What’s New in YA? January 25, 2022

b2ap3_large_Whats-New-in-Y_20210913-153432_1.jpg

b2ap3_large_Whats-New-in-Y_20210913-153432_1.jpg

What’s New in YA?

January 25, 2022

 

 

 

Stone Cold (Sarah Humpherys)

715mgH8QD1S

  • Publisher: ‎ Morgan James Fiction (January 25, 2022)
  • Reading age: ‎ 12 – 18 years
  • Grade level: ‎ 7 – 9

In a kingdom where emotion is punished by death, Princess Syona is forced into a marriage alliance to stop a thirty-year war. She must choose between her duty to the kingdom or the boy she truly loves.

In the Kingdom of Ashlon, emotion is considered a weakness and a danger. To help their society run perfectly, the king has ordered everyone to wear enchanted stones that take away emotion. However, there are some people, Malopaths, that are not affected by the stones and are hunted down and executed. The princess of Ashlon, Syona, is a Malopath. She becomes antisocial and stays in the shadows, afraid of her secret being exposed. When her brother dies, Princess Syona becomes the heir to the kingdom and must try harder than ever to fake being emotionless. As crown heir, she must navigate a marriage alliance with an enemy kingdom, political conspiracies, and a love triangle between her betrothed and her childhood friend and guard. Stone Cold shows that emotions are what make humans human and that people shouldn’t be afraid to be themselves. Read along as Princess Syona breaks out of her shell and navigates the trials and tribulations she faces throughout her journey.

 

 

 

 

At The End Of Everything (Marieke Nijkamp)

81ZGVE H6L

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Sourcebooks Fire (January 25, 2022)
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 14 – 18 years
  • Grade level ‏ : ‎ 8 – 12

 

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of This Is Where It Ends comes another heartbreaking, emotional and timely page-turner that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

The Hope Juvenile Treatment Center is ironically named. No one has hope for the delinquent teenagers who have been exiled there; the world barely acknowledges that they exist.

Then the guards at Hope start acting strange. And one day…they don’t show up. But when the teens band together to make a break from the facility, they encounter soldiers outside the gates. There’s a rapidly spreading infectious disease outside, and no one can leave their houses or travel without a permit. Which means that they’re stuck at Hope. And this time, no one is watching out for them at all.

As supplies quickly dwindle and a deadly plague tears through their ranks, the group has to decide whom among them they can trust and figure out how they can survive in a world that has never wanted them in the first place.

 

 

Loveboat Reunion (Loveboat, Taipei #2) (Abigail Hing Wen)

81Y rleF11L

  • Publisher ‏: ‎ HarperTeen (January 25, 2022)
  • Reading age: ‎ 13 – 17 years
  • Grade level : ‎ 8 – 9

This companion novel to Abigail Hing Wen’s New York Times bestselling debut, Loveboat, Taipei, follows two fan favorite characters—Sophie and Xavier—as they reconnect and write their own futures on a wild, unexpected Loveboat reunion.

Sophie Ha and Xavier Yeh have what some would call a tumultuous past.

It’s a classic tale of girl-meets-boy, boy-meets-other-girl, heart-gets-broken, revenge-is-plotted, everything-blows-up. Spectacularly.

At least they’re friends now. They’ve left the drama behind them back in Taipei—at their summer program, Loveboat—forever.

Now fall is here, and it’s time to focus on what really matters. Sophie is determined to be the best student Dartmouth’s ever had. Forget finding the right guy to make her dreams come true—Sophie is going to make her future happen for herself. Xavier, on the other hand, just wants to stay under his overbearing father’s radar, collect his trust fund when he turns eighteen, and concentrate on what makes him happy, for the first time ever.

But the world doesn’t seem to want Sophie and Xavier to succeed. Sophie’s college professor thinks her first major project is “too feminine.” Xavier’s father gives him an ultimatum: finish high school or be cut off from his inheritance.

Then Sophie and Xavier find themselves on a wild, nonstop Loveboat reunion, each trying to resist the chemistry that originally led to them to combust. As they grow closer, they hatch a plan to take control of their own futures. Step one? Break all the rules.

Expansive and romantic, glamorous and tender, Loveboat Reunion takes readers back to Taipei through the eyes of Sophie and Xavier, on an unforgettable journey of glittering revelry and self-discovery that’s perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Mary H. K. Choi.

 

 

 

 

Into the Midnight Void (Beyond the Ruby Veil #2) (Mara Fitzgerald)

913cuszcfFS

  • Publisher: ‎ Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (January 25, 2022)
  • Reading age: ‎ 12 years and up
  • Grade level ‏: ‎ 7 and up

 

Emanuela has finally gotten what she wanted. Since escaping her catacomb prison, she’s started running things her way. Under her rule, citizens no longer give up their lives at the first, tiny appearance of their omens. As long as they aren’t caught bad-mouthing their queen, they can live out their days like everyone else.

But when cracks in her magic start to show, Emanuela begrudgingly allies herself with her enemies, including her frustratingly alluring archnemesis, Verene. Together, discover deeper truths about the mysterious blood magic Emanuela and Verene both wield. There is a higher, otherworldly authority outside the veils, and in order to save Occhia and the other realms, Emanuela may just have to rip another crown off someone’s head. 

 

 

 

 

The Temperature of Me and You (Brian Zepka)

91EjYMSRB8L

  • Publisher: ‎ Disney-Hyperion (January 25, 2022)
  • Reading age: ‎ 12 – 18 years
  • Grade level: ‎ 7 – 12

Sixteen-year-old Dylan Highmark thought his winter was going to be full of boring shifts at the Dairy Queen, until he finds himself in love with a boy who’s literally too hot to handle.

Dylan has always wanted a boyfriend, but the suburbs surrounding Philadelphia do not have a lot in the way of options. Then, in walks Jordan, a completely normal (and undeniably cute) boy who also happens to run at a cool 110 degrees Fahrenheit. When the boys start spending time together, Dylan begins feeling all kinds of ways, and when he spikes a fever for two weeks and is suddenly coughing flames, he thinks he might be suffering from something more than just a crush. Jordan forces Dylan to keep his symptoms a secret. But as the pressure mounts and Dylan becomes distant with his closest friends and family, he pushes Jordan for answers. Jordan’s revelations of why he’s like this, where he came from, and who’s after him leaves Dylan realizing how much first love is truly out of this world. And if Earth supports life that breathes oxygen, then love can only keep Jordan and Dylan together for so long.

 

 

 

The Red Palace (June Hur)

91zysvXaFpL

  • Publisher: ‎ Feiwel & Friends (January 25, 2022)
  • Reading age: ‎ 13 – 18 years
  • Grade level: ‎ 7 – 9

To enter the palace means to walk a path stained in blood…

Joseon (Korea), 1758. There are few options available to illegitimate daughters in the capital city, but through hard work and study, eighteen-year-old Hyeon has earned a position as a palace nurse. All she wants is to keep her head down, do a good job, and perhaps finally win her estranged father’s approval.

But Hyeon is suddenly thrust into the dark and dangerous world of court politics when someone murders four women in a single night, and the prime suspect is Hyeon’s closest friend and mentor. Determined to prove her beloved teacher’s innocence, Hyeon launches her own secret investigation.

In her hunt for the truth, she encounters Eojin, a young police inspector also searching for the killer. When evidence begins to point to the Crown Prince himself as the murderer, Hyeon and Eojin must work together to search the darkest corners of the palace to uncover the deadly secrets behind the bloodshed.