YA Review: Bound by Sword and Spirit (Loresmith, Book 3) (Andrea Robertson)

About This Book:

Game of Thrones meets Shadow and Bone in the final book in this action-packed fantasy from Andrea Robertson, the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series.

THE FINAL BATTLE

Ara and her companions are separated, and the world is in danger. The evil Vokkans are continuing their conquest of Saetlund and the world Ara is meant to protect. The only thing that can stop the wizards and the destroyer, Vokk, is Ara and her Loreknights. But she still has many to find.

Teth is captured—thrown into prison with none other than their betrayer, Prince Eamon. While he struggles with a shocking secret from his past, he must determine whether he can trust his former friend to help turn the tables on the dark wizards. Meanwhile, Eamon has to gather all his courage and wit to enact a secret plan to help his sister and redeem himself—no matter what.

As a battle to save their world approaches, Ara and her friends must rally their forces—some more mysterious than they ever could have imagined—and take back their kingdom, once and for all. Ultimately, they will change the future of Saetlund forever.

From internationally bestselling author Andrea Roberston comes the final book in a gorgeously written new fantasy series perfect for readers of Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone or Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes series.

*Review Contributed by Connie Reid, Site Manager*

BOUND BY SWORD AND SPIRIT was the perfect conclusion to the trilogy. Ara’s group of friends have to go their separate ways to accomplish their goals. Nimhea goes to rally the rebellion behind her crown. Along the way, she learns that they have a great ally in the Vok and that the person who helped raise Ara is a great rebel leader. Ara and Lahvja finish the quest to restore Ara as the Loresmith and gain the blessing of the gods. Lahvja becomes a Lore knight and gains a powerful one-time gift to raise the most powerful Lore knights from the past to come help. This solved my question of how we were going to get to ten Lore Knights when all the books so far just had a few discovered.
Teth was captured in the last book and we finally learn his fate. He is conveniently placed with Prince Eamon which allows them to work past the hard feelings of Eamon’s betrayal and come up with a way that they can get close enough to hurt the Vokkans. I found these chapters the most riveting and I was the most unsure over their ability to survive the ordeal.
Overall, this book hit all the major points of a satisfying epic quest involving the gods and magic. I never had any doubts about their success but that didn’t diminish the enjoyment I had from joining these characters on their journey. My favorite character was Teth. He may not have been the main character but I gravitated to any scenes he was in as the most enjoyable. I highly recommend this trilogy for fans of high fantasy/quest fantasy themes.

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*