Once Upon Another Time: Tall Tales (Book 2)

Tall Tales
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 20, 2022
ISBN
978-1534425903
Buy This Book
      
The second book in a new trilogy of twisted fairy tales from New York Times bestselling author James Riley, set in the world of his popular Half Upon a Time series, that’s perfect for fans of Fablehaven and Chris Colfer’s A Tale of Magic series!

Lena might finally be accepted by the other giants after helping to defeat the Golden King and his faceless army in the Cursed City, but that doesn’t mean life has become any easier for her. The power-hungry Golden King wants revenge and has begun spreading shadow magic out over the kingdoms, taking over the minds of anyone it touches, and instilling fear and hatred as it goes.

The fairy queens, the most magical beings in the kingdoms, say their sacred book, Tales of All Things, claims that there is one person who can defeat the Golden King and his dark spells: Lena. But only if she first proves herself worthy by completing three challenges.

All Lena ever wanted was to prove she is really a giant. Now she has to be so much more. Can she and her genie friend, Jin, save the human world that doesn’t trust them, or will they fall prey to shadow magic, and doom everything?

Editor review

1 review
Are you the sum of what created you?
(Updated: October 31, 2022)
Overall rating
 
3.3
Plot
 
3.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
What I liked:
Tall Tales is another fast-paced adventure with tons of fun twists and turns. More than a couple of new characters are introduced, and it's a treat to meet them (good and bad) as they hit a little familiarity and then go beyond. The tension stays high as Lena and Jin are forced to step into more giant shoes than they dreamed they could fill, and while they've come a long way, they're still learning to find their notches in the world. Plus, their personalities make them love each in their way.
Final Verdict:
This book suffers from second-book syndrome as it is the middle book, so it merely exists as a bridge between books one and two while adding some more plot to the series. Nevertheless, Riley captures middle-grade readers' attention and offers enough twists to keep them interested.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account