, the heart of the matter becomes clear: she can’t run away forever. Can she close the rift in her family and truly, fully heal?

 

 

*Connie’s Current Read*

(Site Manager)

Of Princes and Poisons (The Culled Crown, 2)

Author: Brianna Joy Crump

Publication Date: June 18, 2024

Publisher: Wattpad Books

Once there were ten.

Ten goddess-touched girls were born. Each was blessed―or cursed―with a unique power that set them apart. As part of an ancient ritual called the Culling, they were supposed to fight to the death in the arena until only one survived. That girl would marry the prince and ascend to the throne. Now only four girls remain.

Power in her blood.

Monroe Benson is one of the lucky ones. With fire at her fingertips, she survived the arena and the intrigues of the palace. Now she’s turned her back on her destiny, choosing to throw in her lot with the rebellion seeking to overturn the Erydian rulers. Monroe has never wanted the throne. She knows that her future lies elsewhere, but first she’ll have to convince the rebels to believe her.

A traitorous heart.

Monroe thought Cohen was one of the few good things about the Culling. She believed that he would have made a good ruler, but that doesn’t mean that she wanted to sit beside him on the throne. And now, she finds herself drawn to a rebel leader. A man with secrets of his own. In the end, Monroe will have to trust in more than her power or even her heart if she’s to forge her own path and find her freedom.

 

 

*Jan’s Current Read*

(Staff Reviewer)

Lightningborn: (Storm Dragons, Book 1)

Author: julie kagawa

Publication Date: 4/2/2024

Publisher: disney hyperion

In a world in the clouds where only the rich own dragons, a poor boy named Remy finds a wild baby dragon—believed to be extinct—and becomes the focus of an evil pirate’s vengeance.

REMY spends his days trying to survive the mean streets of Cutthroat Wedge—one of the many islands floating in the gravitational pull of the magical Maelstrom raging below. But his life changes forever when a violent storm brings a baby dragon to his doorstep, and he feels a bond he has never felt with anyone. Remy names the dragon Storm and vows to protect this new friend, no matter the cost.

GEM longs for the day when she call herself a true mage. That is, if she can convince her teachers and peers that just because she’s a princess doesn’t mean she’s lazy and spoiled. But when Gem learns that the floating islands that make up her kingdom are rapidly sinking into the Maelstrom, she makes it her mission to save her world. Against the king’s wishes, she accesses forbidden research and discovers the secret to saving humanity may lie in a True Dragon—a dragon capable of intelligent thought and able to cast and use magic. But True Dragons are extinct . . . aren’t they?

Remy’s and Gem’s lives will never be the same when their fates collide, thanks to Storm. With an evil pirate mage named Jhaeros determined to claim the rare dragon for himself, the two must learn to trust in each other as they team up with a shifty pirate captain and her crew, stand together against impossible odds, and embark on the adventure of a lifetime.

 

*Mark’s Current Read*

(Staff Reviewer)

The Chambered Nautilus (Summer of L.U.C.K. Book 3)

Author: Laura Segal Stegman

Publishing Date: 4/30/24

Can the Power of Friendship Save the Day?

Get ready for a whirlwind adventure with The Chambered Nautilus, the thrilling conclusion to Laura Segal Stegman’s enchanting Summer of L.U.C.K. trilogy.

Best friends Darby, Justin, and Naz are facing their biggest challenge yet. Since last summer’s adventure, they find themselves growing apart, making new friends, and being pulled in different directions. But when a ride at ghostly Mr. Usher’s carnival experiences a mysterious malfunction, the trio reunites to answer his desperate call for help.

With expulsion from camp and the carnival’s very existence on the line, Darby, Justin, and Naz will have to rely on their wits—and one another—to unravel the mysteries surrounding Mr. Usher’s plea. The camp’s newest attraction, the Chambered Nautilus, may hold the key, but it will take everything they have to unlock its secret.

Join them in a heart-pounding journey filled with friendship, courage, and the power of never giving up. Will they save the carnival and their cherished memories before it’s too late? Find out in this magical tale of adventure, discovery, and the true meaning of loyalty.

 

 

*Sara’s Current Read*

(Staff Reviewer)

Mysterious Ways

Author: Wendy Wunder

Publication Date: 8/27/2024

From acclaimed author Wendy Wunder comes a sharp and hilarious coming-of-age novel for fans of John Green and Nicola Yoon about an omniscient teenage girl who must grapple with whether there’s such a thing as knowing too much…

Seventeen-year-old Maya knows everything. When she looks at someone, she instantly knows their history, their private thoughts, their secret desires, their most tragic failures. Combine these private miseries with the general state of the world, and it’s easy to see why Maya’s power starts to get her down…

Which is why she was sent to the Whispering Pines Psychiatric Facility, and also why starting at a new school is going to be such a challenge. Now, faced with Tyler, a cute guy she actually wants to know everything about, Maya realizes that maybe her power isn’t so horrible after all. Maybe she can use it for good. Maybe she can even get the guy. Or maybe there really is such a thing as knowing too much.

 

 

*Evren’s Current Read*

(Staff Reviewer)

Becoming Who We Are: Real Stories About Growing Up Trans

Author: Various Authors/Artists

Publication Date: June 4, 2024

Publisher: A Wave Blue World

Becoming who you are is a journey, and all journeys start somewhere.

 

In a collection of stories from across the spectrum of real-life experience, nine members of the trans community share their inspirational childhood stories. These are tales of questioning, affirming, transitioning, and growing up; courageous, gripping accounts from musicians, actors, teachers, scientists, forest rangers, and activists of how they overcame their unique challenges to become who they truly are.

 

Featuring work by HAZEL NEWLEVANT, LILAH STURGES, CYNTHIA YUAN CHENG, KAMERON WHITE, SUNMI, and many more!

 

 

What book are you currently reading? Comment below! 

Share, Tweet, and post with the hashtag #YABCCurrentReads!